We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* hotel nor is it a 1*motel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andromaches Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Andromaches Apartments to your Saves list
Andromaches Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road of Benitses, Benitses 49084, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not a 5* hotel nor is it a 1*motel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Myself and my mum stayed here at the end of October. This is out of season so there wasn't a great deal open in the surrounding area.

Our apartment had the most beautiful sea view from the balcony. It had a table and chairs out there along with a washing line so you were comfortable staying for a while with drying towels etc.

The apartment had a sitting room part with plenty of wardrobe space. The bedroom had a double bed. As we were expecting a twin the sofa actually turned into a bed so we were happy to stay in that apartment. It was slightly chilly at night but the air con unit also gives out heat. I mentioned to the owners I was cold in the night and he sorted it straight away for me to have some more blankets.

We were in a self catering apartment. It had a a two ring electrical hob, fridge, kettle, toaster and then plenty of crockery and pots and pans. We had what we needed to happily cook for ourselves.

There is a bar area, a pool and sunbeds. As it was the end of the season the pool was drained. Even though we had good weather so it was a bit if a shame but I understand why they were getting ready to shut down. The bar offers a variety of soft and alcoholic drinks and food snacks. There is satellite TV and plenty of board games and books to read.

There is a bus stop at the end of the road which takes you straight into Corfu town. The owners were helpful giving us maps and bus timetables for the surrounding areas.

Overall we were happy with our stay. We went for a very relaxing, stress free week away which worked well. I would visit again. Make sure you get a sea view apartment as waking up to that amazing view is very special.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    1
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed at Andromaches the last week of October 2014. It was a no frills self catering apartment and was very clean and the staff very helpful and Mina the dog was lovely!

After two days we had clean sheets and towels, the apartment was swept and mopped top to bottom and the area outside was swept daily. We even had clean towels the day before we left. We didn't expect clean sheets or towels all week so it was a nice surprise; we even had extra blankets and pillows added to our beds as they noticed we had raided the extra supplies in the wardrobe.

Benitses itself (0.6km away) seems a little run down but as a base for wider exploration of Corfu it was fine.

We (me, hubbie and daughter) were all very happy with our stay and I can assure you this is a genuine rating!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Unfortunately, we looked at the hotel’s Web site with the beautiful scenery of the pool during the sun set and decided to book a room. Up on arrival we got into our room and immediately knew that we were overcharged. We had already given 1/3 of the total price as a down deposit, and it was too late for us to find another hotel in the area, so we decided to stay. The shower curtain, the bathroom wall and floor tiles were full of mold with an unpleasant smell coming out of the toilet that traveled through out all the rooms. It was totally unacceptable from a hygiene aspect. We bought cleaning supplies, and spent over two hours cleaning, in order for our kids to use the bathroom. The bedroom walls were full of old mosquito blood stains indicating evidence of poor cleaning over a long period of time. We tried the pool once, but the blue coat of paint that was used to paint the pool interior area was coming out. Our kids exited the pool looking like “Smurfs”, especially their elbows and knees that were totally turned blue. When we checked out we paid cash and asked for a tax receipt. We were told by the owner this: “Unfortunately, my Logistician just left and I can’t give you a tax receipt. I can only give you a simple/regular receipt. But, don’t worry because I will inform him tomorrow and you will be getting one in the mail”, which we are still waiting for, 5 months later! Bottom-line, the hotel was a complete disappointment and we will not compromise to stay in a place like this, ever again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Basic beyond belief, filthy bathroom shower curtain full off mould and I don't want to even mention the toilet brush!
Awful smells coming up from drains. Do not stay here, completely ruined what should have been a nice break. Used the pool in a neighbouring hotel as it was clean. Do not like leaving poor reviews but don't waste your precious holiday time off by staying here.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andromaches, Manager at Andromaches Apartments, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Caroline in my self catering apartments we are not cleaning every day like a 4 or 5 star hotel and for this we give you instructions on your arrival day.
If in the room other 3 friends do not know how to use the toilet brush we are not responsible for there education (how to live with friends in the same apartment).
Thank you
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Having visited Corfu many times in the distant past, we searched long and hard for the perfect location and accommodation and we found it in Benitses at Andromaches. Located just off the National Road, nestling on the hill and boasting the most glorious view of the beautiful Ionian sea, these apartments are delightful. Spotlessly clean (Thank you, Anna) spacious and well appointed, they provided everything we needed for a truly memorable and relaxing holiday. Benitses is a short walk(1km if that) along the coast road, the beach only 100m, but should you prefer, Andromaches has a fabulously immaculate pool, with bar, offering refreshments and light meals, all day long (operating on a tab system, so you don't need money at the pool. Brilliant!). Fedon and Katrin (your friendly, welcoming hosts) keep Andromaches gardens as beautifully as the rooms and pool area, and are always on hand to offer advice on where to eat, where to visit or simply to have a chat. They are never 'pushy' like some hoteliers can be, and no request is too much trouble for them. They can arrange car hire, days out, excursions on your behalf, make telephone calls, anything you may require, and know all of their guests ( many of whom return year upon year) by their first names, which adds to the relaxed, comfortable, family atmosphere that you experience when staying at Andromaches. Fedon and Katrin work hard to make your holiday a success by providing a truly wonderful unobtrusive, but absolutely first class service, in terms of location and support. Children are welcome at Andromaches, as these wonderful appartments cater to everyone and all ages : couples ( like us), families, groups of friends, even lone travellers, all will find a relaxing welcome at Andromaches.
So, if you want to visit Corfu, are unsure of where to go,consider the lovely ex-fishing village of Benitses,with its picturesque new harbour and charming people, and stay with two of the most welcoming people you could hope to meet: Fedon and Katrin at Andromaches. Go on. You will not regret it. See you there, next year...

Karen & Steve
England.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I cannot comment on taffyBerlin, Cassandra351 or DavidM's stay at Andomaches Apts as I wasn't there at those times. What I do know is that we have stayed at Andromaches 3 times for a total of 7+weeks and have found the facility and atmosphere to be excellent and, Fedon and Katrina to be wonderful hosts - helpful, friendly, cheerful, welcoming and caring. We are headed back very soon for a 30 day stay and are very much looking forward to staying with Fedon and Katrina at Andromaches Apts. As far as the "entertainment" mentioned by David M, Alexi is a very good horn player and a polite, intelligent kid. Also, the dog, Meina (Sp?) is a great surrogate pet for those missing their own while on vacation.
KenA, Santa Fe

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Arrogant smug owner. Room wasn't cleaned for 4 days and when it was,they didn't change the bed sheets. We had to ask after 3 days if we could have clean towels and have the bin emptied. He also pulled a face when we asked for toilet paper. Never again.

Room Tip: Wifi not reliable. 15 min walk to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andromaches Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromaches Apartments

Address: National Road of Benitses, Benitses 49084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andromaches Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you seek a distinctive place that embraces the romance, serenity and natural beauty for your holidays, should definitely be the Andromaches Holiday Apartments in Corfu [Kerkyra] island Greece. Located in a premium location in Achillion at Benitses village, our lovely hotel provides its guests with spacious, airy and shiny accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andromaches Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromaches Apartments Corfu/Benitses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andromaches Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.