We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To Pefko

To Pefko
Main St | Andipata, Fiscardo, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Fiscardo
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A special little Taverna in a small village location, but well worth a visit. A very tasty squid starter, lovely fresh made bread, followed by a superb Sea Bass fillet in Lemon sauce with a fennel salad, all washed down with a smooth Greek red wine. And on the house puddings too :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Prahova, Romania
1 review
“One of the best restaurants in greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice personal, very tasty food, and great wine! Very nice personal, very tasty food, and great wine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional food and a warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

To Pefko is a roadside taverna that can be easily missed as you drive down the hill to Fiskardo - but if you overlook it you'll be missing out. The staff are friendly and attentive and the small menu is packed full of traditional Greek delights. The atmosphere is easy going and on both occasions that we ate there we ended up chatting to fellow diners, who were all all enjoying their meal as much as we were. We had a lovely lunch - flavoursome moussaka that was perfectly set without being solid, chicken souvlaki with delicious lemon and thyme butter and Greek salad...with a To Pefko twist of pitta triangles cooked in fragrant olive oil and herbs. We returned a couple of days later for dinner and enjoyed lamb kleftiko cooked and presented to perfection by the owner's mother. The prices are very reasonable and if you're on a budget they do a great deal for two - Greek salad, fries, 2 pork souvlaki and a litre carafe of house white for 25 euro ... a real bargain!

We went because so many people had recommended it in the visitors book in our villa and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best Taverna in Kefalonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This gem of a Taverna is up the hill just a couple of kilometres away from the trendy and over-priced yuppy tavernas lining Fiscardo harbour, all of which are desperate for custom because they are too expensive but don't seem to understand that is the reason they are almost empty.

To Pefko is located opposite a now disused church in a very pleasant location under the shade of an enormous pine tree. Each table has an immaculate white table cloth and beautiful flowers. This Taverna is family run and at least two of the family speak extremely good English, though why guests expect this to be the case (see one review below) is beyond me. To presume everyone will automatically speak English is a sad reflection on some tourists' attitude.

The same reviewer complains about the "dry bread roll". In fact the rolls in this Taverna are served fresh and mine was still warm from baking, was presented in a beautiful basket and wrapped in a clean cloth napkin to keep it warm, and was just about the most exquisite bread I have ever tasted in Greece.

I too had chicken and, again, it was by far the best tasting chicken I've had on the whole island. Greek tavernas are not known for their rice but are known for home made potato chips which were delicious, as was the feta salad. Add to this some very inexpensive, cold and dry white wine and my meals here were exceptionally good.

This Taverna serves what Greeks do best: SIMPLE food that is unpretentious, fresh, and straightforward. A little time spent talking with the charming two daughters and asking about their lives resulted in a free cocktail appearing. If English tourists would understand that taking the trouble to communicate and open up with Kefalonians, rather than treating them as though they were formal, remote servants back in England, they would be rewarded with a much better experience.

We visited many Tavernas on the island and most of them are good. This particular one stood out (along with Taverna Veggera in Vasilikades) as being outstanding. My partner is an accomplished chef and she too confirmed that the chicken was the best she had tasted anywhere. Highly recommended for value, authenticity, elegance and simplicity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Come into the garden Maude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

In the tiny hamlet of Antipata just outside Fiskardo, on the junction of the road down to Dafnoudi beach – probably the best on Kefalonia. There are tables out front, but ask to sit in the Garden out back, an oasis of cool in the heat of the day. Great breads, and salads (the Greek is worth the trip in itself), and a smashing pork souvalki with roasted pepper sauce. Cool beer, and a truly stonking shot of sangria on the house. Great hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Pefko also viewed

Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 

Been to To Pefko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Pefko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.