We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan agriturismo was perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Apparita

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Apparita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Apparita
Podere Apparita, 9, 56045 Pomarance, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tuscan agriturismo was perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Five days at this delightful farmhouse was the perfect way to experience Tuscany. Our room was roomy, comfortable and lacked nothing. Continental breakfast was supplied and was very good, with many choices. We paid a modest extra charge for a home-cooked, and home-grown dinner each night and we were delighted with each meal - and a very good list of local wines to select from also. Situated an enjoyable distance from Siena, Volterra and San Gimigniano, there was plenty to see each day to complete our holiday. There was a family with young children staying there, and they seemed to find plenty for them to do. The swimming pool looked fabulous, but it was a little too cool for us to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on our cycling tour and made it here after cycling from Casciana Terme via Volterra. We were looking for ward to an excellent dinner having studied the reviews. The pasta that we started with was OK. The main course was a small omelette with some vegetables. We were still hungry at the end of the meal. This was our only poor meal on the trip and we felt that it was poor value for money and poor quality.

Room was fine and the patio was good for storing our bikes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apparita, Proprietario at Agriturismo Apparita, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Google Translation
Dear guests,
sorry for our replay in italian, but we don't know english enough for replay in your language

ci dispiace molto di non aver soddisfatto le vostre aspettative.
Può darsi che le porzioni servite per la cena non fossero adeguate alle vostre esigenze di sportivi.
E ' stata nostra sorpresa vedervi arrivare in bicicletta e eravamo in ammirazione per il percorso molto impegnativo intrapreso per raggiungerci. Se fosse stato richiesto, non avremmo certamente negato un bis. Spesso i nostri ospiti ci chiedono di ridurre le porzioni.
Per quanto riguarda la qualità del cibo ci troviamo in disaccordo.
Quella sera avevamo preparato come primo piatto “pappardelle al sugo antico” . Le pappardelle provenivano da una azienda locale che coltiva con metodo omeobiodinamico, il sugo era cucinato con carne macinata di bovino di prima scelta, petto di pollo, prosciutto toscano e funghi secchi porcini.
Il secondo piatto “tortino con fiori di zucchine e dadolata di zucchine e pomodori” con contorno di insalata. Le uova del tortino erano in parte delle nostre galline e in parte uova biologiche, i fiori di zucchine provenivano dal nostro orto e per la dadolata, le zucchine erano una “primizia” del nostro orto biologico, naturalmente anche l'insalata era dell'orto.
I piatti sono sempre cucinati esclusivamente con il nostro olio extravergine di oliva biologico.
Di dessert abbiamo servito “panna cotta con salsa di albicocche”. La panna cotta è stata preparata da noi con panna e latte biologico e bacca di vaniglia.
Abbiamo ospiti che soggiornano da noi una o due settimana e cerchiamo pertanto di variare i menu. Serviamo circa ogni dieci giorni un secondo a base di uova che probabilmente da voi non è apprezzato.
Teniamo sempre conto anche di intolleranze, allergie o richieste particolari.
Sperando di potervi accogliere in un altra occasione con un menu a voi più gradito, ringraziamo per l'apprezzamento della camera con terrazza.
Nonostante il vostro commento vi ricordiamo con ammirazione e simpatia, cordiali saluti silvia&gino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south ogden, ut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I, along with our dear friends, spent five nights at L'Apparita. Silvia and Gino were the kindest hosts. The rooms were very clean and comfortable...with large bathrooms. I really liked that there were plenty of towels...and I noticed extra blankets in the wardrobe. The room ahd a heater, which we did not need to use. Each room has its own exterior door...along with a little patio area. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking! Beautiful scenery whichever way you look. We used the agriturismo as a homebase while we toured many of the hill towns in the area. We also took a day and headed up to the Garfagnana - which I would recommend...if only to see and stand on the Ponte Della Maddelena. We visited Barga, Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Volterra, San Gimignano, Siena, Monteriggione(NW of Siena), Montecastelli(just past San Dalmazio), San Dalmazio, and Florence. Then we hit Montepulciano and Orvieto on our way back to Rome. I loved Montepulciano! L'Apparita is a ways from some of the towns we visited...but the country roads are so beautiful that we did not mind all the driving. We looked forward to returning to the agriturismo each night for dinner. I would suggest eating dinner every night of your stay there. Elia is a fabulous chef! The meals are delicious and simple, traditional food - served up beautifully. Since we are foodies, the food reviews are what sold us on this farmhouse. We were not disappointed! The farmhouse is so quiet and peaceful. Very relaxing. We were the only 2 couples for most of our stay. The last day we were joined by 2 other groups of three each... But, that didn't change the peaceful nature of the house. Dinners were fun and friendly as we all tried to get to know each other despite some language barriers. We truly enjoyed our vacation in Tuscany thanks to Silvia's hospitality. We would love to stay with her again if our travels take us back. I would recommend GPS if you plan to tour the hilltop towns and surrounding areas. We drove around like locals, thanks to our TomTom App! It insured that we made it home in time for dinner each night!

