We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermes Apartments to your Saves list
Hermes Apartments
Kolios 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Once again what I can I say about this place - absolutely brilliant for a lovely relaxing holiday - just got back and we miss it already!

The apartments are simple, basic but nice and clean. Cleaners come every day apart from Sundays to sort the rooms out. and if there is something you need you only have to ask and the staff will do their best to get it. One of our bulbs blew in the room and this was replaced in minutes! Air conditioning is now chargeable and it was certainly required this time round with night time temperatures rarely going below 30 degrees.

The Hermes is situated at bus stop 13 - so bang in the middle of the Island and a bus trip only costs 1Euro60. In the evening it can be hard to get on the bus due to everyone heading from the beaches into town.We found that the water taxi was a much better way to get to town when this occurred from Nostos (Tzaneri?) Beach for 3 euros per person.

The staff at the Hermes are brilliant and work so hard especially George and Ioanna behind the bar. Vladimir and Vlatko in the kitchens probably produce the best food on the island. We found ourselves eating with Billie Piper, Laurence Fox and family one night - they certainly know where to eat - just wish I got my photo with her(!) A must to try is the Cheesy garlic bread, Feta in the oven, Tuna Dip, Village Meat and the Chocolate soufflé. Chrissa the owner is lovely and really looks after all her guests, nothing is too much for her and she always checks to ensure we are enjoying ourselves and to find out what we had been up to that day.

There is free wifi at the bar/pool area - and thankfully we were one of a few rooms who were close enough to the pool to get it!

We're already looking at prices for next year. If we don't do next year we'll certainly be there for 2016!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor. The views over the bay are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    76
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Things didn't start well as when we arrived our room wasn't ready. This meant waiting in the bar for 2 hours after a very long journey. When we finally got in, the studio was very clean, if a little tired and in need of an update. Our only other niggle was despite asking for an additional pillow, it never appeared.
Apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing and restful week at the Hermes. George and Joanna ran the bar and restaurant in a friendly and efficient manner, nothing was too much trouble and they were always happy to chat and offer advise on enjoying Skiathos. We enjoyed a few trips into Skiathos utilising the bus, water taxi and taxi to make the 15 minute journey. It was well worth exploring especially the old part of the town. We would definitely return to and recommend the Hermes to others. All in all a very relaxing week in lovely surroundings on a beautiful island.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Booked this place late for a family holiday in August. To start it is a really quick and easy transfer from the airport (around 15 mins). On arrival we were checked and helped by the friendly helpful staff and shown to our appartment/room. Room was small functional and very clean, wall kitchen with plates cutlery etc all available.
2 rooms one a dedicated bedroom the other double as living room and bedroom. Bathroom small but shower powerful and good level of hot water even at peak times. Pool and taverna attached to hotel where great food was really nice and service excellent. Supermarket right outside as well.
3 beaches within 5-10 min walk, bus stop 13 right outside also for easy links into the excellant skiathos town and beaches further afield, however the buses get very busy so some may not stop for first time, aways found a taxi though, fares ranged from 8 to 11 euros.All in all excellent for families and couples. I would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: None really fairly busy road one side and may experience some mild noise pool/taverna the ther but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Hermes Apartment for a week, and we enjoyed every single minute. The island is stunning, with lots of beautiful beaches and scenery.
The Hermes Apartments are very well looked after and maintained, and the grounds of the hotel are kept spotless.

We had a studio apartment for 2, and the kitchenette had everything I required, a toaster, kettle and 2 hobs. We rarely ate in for the evenings as there are so many lovely tavernas around the island.
The hotel itself has a lovely taverna overlooking the pool and some dramatic scenery towards mainland Greece. You also have access to free Wifi by the pool. The staff are very friendly and attentive, with the bar and restaurant stocking a wide range of items.

As mentioned the site is very well cared for, our room was cleaned daily, swept and bathroom disinfected, bar Sunday, and the sheets changed every 2 days. Towels also provided and changed every 2 days.

The apartments are well situated, being only a 10 minute bus ride to the town, costing 1.60 Euro each way, the bus top is at the bottom of the hill, which isn't really a problem to walk up and down. The is a supermarket on site as well, which stocks all essential items.

Skiathos does get a lot of mosquitos, so do take repellent with you, particularly for the hot evenings. The shop also sell citronella candles which are a nice touch for evenings on the balcony.

Many reviews have cited wasps being a problem here, I did not find this at all, with only once or twice seeing one in the evenings.

