We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, basic accomadation and great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paleo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paleo Inn to your Saves list
Paleo Inn
Paleokastritsa 49083, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, basic accomadation and great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Basically we needed a short, cheap, sun garanteed holiday and this was near enough perfect. The rooms are very basic, but considering all you do is sleep there its fine. The rooms are clean though and the hotel staff are all excellent - many, many people appear to go back time and time again. Spiros the evening bar manager is brilliant, kind, funny and helpful. Andreas the owner, who serves you breakfast every morning is also great. He is very helpful, always willing to accomadate your needs and clearly enjoys his job and is proud of his hotel.
One of the best things about the hotel is the location. Paleokastritsa is a great, quiet and beautiful place and of all the hotels along the strip there, the Paleo Inn is in the best location, right in the middle of the 4 beaches to chose from everyday. The nearest one is 300m away. They are all beautiful, clean, crystal clear places and aa combination of pebble and sand. Great for couples not really for children. My son would have struggled if he had been there as there is no room to play on the beach. Its all about the suntan and peace. It is even possible to hire a power boat and travel to the Pardise beaches 30 mins away for alomost complete solitude. We did and it was well worth the 90 euros it cost us for the 8 hours we had the boat including fuel, to travel to any beach and see the other bays.
Eating out is also easy and good. Many restaurants to choose from. Neireids is the best where the standard is very high both in presentation and quality. Approx £45 for a starter, main and one drink each. Nausike next door to the hotel is also very good and the staff there are great too. Barbq nights with them and other hotels are very good value. Spiro' s a 20 minute walk away is also very highly rated with some people eating there many times during their stay but their service let us down. Dolphin and Gyros Pitta were also good but Belveder although fine for me made other people ill the next day - the only complaint i heard about any restaurant by people in our hotel.
Lastly tyou must do the challengiing walk up to Lakones and the monastry. It is 1 hr up hill - take water and breaks - to the village where you turn left at the top and eat well deserved ice cream from Dolce which has some of the best views you will ever see. Having travelled the world and as a 35 yr old bloke it takes a lot to impress me but the views from here and a couple of hundred metre further along at The Golden Fox - one of the best pool/bars/hotels ever - are really good. It takes just over an hr to get there but then you can relax, eat and drink for as long as you like by the pool with the views of the sea, bays and mountains for as long as you like. It is another hr walk onto the monastry and obviously the same back. We spread this trip over the whole day and was well worth it. If you cant walk it, hire a taxi ( if there not on strike) as it will be one of the things you will always remember and talk about.
Brilliant trip. Go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
1
119
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our room was small and had twin beds only, it required the floor cleaning before we would settle in. The family that run the Paleo Inn were friendly enough, I guess to be fair we weren't aware when it was booked that it is only a 2 star establishment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Loved the Paleo Inn. Was small and very friendly, just as we'd expected. It was situated in an ideal spot for us. In a quieter area but still very close to a beach and many eating places. Our room on the second floor, which you need to be if you'd like air conditioning which comes at an additional cost, was small but clean and had a beautiful view from the balcony. We paid extra each day for more breakfast e.g.. eggs or cornflakes or Greek yogurt and honey. Used the swimming pool and surrounding area daily and made new friends easily with the other guests. We tried a different taverna each evening for our meal and enjoyed them all but our favourites were Spiros, Nereids, Belvedere and the Paleo Grill. We caught the bus (air conditoned coach) to Corfu Town one day which was straight forward and we liked exploring the old town there. Another day we climbed up the donkey trail to Lakones, the village above Paleokastritsa, and it was well worth it. The views are stunning and there are some good tavernas, bakery etc in the village. This was our first visit to Corfu but we will be returning and most probably back to the Paleo Inn. We thought Paleokastritsa was beautiful and the local people very friendly and welcoming. Our favourite thing about the Paleo Inn was the location and the least favourite was the rather cramped shower which unless you were very careful flooded the bathroom. The rooms were basic but were fine for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

There`is something about the Paleo Inn that makes you forgive things that would have you jumping up and down with frustration anywhere else.Things like no hot water at times and the aircon being fixed by the owner and a local at 11 pm Other reviewers have touched on the friendly atmosphere and good location and we can only agree `So.if you want fairly basic facilities and do not have mobility problems then we would recommend the Paleo Inn We will be back!
P.S. Pay a visit to the grill just beyond the scooter/car hire place

Room Tip: iOnly the second floor has air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Paleo Inn. We were in room 109 so arrived to find no air conditioning - bit gutted as the temperature was 31 degrees. We hired a fan from reception for 14 euros for the week which made it easier to sleep. Thomson should make it clear on their website that aircon is only availabale on 2nd floor and not continue to give the impression that it's available throughout the hotel. Room was clean but very basic bordering on the tatty. This didn't really take the edge off our holiday though as we really did have a wonderful week. All the staff at the hotel are friendly and efficient. The pool area is great, a real sun trap and is cleaned every day making it a lovely place to be. Bar snacks great quality and good value for money as were the drinks from the bar at night. The birds nesting around the hotel add charm and we enjoyed watching them feeding their chicks at breakfast time. The area is fabulous - not changed much since I last went in 1990!! Best food we found was at the Nausica Tavern just a few yards from the hotel. Excellent food every time we ate there and on average 2 courses plus wine, water and coffee for 2 people 40 (ish) euros. Nico and his staff were really friendly and keen to please. Can't recomment it highly enough. Nothing negative to say about the area or my holiday at all. If I were to make any suggestions it would be to add air con throughout the rooms and perhaps replace the beds and some of the furniture. However, I would stay there again tomorrow - I may just pack my own pillow though!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just got back from 10 days here. If you are looking for good basic clean place to stay, which has good location near quite a few restatutants, friendly staff ,walks nearby, no children, and a good pool then this is fine. Thomson Breakfsat is very basic ( tea/ coffee , toast , watery orange juice) so you need to pay more if you want more. Later in year you certainly would need the air con , but this is only in the rooms on 2nd floor, we did move from a very poor room on 1st floor. Not the place to go if you are allergic to cats!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor if you want air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at the paleo inn last august. I had read reviews prior to travelling and knew that the accom would be basic but all we wanted was a cheap and cheerful holiday. I wasnt quite prepared for just how basic it was though, that said it was at least clean. We were on the ground floor with no aircon which was sticky to say the least. The top floor rooms have aircon but were all full. Cheerful family run inn, a nice enough breakfast, pool area with a nice shady tree. Great fun at the bar, plenty of local banter. Overall good value for money, you get what you pay for. Resort of paleo is lovely, stunning views, good variety eating places with good standards. Very pretty beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paleo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paleo Inn

Address: Paleokastritsa 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paleo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paleo Hotel Paleokastritsa
Paleo Hotel Corfu
Paleo Inn Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paleo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.