We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh seafood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Psarochori Tavern

Psarochori Tavern
Agios Georgios Road | Peyia - Paphos, Peyia 8560, Cyprus (Formerly Psarchori Tavern)
+(357)26623444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 restaurants in Peyia
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fresh seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant as it had good reviews for seafood dishes in trip advisor. We were not disappointed as the fish, calamari, prawn we ordered were fresh and cooked really well. They also served complimentary bread that was really tasty. The orange juice was a bit disappointing as I would have thought it will taste as good as most of the orange juice (fresh and sweet) i had while i was in cyprus.
The service was very good in general. The waiter were very attentive, quick and efficient.
The free sorbet at the end of the meal was another highlight of our meal. I would like to go back there to taste their other dishes!
There should be a separate smoking area as it caters to family with children who also want to eat outside the restaurant and be near the play corner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    36
    8
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphoa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“simple & very good food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

fresh fish, perfectly cooked, excellent service, lovely atmosphere and all at the right price... a win win deal... best fish in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pafos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Catch of the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As we live locally we have been to the restaurant many times since the full refurbishment over the winter 2012/13. The staff are very attentive, friendly and eager to please. They will give you a menu, but the best choices will always come from the catch of the day which is kept on ice near the bar. The staff will explain the different species and the best way to have them prepared. However, if you prefer, they will happily cook them to your instructions.

The prices of 'the catch' are measured by uncooked weight. It is not the cheapest place in town, but this kind of quality never is. Having said that it not overly expensive either. Drinks are reasonably priced. The old adage of 'you get what you pay for' is proven yet again here.

If you enjoy your fish, then at least one visit during your holiday is a must. If you don't, you are missing a real treat.

Tip
If you come on a hot day, pack a towel and swimming gear as the pool is huge and there are terraces all around for sunbathing. We understand that for 2014 the plan is to develop the pool areas further to create a destination feel rather than just a taverna.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundisburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our first night of our holiday and the restaurant was next door to our villa (Villa Fotiana). The restaurant and villa are on the main road half way between Coral Bay and St George. The attraction of this place is the fish - it is freshly caught and delivered to the restaurant and in fact, there is a fishmongers at the front of the restaurant. We were a party of six, including one vegetarian and one who wasn't keen on fish. The staff were very friendly and attentive and were more than happy to cater for the vegetarian, even though there wasn't anything for her on the menu. The fish were stored in a cabinet where you picked the fish and the cost was based on weight. All four of us who had fish thought it was beautifully prepared and tasted delicious. The meat choices were a bit limited, though. If you love fish, this place is worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a find. Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wonderful experience dining there. Food fantastic, excellent service from staff. Definately return again and again. Fully recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Psarochori Tavern also viewed

Peyia, Paphos District
Peyia, Paphos District
 
Peyia, Paphos District
Peyia, Paphos District
 

Been to Psarochori Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Psarochori Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.