We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poor but great service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phidias Tavern

Phidias Tavern
Coral Bay Plaza, Peyia 8575, Cyprus
+357 26 621018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Peyia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food poor but great service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We went on 'Greek Night' and I have to say that although the staff were lovely, the food was disappointing. We went as a group of 11 and were encouraged to have the Meze which was just fine by us - all references to Cypriot Meze mention 20 - 30 dishes! Well, we had bread, a small bowl of salad, 1 mushroom, a small piece of chicken, a small piece of lamb, a ring of calamari, a small piece of fish and 6 chips each....although we did ask for slightly bigger portions they were not forthcoming and we left the bar feeling peckish and 190 euro lighter! Looking back, we should have given them 40 euro and left as that's all the food we received. The waiters were very good and when we discussed our concerns they were decidedly uncomfortable and it was obvious they'd had similar complaints before.
The atmosphere was however good, the waiting staff a credit to the restaurant it's just such a shame that the Meze was so poor. They have other food on the menu, perhaps we should have tried that???

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    53
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not much forvthe money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Word of warning folks, dont be tempted with the meze, 8 of us had it, we got the same amount of food as the table of fiur next to us, just paid 170 euros for basically half a plate of fish and chips with a couple of bits of pork and some salad, off to pizza hut now to get something to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I want to give this a 4 because of the service, but food possibly a 3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice little taverna, good location even though its near a main road, still has good views of the countryside and is away from the "touristy" bits that i hate. Service was very good, had nice live music and a dance show with traditional Cypriot dancers. Food was bad though, meze was poor to say the least. Price was good though 16 EUR a head for Meze. If you want to go for a nice Cypriot night out away from all the scampi and chips, then this is for you. If you want to try Cypriot good quality food as a meze is usually served (to the point i always say that you can eat no more) then you will be disappointed to say the least. We liked the atmosphere so much that we wanted to go again, but as we were left hungry the night before, decided not to, which is a shame. My advice to them would be to sack the chef and rethink the meze menu as they have a nice little restaurant so its a shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a place I would visit again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited this Tavern as a friend recommended it to us. The staff are very friendly, I ordered moussaka which came with chips and a thinly sliced piece of tomato. My husband had the suckling pig. According to the menu it comes with chips and veg. Neither of us had veg given to us and my husband had one small half of potato. My friend had the menu of the day sheftelia and souvlaki which again came with chips and a thin slice of tomato. Would have preferred veg or salad. Very expensive for what we had and we were charged 4.50 euro for a pint of fresh orange juice which contained half ice. We felt we were ripped off. He did say when we next came we could have the juice for half the price. We would not return. My friend was up most of the night on the toilet with an upset stomach. Not a place I would recommend and certainly not value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb local dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Enjoyed the food and service so much we went multiple times during our holiday. The owner was very friendly, but in a nice manner, making you feel very welcome and almost part of the family. The other family members were also very friendly, making the effort to make the service personal and made the effort to get to know us a little. Local dishes were absolutely amazing, as most of the dishes are made entirely fresh on the day. You must try the beef dishes, and the lamb dishes. Homely Greek atmosphere, with the live Greek music in the background, with a wonderful performance from two Greek dancers, making it a very different dining experience to your usual restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phidias Tavern also viewed

Peyia, Paphos District
Peyia, Paphos District
 
Peyia, Paphos District
 

Been to Phidias Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidias Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.