Room Tip: Both of the double rooms were equally nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently spent 3 lovely days and nights at this agriturismo south of Volterra and Pomarance in Tuscany. The farmhouse is just as described on the website and was the perfect place for us to relax. We had the place to ourselves. Our rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Every room has its own private patio, which I could have sat out on all day if the weather had been just a bit warmer. Our kids (12 and 9) really loved playing with Stella and Pepe, the dogs, and the numerous cats that roamed the property. The two donkeys and the horse, Ballerina, were more than happy to eat the carrots that the kids insisted we buy at the grocery store in Pomarance. It is also an ideal location from which to take day trips. We stopped at Pisa on our way in from Florence. Then we spent a day in San Gimignano and a half day in Volterra.

Dinners were a delightful surprise. We had originally planned to eat “at home” only on the first night, but the food was so good, we didn’t see the point of going anywhere else. It was kind of exciting to show up for dinner at 8 p.m. without knowing what was going to be served. Even our boy, who is a very picky eater, tried almost everything. On the first night, we had home-made gnocchi with tomato sauce, stewed rabbit, roasted potatoes, broccoli rabbe and a lemon ricotta cake with strawberry sauce for dessert. The highlight of our second dinner was the amazing linguine with pecorino and rosemary. The kids loved the chocolate mousse. On the third night we had a cauliflower soup as the starter. I am normally not a fan of cauliflower, but this soup was good! The herbed pork roast and the roasted fennel were also delicious. For dessert we had apple streusel with vanilla ice cream. The kids were happy to have chocolate mousse leftovers from the night before. I’m so glad we stayed for dinner each night because if we had “gone out” we would have just stuck to foods we were familiar with and would have missed out on this delicious and authentic Tuscan fare.

Our family would absolutely come back to this agriturismo for another visit. We look forward to enjoying the pool next time, and I really want to wander down the country lane a bit farther when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely agriturismo. Wonderful people, fabulous breakfasts and evening meals, clean and comfortable rooms, in a scenic and quiet country setting. Take a walk back the country lane for beautiful views, have a capuccino in San Dalmazio down the road, relax on your private patio with a glass of wine with one or both dogs at your feet, swim in the pool, check out the donkeys and chickens and rooster and cats.
Did I mention the food? After one meal, we decided to have dinner there every night. Delcious local cuisine. Bottles of wine were available for purchase. Lots of winding roads to reach the Tuscan hill towns, so be prepared for some interesting drives.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Beautiful lodging as shown on their Web site.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We spent 5 nights at Agriturismo Apparita and enjoyed every moment in the area. Our room was large, charming, quiet and very comfortable. Beds are firm and bathrooms are well equipt with shower, toilet, bidet & sink. Everything was spotless.

The owners are very friendly and there is enough English spoken to take care of any needs that you have. Each morning we were greeted by kittens in the window and the farm dog at the door. There is covered parking and a pool. Breakfast was delicious, especially the sheep cheese and homemade cake and you must take at least one evening meal cooked by the owners.

It would be best to be driving to take advantage of this Agriturismo and be warned the roads in the area are twisty-windy so you don't get anywhere very fast but the trip is a wonder. You are very close to the village of San Dalmazio which is a wonderful explore in itself and has places to eat. You are centrally located to several areas of interest in Tuscany. There is a stunning view of San Dalmazio from the home and views of olive groves & farm fields.

There are a few cooling towers from power plants that can be seen but just put a tree between you and them and you step back in time. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — I cannot choose just one thing...this was a wonderful place to stay.
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Apparita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Apparita

Address: Podere Apparita, 9, 56045 Pomarance, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pomarance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Specialty lodging in Pomarance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Apparita Our farmstead is located in the district of Pomarance (province of Pisa), in the geographical zone of High Maremma Toscana, near the "Colline Metallifere", rich in wonderful landscapes, beginning from woods (Berignone Wood - Tatti and Monterufoli Wood) to gullies, crags and geysers. The family run farm offers a warm welcome to 6 charming well-appointed rooms (two double rooms and four triple rooms), each with bathroom, heating, a large terrace and an indipendent entrance. Rooms include TV Sat, fridge, phon, thermo-switch for the heating at guests' disposal and free internet WIFI. In the garden, for our guests, we have a swimming pool 12m x 6m, next to a smaller one 4 m x 3 m for kids. The water in the swimming pool is treated with a natural system based on salt, without chlorine. We serve breakfast (B&B) and dinner (for half treatment) in the veranda with a good view on the 12th century Rocca Sillana, easily reached on foot. We serve meals of fine Tuscan cuisine and fresh organic garden produce, we use only our organic extra-virgin olive oil in meals and tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Agriturismo Apparita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Apparita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.