We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away from it all (and eating well) in the Tuscan countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Apparita

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Apparita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Apparita
Podere Apparita, 9, 56045 Pomarance, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Getting away from it all (and eating well) in the Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently spent 3 lovely days and nights at this agriturismo south of Volterra and Pomarance in Tuscany. The farmhouse is just as described on the website and was the perfect place for us to relax. We had the place to ourselves. Our rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Every room has its own private patio, which I could have sat out on all day if the weather had been just a bit warmer. Our kids (12 and 9) really loved playing with Stella and Pepe, the dogs, and the numerous cats that roamed the property. The two donkeys and the horse, Ballerina, were more than happy to eat the carrots that the kids insisted we buy at the grocery store in Pomarance. It is also an ideal location from which to take day trips. We stopped at Pisa on our way in from Florence. Then we spent a day in San Gimignano and a half day in Volterra.

Dinners were a delightful surprise. We had originally planned to eat “at home” only on the first night, but the food was so good, we didn’t see the point of going anywhere else. It was kind of exciting to show up for dinner at 8 p.m. without knowing what was going to be served. Even our boy, who is a very picky eater, tried almost everything. On the first night, we had home-made gnocchi with tomato sauce, stewed rabbit, roasted potatoes, broccoli rabbe and a lemon ricotta cake with strawberry sauce for dessert. The highlight of our second dinner was the amazing linguine with pecorino and rosemary. The kids loved the chocolate mousse. On the third night we had a cauliflower soup as the starter. I am normally not a fan of cauliflower, but this soup was good! The herbed pork roast and the roasted fennel were also delicious. For dessert we had apple streusel with vanilla ice cream. The kids were happy to have chocolate mousse leftovers from the night before. I’m so glad we stayed for dinner each night because if we had “gone out” we would have just stuck to foods we were familiar with and would have missed out on this delicious and authentic Tuscan fare.

Our family would absolutely come back to this agriturismo for another visit. We look forward to enjoying the pool next time, and I really want to wander down the country lane a bit farther when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely agriturismo. Wonderful people, fabulous breakfasts and evening meals, clean and comfortable rooms, in a scenic and quiet country setting. Take a walk back the country lane for beautiful views, have a capuccino in San Dalmazio down the road, relax on your private patio with a glass of wine with one or both dogs at your feet, swim in the pool, check out the donkeys and chickens and rooster and cats.
Did I mention the food? After one meal, we decided to have dinner there every night. Delcious local cuisine. Bottles of wine were available for purchase. Lots of winding roads to reach the Tuscan hill towns, so be prepared for some interesting drives.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Beautiful lodging as shown on their Web site.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We spent 5 nights at Agriturismo Apparita and enjoyed every moment in the area. Our room was large, charming, quiet and very comfortable. Beds are firm and bathrooms are well equipt with shower, toilet, bidet & sink. Everything was spotless.

The owners are very friendly and there is enough English spoken to take care of any needs that you have. Each morning we were greeted by kittens in the window and the farm dog at the door. There is covered parking and a pool. Breakfast was delicious, especially the sheep cheese and homemade cake and you must take at least one evening meal cooked by the owners.

It would be best to be driving to take advantage of this Agriturismo and be warned the roads in the area are twisty-windy so you don't get anywhere very fast but the trip is a wonder. You are very close to the village of San Dalmazio which is a wonderful explore in itself and has places to eat. You are centrally located to several areas of interest in Tuscany. There is a stunning view of San Dalmazio from the home and views of olive groves & farm fields.

There are a few cooling towers from power plants that can be seen but just put a tree between you and them and you step back in time. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — I cannot choose just one thing...this was a wonderful place to stay.
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

We would go back to this B&B in Tuscany on another trip. It is on a hill with friendly hosts, nice rooms
beautful setting and the most fabulous drive threw
Tuscany to get there, the scenery is wonderful.

The setting is wonderful and their dogs and cats come to welcome guests, very relaxing and the pool looked very inviting for a warmer season.

I recommend including the evening meal, very convenient and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2002

Deciding on finding an Agriturismo (a kind of farmstay/B&B) with a pool in Tuscany in one of the busiest weeks of the year wasn't easy.

We found Podero Apparita, a small Agriturismo in San Dalmazio, about 25 minutes by car from the old fort town of Voletrra. For only €40 each per night we had a huge room with fantastic bathroom and views across the valley. The owners are very accommodating and although more used to German guests we had a brilliant time.

With a hire car we were able to get to Volterra, San Gimignano (a must) and Sienna easily. We missed out on Florence as the pool was too tempting.

With only 4 rooms at Apparita you are guaranteed not feel swamped with people and eating in with other guests is a must.

Only small shame was the location of a large chimney for some sort of industrial plant across the valley - but this can only be seen from certain places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Apparita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Apparita

Address: Podere Apparita, 9, 56045 Pomarance, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pomarance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty lodging in Pomarance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse in Tuscany located in Pomarance (Pisa). 6 rooms with bathroom, terrace, private entrance, satellite TV, minibar, hairdryer and free WiFi. 2 swimming pools with salt purification of which is for adults and children. Restaurant, half board with typical Tuscan dishes and local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Agriturismo Apparita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Apparita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.