We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food at a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Cabin

Captain's Cabin
Fiscardo, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in Fiscardo
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good quality food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We ate here on our second night in Fiscardo.
The food was very nice indeed , I always rate a greek restaurant on it's quality of soulvaki , and this came a very close 2nd place to the best one I've ever had 5 years ago in Lefkada :)
The kleftico was also very good indeed.
Price wise , its inline with all the other eateries on the harbour front and the service was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
South East .UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent position on the harbour . Reasonable prices and friendly service . We had drinks and a snack here at lunch time , a nice place to relax and watch the activity in the harbour .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“FIRST EVENING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Friendly and able to offer gluten free choices despite catering for a party of 26 people. We were there to celebrate a birthday on the first evening of our holiday in Fiscardo. We were all very impressed by the food especially the size of the meals and the presentation. Eating down at the harbour means there is no view as such but the atmosphere is terrific. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to eat or have a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have eaten here many times and the staff are always very friendly
They are also not pushy like a few of the tavernas in Fiscardo. Food is good and good value. The views are great and it's a great place to people watch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay,West wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chicken Curry at the Captain's Cabin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

FISCARDO

Here we are again, just love Fiscardo, we went to Fiscardo on the 1st of April 2014 and returned on the 30th April 2014, one of the reasons we returned was because we found a Villa that was just £500 for the month of April, this was because it was out of season period which suited us down to the ground, The Villa was Anestis Villa in Antipata which is just a few minutes’ drive from Fiscardo.
As it was early season most of the Tavernas were close and the weather was not that good except for the last week, the locals have not known weather like it before.
As for eating, because of the expense we shopped in a small Supermarket in Maganos called Magannara, which was just up the road from Antipata and cheaper than the ones in Fiscardo and cooked at home most of the time. A few times we went into Fiscardo for a few drinks, whilst we were there we had a drink in the ones that were open and on one occasion whilst having a drink at the Captain’s Cabin I looked through the menu and noticed that they had some Indian Meals on the menu but as we had not long eaten we did not order, but we did make a point of returning to try some of it. The following night we returned, had a drink and looked at the limited Indian menu, which was, chicken curry, tandoori chicken, chicken tikka, chickpea curry, poppadum’s, they also had sweet and sour chicken, KFC style meal and a few others that the Tavernas that were open did not have, before I ordered because of the curry smell wafting around I asked if could see the curry, they did not have a problem and I went as far as taking a picture of the curry on the stove, it looked very nice. ( Look at Picture ) After this we ordered
one tikka and one tandoori to start and chicken curry for the main meal, and I must confess it was all excellent, it was as good as our local takeaway here in Wales, so if you are going there and get fed up with the greek salads and gallons of oil head for this place, it’s at the very end of the harbour, We did have greek food there last year and that was also good, But as I said we cooked home most of the time because it does get expensive to eat out all the time.
We also had food and drink around the corner from our Villa, a Taverna open all year around called the Stone house or To Petrino and they were also good.
We will be returning on the 19TH of July 2014 with our daughter and one of our granddaughters for one week to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary
Will report then again, happy hols.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Cabin also viewed

Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 

Been to Captain's Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.