We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family run traditional cypriot tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phidias Tavern

Phidias Tavern
Coral Bay Plaza, Peyia 8575, Cyprus
+357 26 621018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Peyia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run traditional cypriot tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic meze here during our holidays. Run by a family it has been operating for 27 years. The tavern was immaculately clean with a wide varied menu of mostly Cypriot traditional dishes as well as steaks. The service was excellent and the staff including the owner and his sons are very friendly and chatty. Great traditional music in the background. We really enjoyed our meze and the dishes were served piping hot which was welcomed. A great selection and it would be on my must visit again restaurant list. A great night out with fantastic food and welcoming hosts. Book in advance to save disappointment.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    52
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good fun, great hosts, entertainment some nights, and the food's not bad either. Tends to attract a lot of British but that adds to the fun

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Review dated 16/08/2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been visiting Phid and Effi since 1999 and have seen many changes over the years. The reviews written all seem to be fairly accurate but the one written concerning the awful experience on 16th of August this year,is definitely out of place. We have always found the food good and we have always been made to feel very welcome. Prices have risen during recent years but the food is always good.
Phid is a local and doesn't really come from Bradford.
If you can,take a tea towel of your area and he will hang it up with the others. You will see what I mean when you get there. You won't have to use it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, family taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Easy to find by the roundabout that leads to Coral Bay. A small, popular taverna. Offers the usual fare but you'll get a genuine and friendly welcome from Phidias and his brother.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!! Totally AWFUL experience :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were wandering around Coral Bay before dinner and came across this taverna. It looked so traditional and lovely and Phidias himself came along, greeted us, and immediately tried to get us in to eat his Meze platter for Euros15 each. It was too early for us to have dinner, so we told him we would return later.

When we returned, we were seated and once again, the Meze platter was almost forced on us a number of times. We said we would consider it but would like to see the menu. Once we got the menu, my Fiancée ordered the BBQ pork ribs and asked what they were served with. The waiter told him they were served with chips, which was acceptable. I ordered a Cypriot pork dish.

The service was a bit slow but we eventually got wine and some time later, our food arrived.

To our horror, on both plates, was a blob of some congealed, gluey starch that looked like some mix of pasta and couscous (which was cold) and a small portion of chips that accompanied our meals. There were only 5 small short-ribs (about the size of a finger),hardly a decent size portion and which were not even luke-warm. When he bit into the ribs, they were frozen inside - evident that they were precooked and had not even been properly thawed and re-heated. One would think that they should have been prepared from fresh in any event!!

My meal was completely dry and awful. We sent both meals back. Paid for the wine and left!

What an utter disappointment - it was disgusting. The taverna looked so nice and was such a let-down.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phidias Tavern also viewed

Peyia, Paphos District
Peyia, Paphos District
 
Peyia, Paphos District
 

Been to Phidias Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phidias Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.