We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALEXANNA APPARTMENTS A LITTLE GEM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexanna Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fiscardo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexanna Apartments
Matsukata, Fiscardo, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
wigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ALEXANNA APPARTMENTS A LITTLE GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I managed to book a last minute holiday with Ionion Island Holidays which was for a studio apartment in Matsoukata on Kefelonia Greece. The reps were very helpful as soon as they realised my wife had mobile problems. The coach trip from the airport took us up the west coast of the island and the views were fantastic, and gave us a good idea what the Island was like.
Our apartment was on the east side of the Island and the view from our balcony overlooked Ithica and the yachts sailing up the channel. Unlike the west coast the pine and Cyprus trees covered the hills. But the peacefulness of the area imprest us the most . The apartment was a lot better and larger than we expected, and as the kitchen was well equipped we ate in a few nights.
The welcome hamper was handy and kept us going till i walked into the local supermarket in Manganos the following morning. I could have used the car but I find you see more walking. Most days we spent by the pool, and had it to ourselves after the other residence went off to explore the delights of Kefalonia. We stayed at the apartment for the first few days to unwind, and the owners wife kindly came to check if my wife was managing with the steps and if we need anything. The car provided met our needs and even coped with the twisting road out of Assos, which is a must place to visit. As was Fiskardo if you like a more lively place to eat. And watch the posh boats coming into the harbour from all over the world. We would have liked to stay an extra week, even though we would have lost money on our returned flight. But the Alexanna apartments were fully booked.

HOW DID WE RATE OUR HOLIDAY 100/100. Their office in the UK and Fiskardo were helpful and suggested places we could visit, and even arranged a taxi to save my wife travelling in the mini bas to the coach, which would take us to the airport. They even had a wheelchair waiting for her at the airport.
WOULD WE GO AGAIN? YES. But next time we would go earlier as it shouldn't be as hot and the rates are lower.
ADVISE TO FUTURE GUESTS. Bring a good pair of binoculars, and your walking boots if you like walking.

Room Tip: From what I could see all the apartments had good views overlooking IIhica and the sea between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed in a studio which was quite spacious and adequately equipped. However, they are very isolated which is fine if you want an anti-social holiday spent driving EVERYWHERE. The pool area is OK, but there is no area for guests to gather and socialise in the evenings.

Information in Ionian Island Holidays 'Things to know before you go' booklet stated that 'You will find in each property a villa/apartment book giving details on your accommodation, how things work, where to find, etc.' and that if the accommodation did not have have one then to ask the rep to supply one. Our accommodation didn't have one. I asked the rep - she directed me to the resort brochure which was about the resorts in Kefalonia, Lefkas and Ithaka. Totally useless. It was the car hire employee who told us where the nearest mini-market and tavernas were.

We also noticed on our phones that the Alexanna Apartments had wi-fi. We asked the rep for the code who said we could have it for €15 per week!! Most people pay less than that per month at home. Considering that the majority of tavernas/bars over free wi-fi if you buy a coffee there, I thought this was a really cynical way of making a huge amount of extra money from guests who had already paid over-the-odds to stay at Alexanna.

Overall, I'd say the accommodation was adequate, but considerably over-priced for what and where it is. Oh and I recommend bringing a couple of spare bath towels if you want to shower more than once every 4 days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked the two bedroom apartment at Alexanna Apartments based on the images of the apartments in the brochure. What an expensive disappointment. We raised our concerns with the rep as soon as we saw it but were told there is nothing she could do. We raised it with the London office and after some time we talked to the 'Customer Services Manager' but nothing could be done at that time. So we went into Fiskado and spoke to one of the restaurant owners who put us in touch with a nice little hotel in Maganos (in their 2010 brochure as a boutique hotel but not in their 2011 brochure - why ?) so we didn't unpack - we moved that day.- the agent came back some days later offering a two bed apartment over a supermarket in Fiskado at €140 a day (at our cost) which was more than we were paying at the hotel so we obviously declined. Interestingly we could only get the hotel for 12 nights and had to move into the apartment for the last two nights - NEVER AGAIN - basic is a nice word for it.... I could have booked the whole thing direct including the hotel and it would have been about £700 cheaper. As a web consultant I will be putting my own pictures of the apartment on my website over the next two weeks if anyone is interested.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassos M, Owner at Alexanna Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We were very surprised by this reaction to our accommodation. This has certainly never happened before. Whilst it is understandable that people’s expectation of accommodation can vary quite substantially, we would point out that there are several excellent reviews. How this reviewer can have such an extremely contrasting opinion is both disappointing and astounding. We would also point out that although the clients maintained that they did not wish to use the apartment, they kept the key and the option to use the accommodation for the two weeks they had booked. We feel that this review is unfair to the property which has been very popular with many repeat guests for several years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We`ve just come back from a week`s stay at the Alexanna apartments and would just like to reiterate all the positive things already written. The apartment was immaculate, well equipped and welcoming with the most amazing views over to Ithaca. The whole holiday could have been spent just taking in the breathtaking view from the balcony! The pool and surrounding gardens were beautiful and perfectly kept. The whole area is gorgeous. Perfect little beaches with blue blue sea surrounded by olive trees and amazing wild flowers. The little town of Fiskardo is lovely. Winding little streets and shaded squares....all this a backdrop to the pretty harbour with boats of all shapes and sizes coming and going.
The holiday was extremely well organised from start to finish. Anyone would be very hard pressed to criticise any part of it in our opinion! We loved every minute of it . We will definitely be back! JR and CR

