We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zefiros Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zefiros Hotel to your Saves list
Zefiros Hotel
Paleokastritsa, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is a family run and owned hotel is run with pride and attention to detail by the owners. Great value for money. The room rate includes a full English breakfast with two eggs and what appears to be fresh local produce including freshly squeezed local orange juice and peach marmalade with the toast.

Room Tip: Steep hills in the location. Hire a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is one Hotel that completely understands the nature of customer service. Nothing was too much trouble for the couple that own the hotel, Irene & Johnny. I rang the hotel direct using the hotels own website : http://www.hotel-zefiros.gr/page4.html, & spoke directly to Irene (who speaks excellent english) & saved myself about 130 euro's! The rooms are beautiful & simple, cleaned wonderfully by Maria. The breakfast was lovely & fresh, with a choice of Greek, Continental & English.
The location is fantastic, right on the beach & if you have a car, you can park opposite the hotel fairly easily.

This is a 3 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star! One of the best holidays we've had in years & we look forward to returning to this jewel int he crown of Corfu!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Zefiros in the second week of September and I can honestly say it was the most enjoyable holiday I have ever had. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel absolutely at home by Johnny, Irene and their staff who all went out of their way to make our stay as easy, comfortable and fun as possible. The different floors of the hotel are linked by outdoor steps which are pleasantly framed by vines and flowers; our standard double was up two flights and Johnny sprinted up them with our very heavy suitcase. The room was larger than we expected as it had a second single bedroom which was useful for storage purposes. The decor was simple but tasteful, perfect for our needs, and the room was very quiet and dark at night. There was a fridge with an ice-box which was handy. Outside there was a shared sun terrace, each room having its own table and chairs and an airer.
We arrived around midnight so were pleasantly surprised to discover exactly how close to the beach the hotel was when we awoke; the view of the crystal clear blue bay from the window was just beautiful. Hotel Zefiros is a very striking building; we particularly liked the dining room and its balcony, which have been very sympathetically decorated. Although the continental breakfast was included as standard, we were encouraged to try anything we liked from the menu each morning; everything was delicious, particularly the local honey, and the coffee was very good. Try their famous ginger beer later in the day, and cocktails in the evening. As well as Hotel Zefiros, other places we can recommend for a meal are Limani and Alipa at the port, and if you fancy a steak then Hotel Apollon a few doors down from Hotel Zefiros is very good.
Zefiros made a great base from which to explore Paleokastritsa, and I would say that it is in the nicest part of Paleo. There is a cash machine literally next door to the hotel, and a well-stocked supermarket about 20 metres up the road. Johnny was only too happy to give us advice and assistance should we need it. We visited each of the nearby beaches, spending most time on St Spiridon since it was right on our doorstep. This time of year it was not crowded at all and the weather was still hot, but not so hot as to be unpleasant. The water was beautifully clear and there were plenty of fish to be seen just by snorkelling from the beach. If snorkelling isn't for you, we'd recommend a trip on the Yellow Submarine which leaves from Alipa port, a couple of mins walk away. It is more of a boat with a glass-walled pod and seats below. 10 Euros well spent. From the same company you can rent your own motor boat for the day, which is great fun and allows you access to many secluded private beaches nearby. The staff are extremely friendly and were able get we novices up to speed on boat handling within a few minutes.
The monastery on the hill above Paleo is easy to reach on foot in about 15 minutes from the hotel; at the top there is a superb view of the headland, and a cafe from which take it in. If you bring a torch you can walk up this way at night and you will be rewarded with a stunning view of the lights of Paleo and the nearby villages twinkling on the water below, with the stars above. Magical.
On one day it was slightly hazy so we took the path up to Lakones, in the hills above Paleo. The walk up through the olive groves takes around half an hour and is not very taxing considering how much height you gain in so short a time. It was very peaceful and there were plenty of opportunities to take a short break and admire the view. At the top Lakones is rather sleepy; following the road round to the west we came upon Cafe Dulce, which has a superb rooftop terrace with unrivalled views down to Paleo and across the island. Their baked feta was the best we'd had. From Lakones you can follow the road right round to Makrades and the Byzantine castle Angelokastro, which is worth a visit.
Paleo is well connected to Corfu Town and there are regular buses which run from a stop 50m from Hotel Zefiros and get you there in 45 mins. We did not feel the need to hire a car during our trip but should you need to there are plenty of opportunities to do so.
In the evenings Paleo is fairly quiet - this is exactly why we chose it as we wanted total relaxation, and we definitely got that. Several of the local hotels run Greek nights which sound lively if you're after more excitement, and the Yellow Submarine offers a night cruise. We enjoyed chatting with Johnny, his staff and guests over drinks at the hotel of an evening. Johnny is a charming, affable and philosophical guy and we feel so grateful to him and his family for lavishing such hospitality on us. It was a wrench to leave after only a week so I should think we will definitely be returning. I cannot recommend Hotel Zefiros highly enough; you will not find a welcome like this anywhere, and the location has to be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The owners of Zefiros in Paleokastritsa, Johnny and Irene, and their staff are the best hosts we ever met. Very nice people, they make you feel at home. Clean and comfortable rooms, the breakfast is perfect: everything you order is fresh. Near the hotel, about 100 meters, is a nice romantic bay with sandy beach, some restaurants and watersportactivities. Rent a car when you arrive at the airport. Paleokastritsa is the best part of Corfu, but it's also nice to make some trips to the surroundings and the best way is to do it by car. Free parking in the street next to the hotel. Perfect stay, best place! check for pics: www.hotel-zefiros.gr