All in all a fantastic holiday, and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

we booked this last minute, and we're not disappointed. although there is road noise, as we were in the front, but close the doors and all ok. you do get noise travel through the building if other people are being inconsiderate.
The apartment was clean, well laid out, kitchenette had plenty of items, kettle, toaster, pans etc and good crockery, fridge/freezer. the shower room was excellent. room safe, air con extra if you need it.
The pool was a good size and the area was clean, right next to bar/restaurant. plenty of shade, not many sunbeds though. The down side was that by 8am (pool opens at 9) all the beds towelled up! even though some people didn't turn up till later, or they left them down when they went off for lunch. And people moan about the Germans!
The supermarket was right at the front of Hermes, usually goods, they also except debit cards, but there is an ATM outside.
Bus stop 13 near, other side of road to Skiathos Town (1.6 euro) . Essential TIP, don't wait till 7pm to try and catch bus, is gets packed with people returning from beach to town and if its too packed it won't stop. We went in about 5pm, found a taverna for while, before gently strolling around.
Three beaches near by, 20 mins walk each approx. Kolios is better for snorkelling (follow sign to Vromilominos, then turn right on dirt track).
We only there once, but the food & price was good. other places to eat. head to bus stop 12, turn right, follow road. three along there, best at Knapista Beach. Or turn right to bus stop 16 further into Kolios as there are several there. (see other reviews)
The cases come separate, rep told us 45-60 minutes after us, but it was only 20. We new before hand, so removed towels, swimwear n sun cream, so could have a swim straight away.
hope this helps. we only stayed a week, as it was last minute, but what a gem to find for the price, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Front/ higher level has limited sea view, balcony has only shade in early morning or late evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent 2 weeks here in July and we didn't want to leave. The staff are so friendly and warm at the Hermes. The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. It definitely has a 'woman's touch' !! Chrissa is the most hands on owner I have ever met. Working behind the bar, in the shop, making sure everybody is OK. She, and all the staff, made us feel very welcome.

The studio for 3 was well equipped .. large fridge freezer, an oven, and all the basic utensils that you would need. There is a hair dryer and safe. Large wardrobe. No TV or bath. But you don't need TV on holiday! Air conditioning is 4 euros per day so make sure you allow for this in your budget as you will need it in July and August!

Maids came every day except Sunday, bins emptied and floor cleaned every time, but bed linen and towels changed every other day. That is my only small criticism ... when you have been on a beach all day, it is nice to have clean towels.

There is a supermarket on the premises and the staff are extremely helpful. It had a large range of products, and was reasonably priced. They even deliver to your room if you struggle with heavy bags walking up the steep hill. (The hill does get easier by the end of your holiday!!) They literally fall over themselves to help you and make your holiday perfect if they can. They didn't sell fresh pineapples, but when I enquired, they ordered me one in especially, it was there 3 hours later. They are also a mine of information, advising you about the beaches, buses, general helpful tips.

The pool was warm and clean. The restaurant was amazing. This is right next to the pool and the view is breath taking as the sun sets. The food really is divine. The menu has something for everyone. On Sundays they have an all you can eat barbecue, with live Greek music & dancing, and everybody joins in. If you are lucky you will see the chef come out and dance with a glass balanced on his head .. very impressive!! The staff seem to genuinely love working there and the atmosphere is of one big happy family.

There is another bar, the Vanilla bar, which has an outside seating area, on the roof of the supermarket, which overlooks the main road, and has a pool table inside. This is free to play. Sports channels are on the indoor and outdoor TV. It even has a small library of books for you to help yourself to.

Buses run every 15 minutes all day from the stop just a few yards up the road. Doesn't matter where you go, the fare is always 1.60 Euro. Whether it be 1 stop or 10. There are 26 stops, starting near the airport, and finishing at Koukounaries Beach. The Hermes is in the middle. Bus stop 13. It's just one big long road through the center of the island, with loads of little beaches along the way. If you want a lively larger beach, with finer sand, go to Koukanaries beach, No 26. Banana Beach is also at the same bus stop, although there is a VERY steep hill to climb to reach this! (and there is a small nudist beach there too ). They both have a beach bar, shops, restaurants and water sports, with chilled music coming from large speakers, but this is not over powering. The beach is dotted with trees so you can even lay in the shade. really does have a Caribbean feel to it. The water is crystal clear everywhere is Skiathos.

Kolios beach is right opposite the Hermes, and takes 3 or 4 minutes to walk there. This is much smaller, and very peaceful. Stunning scenery, although the sand is a lot courser, and there are no refreshment facilities, so take lots of drinks.

Transfer from the airport takes 15 minutes. The runway is the shortest in Europe, so the landing is interesting! If you get time, get the bus back down to Skiathos Town and walk along the marina, and watch the planes landing. It's awesome. They literally fly 10 feet above you!! They have lovely shops in the town. It's small but unique. Not over commercialised or tacky. Walk behind the theatre and you'll find a gem of a spot down the steps behind the restaurant. It has a wooden diving board and steps built into the rocks. Just beautiful.

I have been to bigger hotels in the past, with the flashy extras but none of them can compare to the personal touch you get from the staff here. I will definitely be returning. They genuinely care. Nothing is too much trouble. The island is beautiful. I cannot wait to go back.

Thankyou to everyone at the Hermes for making our holiday so perfect. We'll be back soon!

Diane, Jade & Owen

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is our second time to these apartments, lovely run resort, 10 minutes walk from a lovely quiet beach. Right near bus stop 13 and mini supermarket, has all the facilities you need with its fully equiped self catering apartment. Air con available at a small price but well worth it.

There is a bar, restaurant - which every meal was delicious and a lovely pool area which was kept clean and tidy.

Excellent 15 minutes ride from the airport.

Room Tip: Apartments are near the pool and bar so if you are a light sleeper you may hear the music but to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Apartments

Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Apartments Kolios
Hermes Apartments Hotel Kolios
Hermes Apartments Skiathos/Kolios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.