We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual location but quite romantic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nereids Restaurant & Bar

Nereids Restaurant & Bar
21st Km EO Kerkyras Palaiokastritsa, Paleokastritsa 49083 , Greece
+302663041013
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $61
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: In 1985 Chef Aristeides Stravoravdis after having completed a long and successful carreer in international and Greek cousine - starting at Club Med in Corfu and continuing at Club Med in St Mortiz and many other high class hotels on the island- he decided to open a restaurant, a place where the locals and friends could enjoy good & honest Greek food. With passion and love for traditional cooking excellense and by setting high standards for quality and freshness of ingredients he spent 20 years on service offering the best Greek cuisine had to offer. Following her father's footsteps,Chef Maria A. Stravoravdi continues this family tradition of producing good food employing the same cooking techniques and using the same ingredients while adding her own modern touches. In the year of 2007 the efforts of more than two decades were rewarded by the Hellenic Organization for Standardization with an award for the Highest Quality of Service.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unusual location but quite romantic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is in a kind of dell by the roadside so although you are close to the road it feels very private. We had a table on the edge of the courtyard by a fish tank which kept the children amused and made the atmosphere quite romantic.
The service was good, certainly not quick but very friendly. Enjoyed the food, the portions were big and it was tasty. Everyone left happy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    69
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
penzance
2 reviews
“ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

lovey setting and service. love the rooster and the good greek food. it was our anniversary and we go to paleo twicea year. the place is special and always has that personal touch

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Couldn't fault this place in any way. We were made welcome on our arrival and looked after throughout our stay.
We chose the set menu and the food was delicious and extremely good value.
Would recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Touristy...but no criticism..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Set 3-course Menus every night give this place a bit of a touristy feel but the food was fine, and the setting really pleasant. Can't imagine it in high-season, but recommended nonetheless. Not so cheap....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We only ate once at Nereids when we visited in June and due to the poor service we received, we didn't visit again when we returned in September. Having to wait 45 minutes between finishing your starter and getting your main course is unacceptable, especially when the restaurant wasn't even very busy at the time. Add to that two botched drinks orders and another half hour wait to get the bill. The service has never been as bad as that in previous years, but they cut the number of waiters, but kept the number of tables. I personally don't like spending three hours to have a meal, but if you do, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MStrav, Manager at Nereids Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Mickey,

we are sorry to have let you down with our service.
We do want thank you for your time to provide us
with very useful feedback for future development of
our services.

We are hoping that we will see you again in the near future.

Regards,

On behalf of Nereids Restaurant & Bar,
Thomas Ziniatis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nereids Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paleokastritsa, Corfu
Paleokastritsa, Corfu
 
Paleokastritsa, Corfu
 

Been to Nereids Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nereids Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.