We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we had hoped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's

Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's
Plateia Kavadia 39, Fiscardo 28084, Greece
2674041344
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ate here on Friday 14th June 2013.
On a whole the staff were ok , but the food really let this place down ,
I ordered a special souvlaki which consisted of 3 cubes of pork , 2 cubes of chicken and 1/2 a village sausage with a few chips.
My wife ordered a beef shin , we were told that the beef would be off the bone , when it arrived it was just a very small portion of beef stiffado with some raw garlic and cold sun dried tomatoes added at the end of cooking. this was garnished with 6 , yes 6 french fries , nothing else , not even a lettuce leaf !
Prices were quite high at 12 and 14 euros.
The only saving grace was the comical entertainment of 2 cats in the middile of the restaurant getting jiggy with it ... although this amused us I dont think some of the other diners were too impressed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Came for a coffee and stayed for lunch....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Set a little way back from the harbour of Fiskardo, Tselenti is perfectly located to catch the cooling breezes channelling through the village. We went in for a coffee, then had a glass of wine, which came with the most stunning Tzatziki (complimentary) and delicious olives. The fact that the Tzatziki was one of the nicest we've had, made us decide to stay for lunch and we were not disappointed!! We had the most delicious pork with an orange sauce, grilled vegetable stac and deliciously herb-spiced rice - all beautifully presented.
The service was attentive and friendly. The owner must have one of the most extensive classical music collections in town and has invested in a superb sound-system to fill the square with orchestral-quality music... a great experience!! Will be back for sure!!!.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanzim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The real Greek experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My second week-long trip to Fiskardo and i could not wait to take my seat at Tselenti's to indulge in the amasing Greek cuisine and while away the hours to the sound of classical and Greek music. This restaurant with its friendly owner, friendly waiters, great food, music and wi-fi is worth making your base when visiting Fiskardo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned to Fiskardo for the fifth time, after a 4 year gap and we headed straight to Tselenti's for our favourite chicken souvlaki and their wonderful green salad with blue cheese ...and it was just as delicious as ever. We returned for a light lunch - a perfect tuna sandwich and fries and a delicious smoked salmon and prawn salad.

We tried their Italian food for dinner one night and it wasn't to our taste - the scallop risotto was a touch too rich for me, while the seafood linguine was equally rich and one of the (very large) prawns was undercooked which was off-putting. The flavours in the linguine didn't work for my husband who left most of it. The owner said the recipe had recently changed and that next time he'd cook the old recipe for us 'on the house'.

Having said that, this is the only bad meal we've ever had at Tslenti's over five years and if you stick to their fantastic Greek menu you can't go wrong. Try the fava bean starter - it's divine! The atmosphere is great, service good and its a very good place to end the night with a drink and brilliant music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Over priced and salty!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Not brilliant....this is an "up market" restaurant, unfortunately the food and the service did not live up to expectations. The service was very slow (and no it wasn't busy), and when the food came I could hardly eat mine as it was so salty. The service was poor..no chit chat or friendliness...This place has delusions of grandeur.. You can eat far better food in a much better atmosphere at the other tavernas...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minas T, Owner at Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr Looey123,

Tselenti's restaurant apologise for your impression and dining experience, however there are several adjacent restaurants to ours and would truly hope that we were not mistaken for one the others. Since establishing our restaurant many years ago we have received very few negative responses from our customers.
We do however realise that you cannot please all of customers all the time and would have hoped that any issues regarding food or service could have been resolved at the time in an amicable way rather than giving negative feedback.
We consider ourselves to be one of the oldest and best restaurants not just in Fiskardo but Kefalonia itself.
We do not have illusions of grandeur but endeavour to give our customers the best possible dining experience along with the unique classical , historic edge of our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's also viewed

Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 

Been to Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.