Room Tip: All rooms have the same beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We booked the two bedroom apartment through Ionian Holidays for a relaxing week away....we were slightly concerned due to the last review that we had read on here!! We would both advise to ignore the bad comments on the last review.
The transfers to the apartments took us straight to the apartment where our hire car was waiting for us. Also waiting to greet all of the guests was Rose who is lovely.
The apartment itself was very clean and there was everything that you needed including a washing machine!! The welcome hamper was also great and had all you needed for when you first arrive there!! The bathroom is very basic but it is very clean and has eveything that you need.....what else can you expect when you are visiting a small greek island...if you want something modern then I advise going to a 5* hotel!! This part of the island is very traditional so why try to change something that doesnt need changing!! The kitchen has everything that you will need the only thing is that when we were using the hobs they turned off after so long to cool down...but this didnt cause any major problems. Our only little moan is that mattress was not comfortable but we still managed to sleep.
The vehicle we had was sufficient for travelling on the island, the majority of the roads are very windy and occassionally steep, the vehicle coped very well.
Overall we had a fabulous holiday and would definately return back there and would recommend these apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. Flight and transfer very good. Interior of the 2 bedroom apartment very very basic. Living room contained a sofa and two wooden sided chairs and a coffee table - very uncomfortable and not at all welcoming. Bathroom reminded me of Greece 20 years ago - basic shower with curtain, unplastered ceiling - bucket with mop in the corner to dry spillage from the shower. However good supply of hot water - bedrooms basic but OK - kitchen also OK but very old fashioned and basic. We had been told the apartments had been recently refurbished - but no signs of this inside - did have new plastic windows and metal screens - air conditioning was good.
Pool area very pleasant. Fiskardo was about a 10 minute drive away and that was very pretty with good range of tavernas etc. Could have done with a little live music. Saw other apartments in central Fiskardo that were much better furnished and equipped. Our apartment did have a very fine view. In all we had a good holiday but it would have been even better if we had stayed somewhere else. We had group 2 car - would recommend upgrading as engine was straining in this very hilly - but beautiful - island. Booked via Ionian Island Holidays - not good value for money

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

What a beautiful complex of 9 apts/studios. We booked this holiday through Ionian Island Holidays and they were very efficient throughout.

The apartment was fully equiped apart from no coffee perculator. The 'welcome hamper' was a bit of a disappointment because there was only 4 small pkts of coffee and sugar, 4 teabags, 4 miniture packs of butter and 2 mini packets of jam. There was a small carton of milk plus a bottle of white wine, water, a can of beer and 3 cans of soft drinks. You need to take your own coffee etc or buy it from the supermarket in Manganetsa village.

The pool was beautiful well cared for and immaculately clean. There is a big problem with the wasp population and you need to take plenty of insect repellant.

The Ionian staff were really excellent and helpful in the resort.

There is an excellent taverna in Manganetsa village called the Ionian Taverna. Superb food, a lovely hostess and staff, good wine, excellent Greek entertainment on Tuesday nights and the most fantastic sunsets to be seen from the terrace - this is must.

A word of warning do not be taken in by the hype for Nicholas's Taverna in Fiskardo. I feel that he is living on the old memories of the days of Captain Corilli's Mandolin being filmed there. We wanted a special night out on our last Friday night and booked a table at Nicholas's, we were promised entertainment of music and Greek dancing - what a disappointment. The food was dreadful, the service diabolical, not even piped music accompanied our meal and it was grossly over priced. This spoilt an otherwise perfect holiday.

Apart from that we had a super holiday and would definately recommend this island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexanna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanna Apartments

Address: Matsukata, Fiscardo, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty lodging in Fiscardo
Also Known As:
Alexanna Apartments Hotel Fiscardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexanna Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alexanna Apartments to your Saves list