Jan & Ingrid from Hattem, Holland.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. I would recommend it for many reasons. Firstly, the setting is stunning, with views across the bay. It is centrally located with some lovely tavernas all within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is well run and spotless. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They organised taxis for us and helped us with our plans for our more adventurous days. We had a family suite which was cleaned every day and fresh towels are laid out every morning. The breakfasts were delicious and there was a good choice of food which was made fresh to order. Within this resort you can hire a motor boat for the afternoon (60 euros plus fuel), hire a car (approx 60 euros per day). There is also a good local bus service which runs into corfu town daily. The old part of Corfu town is especially pretty and there is some good shopping here. I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone who is visiting this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We arrived at around 11pm having flown into Corfu with no real idea of what to do when we got there. The taxi driver knew Paleokastritsa and the Zefiros hotel well, not bad considering it’s a 30 minute drive away and really rather small.
As soon as we arrived Johnny stepped off of the veranda to greet us, took all of our bags and showed us to our rooms offering drinks or snacks as we went. When we said we really needed dinner he immediately rang 'Limoni,' just a short walk away and asked the owner not to close up.
On our first morning Iren rang to say that she was worried about one of our party staying on the top floor because one of the guys carrying our bags had noticed that the stairs had caused her a few problems. She offered us another room, on the lowest floor which had become available and was larger with interconnecting rooms. The gesture was incredibly sweet and very much appreciated.
During our stay we were treated like old friends, nothing was too much bother. On one occasion Iren drove our group to the Monastery to save us the walk up, very kind.
Having spent time in Italy this hotel reminded me very much of the small, authentic, family run hotels there, brick walls, high ceilings, gleaming paint work, rustic and very pretty.
I have avoided the Greek islands for years for fear of running into large stag/hen or package parties and ending up in the kind of hotels that resemble Butlins by the sea- all tattooed brits, karaoke, men drinking beer at breakfast- you know the places.
If new to Corfu be warned, they are around but Iren and Johnnys place remains blissfully detached from all such horrors and I didn’t hear any of the rumpus usually associated with that sort of clientele. Instead we were immersed in a sea of tranquility, sitting at breakfast among Architects from Vienna and a host of other well mannered, cultured and sober nationalities. The hotel offered an old school charm which is a rare find in todays world.
I loved it and would recommend it to anyone. My only observations would be, it can get a little warm in rooms without AC and the beds are rather firm but the charm and ambience of the place is second to none. 10/10

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We went to Corfu for a long weekend in the middle of May purely for a chilled out weekend with some hope of sunshine. This place (Paleokastritsa) was amazing. The views are breath taking and the beach is less than 1 minute away. We got to the hotel and Johnny got us straight to our room. Throughout our stay both him and his wife were really friendly and helpful at every occasion.

The hotel orginates from the 1930's but the decor is tastefully modern and our room (although on the smaller side) had a realy nice bathroom (much larger than normal) and a balcony. The breakfast is really nice and has variety so it should suit most people.

The local area is beautiful. We went during the off season time and it was very peaceful (no chavs in sight!!) The restaurants were just beginning to open we went where the locals went, namely 'Gran Aladino' (on the board walk on the beach front) - really nice family run place with a wide variety of tasty food at a reason price.

Basically this is a hidden gem and I hope to go back in a few years off season again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zefiros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zefiros Hotel

Address: Paleokastritsa, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zefiros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zefiros Hotel Corfu
Zefiros Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zefiros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.