We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartments in the perfect setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karteri Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fiscardo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karteri Apartments
Save
You added Karteri Apartments to your Saves list
Fiscardo, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartments in the perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I can only agree with all the positive reviews of the Karteri Apartments and Fiskardo. We visited in the last week of the season and stayed in Apartment No.2 which is large with two small balconies overlooking the entrance to the harbour and across to neighbouring Ithaka. Apartment No.1 is at the front and has a large balcony which directly overlooks the harbour with better views of the habour itself but is considerably smaller and with less character. Fiskardo is a dream and whilst the harbour front restaurants are a little expensive (allow 50 euros for two for an evening meal) the quality and service more than make up for it.. We travelled with Ionian Holidays who were excellent throughout, even allowing us to stay in our accomodation when our homeward flight was delayed. We will return !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I can pretty much confirm all the earlier reviews and repeat that Karteri Apartments really are very good.

There is no point in repeating the details outlined in the other reviews of the apartments, save to say the factual observations about their design, views etc all match what I saw.

I would however add that our experience of the Ionian Reps, differed from 1 review in that we found that they were approachable and friendly.

Also one big plus for Karteri, which regular visitors to Greece will appreciate, is that the sewage pipes are wide enough to permit flushing paper down the toilet!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Karteri Apartments are right in the centre of Fiscardo, overlooking the bay. Although extremely handy for everything, they are also in a very quiet spot.

There are about half a dozen or so apartments in the block, whih is situated in an elevated position on the south side of the bay, just behind the shops and restaurants.

We stayed in No. which was a spacious 2 bedroomed one, with a 20' x 12' shaded terrace, with views on 3 sides to the bay, and to the mountains. It was perfect sat on the terrace watching the boats coming in and out. Some days we never left the terrace.

The apartment is spotlessly clean, and the grounds maticulously kept and tendered, with numerous plants in the gardens.

Take a hair drier and an iron, as there arn't any in teh apartment.

Restaurant tips:
The best is Vasso's. I had the best seafood linguini I have ever had. Tasso's is also very good. It is well worth a trip up to Nicolas Taverna on the opposite side of the bay. Great views, very good traditional food, and a touch of eccentricity make this one a must.

Little Boats
I would recommed hiring a small boat from Ragina on the opposite side of the bay, near the ferry terminal. She is lovely. A boat will cost 45 Euros plus about 25 Euros in petrol. Its great exploring the coast-line, and finding secluded bays to swim in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed at the Karteri apts for a week, booked with ionian island holidays which were fabulous, great organised transfers with reps Emma and David who were so helpful and friendly.
We stayed in apt no 4 which was fabulous, clean and basic interior which had everything you need and the beauty of 2 balconies, the one at the front getting the morning sun and the one off the bedroom getting the afternoon and evening sun.
Great welcome hamper on arrival and fresh flowers on the table, flowers also on the towels placed on the bed on arrival and when changed.
Situated so conviently, 2 mins walk to the harbour side and 4 from a supermarket, bars and restaurants which you are totally spoilt for choice.
Surprisingly being so closely situated to the harbourside front and all the yatch and boat activity these apartments are so quiet and peaceful.
I cannot wait to return :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have just come back from a fantastic 2 weeks in Fiskardo, we stayed in Karteri Apartments which are set slight back from the waterfront but the no.2 apartment we stayed in had 2 balconies so we have good views of the harbour and all the lovely Yachts and views over to Ithaka from the other balcony, we hired a car for 3 days, which we thoroughly enjoyed, the scenery and views from the villages inland are spectacular, Mrytos beach and Assos are great but get inland, get lost and enjoy the scenery. The little motor boats for hire are great fun, and something different. The beach we liked the best is Eblisi which is about a 20 minutes walk, the beach is pebbly but very pretty. The prices in the resort are high but as the days past we learnt where to shop and where to eat, restaurants are excellent, especially Lord Falcons, which is a Thai restaurant, fantastic. We booked through Ionian Holidays which we wont use again, the room service was lacking, one towel change in 5 DAYS yuk, and the reps are miserable and unapproachable, always felt like you were in there way, but all the same loved the Island and Fiskardo.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Our accommodation was the KARTERI apartments, booked through Ionian Island Holidays.

Fiskardo is a small harbour so it’s not far to walk to anywhere in the town. The Karteri apts are at one end of the harbour, set one row back from the harbour front. They are terraced into 4 levels with steps up the side of the building to access the apts. There is a sloping road around the back down to the harbour which you could use if you want to avoid the steps. It’s a 2-minute walk to the supermarket and bakery if you use the steps.

We had apt 6 which is at the back of the apt block, and has its own small patio with wooden furniture and a view of the harbour. Very quiet at night, no disturbances. Basic furnishings in the room but certainly good enough. Extremely hard mattresses on the twin beds, so we used the sofabed in the lounge instead which was much more comfortable. Big bathroom, shower like a tap. Nice welcome pack. Very clean and everything well-maintained. The 3 apts at the front of the building have their own large terraces with views over the harbour. The guests we spoke to who stayed in these recommended them.

There is a small pool with some sunbeds, but no umbrellas. As there are only 6 apts, we often found we were the only people around the pool, as others took day trips elsewhere.

EATING …. Loads of restaurants to choose from, didn’t hear anything bad about any of them. They all appeared to be busy. Don’t bother with the local speciality meat pie – tastes like spagbol in pastry. Prices in Aug 09 pretty much on par with the UK.

THINGS TO DO … not an awful lot, unless you like sitting, eating and looking at boats. You can day-hire small motor boats from a few places, which we did, to visit other beaches/coves on the island. All very pebbly, mostly quite small but deserted and with clear water if you fancy a snorkel. We found very few tavernas or toilets on these stops. The boats hire places give you an ice box and parasol for the day, and only let you go a certain distance. You can drive (?) over to Ithaca. Great fun having your own boat though!

BEACHES … There is a very (VERY) small pebble beach in Fiskardo, at one end of the harbour, but it’s really just a space between restaurant tables and the water. I didn’t see anyone using it. Foki beach is a good 20-minute walk from town, small taverna there, again pebbles and a bit of sand but quite pretty. Car hire essential to see anything else. Everyone will tell you to go to MYRTOS beach (of Corelli fame). We did but had to hire a car to get there - £65 inc. fuel – pretty expensive for a 40 minute journey just to visit a sandy beach. But it is gorgeous and if you want sand between your toes, then it’s worth visiting. There are toilets (good, UK-style ones), and changing rooms, and a bar with snacks. Beach is huge and sandy but with big (painful) pebbles along the shoreline, so take beach shoes if you have them. Get there by 10am in high season for a parking space at beach level or it’s a long hot walk uphill to your car at the end of the day. There are other sandy beaches on the island the further south you travel, down either coastline.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karteri Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karteri Apartments

Address: Fiscardo, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Fiscardo
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Karteri Apartments Hotel Fiscardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karteri Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.