We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, peaceful, beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nikiana | Lefkada, Nikiana 31100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nikiana
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, peaceful, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel offered exactly what I was looking for, quiet time and plenty of relaxation in beautiful surroundings. The standard rooms are average but comfy and lots of the rooms will get at least some of the magnificent view of the sea and the mainland mountains. I was lucky to stay all the way down in the last building by the sea, which was quiet with only a few other rooms. The pool areas and the beach were well taken care of, offering plenty of room for everyone.

The only downfall would be the distance to Nidri (approx 5 km, 3 miles). There are buses from Lefkada to Nidri that operate somewhat irregularly during the day. But you might want to rent a car for your stay anyway, there's much to see around the island and a car is really the best way to get the full experience.

I was travelling solo but it seemed like the hotel was a great destination for couples and families as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
114
87
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larissa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

TIME: Easter time (3-6 May 2013) 3 nights
ROOMS: 3 families - 12 persons- 3 suites "andromeda" no.118-119-120 with 2 rooms each one, big balcony, excellent view!! the most amazing thing-the hit point- of our accomodation!!! wonderful gardens, well-keeped pools, bars, beach with sun-umbrellas, rocky, but lovely and quiet, absolutely picturesque..
PERSONNEL: nothing wrong, friendly staff, warm waiters, helpful reception desk, girls with a big smile, quick check-in or check-out
SPA: only for a few hours 10.00 to 13.00 free access to the heated pool- after there was an extra charge- the heated pool was cold in our visit , due to technical reasons, as we were told..
BREAKFAST:very good breakfast, great selection, fresh, quality products - even traditional greek deserts fron Chios island! -fresh orange juice! nice way to start your day...
DINNER: good enough, it could be upgraded,tasty food, but not great variety or big selection.
The mid-night dinner after the church on Saturday night was fantastic. By the pool, in a big rotonda table, well decorated, nice, tasty food.
The Easter lunch on Sunday noon was a big disappointment!!! Although we had made a reservation for 12 persons at 15.00, when we arrived nothing had been reserved!! We found a table with a waiter's help and we tried to be served by ourselves. No spoons, no napkins, no food or deserts at the trays in the buffet. Everything seemed to be random and unprepared. The waiters were tired. It was just 15.00 and the buffet would close at 16.30, but it was empty with a few left-overs, inappropriate for a celebrating easter lunch!!!!
PRICE: overpriced-I think- 200 euros/per night on H/B basis for a suite is expensive enough- this is a price for an 'all-inclusive' accomodation

Room Tip: rooms with great view in the "andromeda'' suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great hotel with fantastic facilities and whilst large enough to deliver quality - it still maintains a family owned feel.

The relaxed and warm atmosphere gave us a great two weeks, relaxing from the day of arrival.

I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys quality at an affordable price!

Room Tip: All good - watch the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We arrived a day late after dreadful airline delays to this delightful hotel. We were upgraded to one of the new suites as we were delayed and the hotel was empty due to the time of year being the end of the season. The room was superb with everything new. The view was stunning from the sea view balcony. The reception staff were helpful and polite as was the pool barman. The restaurant was nice for buffet breakfast but a little disappointing for supper (a la carte) The pools are amazing, hotel and grounds are spotless and the tennis courts were great. The beach is small and stoney (no sand at all) but using rubber shoes that's not a problem. Its so private, it feels really exclusive. the bar terrace view in the evening was spectacular. It is a little distance from the any outside buzz but the town of Nidri is a 5 minute drive (you can rent a car for 30 Euros a day) or we walked it in about 20 miniutes although be careful on the road, it can be dangerous. A taxi will get you there safely and Nidri has a great nightlife. We visited in late Septemeber just before everything closes for the winter months but it was still lovely albeit very quiet. We met many couples who come back year after year. Would we go back, yes, we will, we loved it.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms in the newly built part, they are lovely and all have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

OK - I could say it all again - but just look at the other reviews - Tracey W, Eleni E and all the rest, and there you have it. the place is amazing, the pools, the private beach, the rooms, the breakfast - you name it, it's good! we had a superior room - I strongly recommend it. it was spacious, clean, comfortable. they have tea and coffee making facilities.
The staff was very very friendly and helpful with information, including great recommendations regarding restaurants. it was a fantastic stay.
we were scheduled to be there for 2 nights, and added another night - we hated to leave the place........so - go there and have a superb holiday.

Room Tip: if you are sensitive to morning light, take a sllep-mask. they do not have blackout curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a week in September 2012, and had a lovely time.
The spacious room kept spotless by the very helpful housekeeping ladies. Really good food, we had bed and breakfast, but ate in the hotel most nights as the food was so good. The chef gave me the recipe for the delicious beetroot salad. We had treatments in the spa and the ladies really looked after us. The best pedicure I have ever had!
All the staff are fantastic and really friendly and Pavlos in the bar makes a mean cocktail!!
Will be going again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for a week in August 2012. We chose the brand new wing of rooms which had exceptional finishes and was very comfortable. We had a view of the water that was just breathtaking. The rooms were quite comfortable however it would be nice if they would add screens on the huge glass doors as there are quite a few bugs in Lefkada and I personally would rather sleep with fresh air rather than air conditioning. Also it would be nice to have some blackout shades, particularly helpful when you are travelling with a toddler..... Otherwise the rooms are super clean and stunning within the new wing, can't speak for the older rooms of the hotel.

The resort itself is considered one of the best on the entire island, if not the best. The staff is extremely friendly and very kind. We feel like we made so many friends and hated to leave that place. The pools are fantastic and they have a wonderful kids club, fitness area and amazing spa. Also the dining area was very clean and accomodating and the food was fabulous. They have a private beach and there are various water sports rentals available including small boats to motor you around.

Also the island of lefkada has lots of wasps so be careful, they are everywhere you go.

Room Tip: One thing to keep in mind is that there are many stairs to get to the beach from the hotel as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa

Address: Nikiana | Lefkada, Nikiana 31100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nikiana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nikiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Galini Seaside Resort And Spa
Porto Galini Seaside Hotel Nikiana
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa Lefkada, Ionian Islands - Nikiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.