We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday at the Hermes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermes Apartments to your Saves list
Hermes Apartments
Kolios 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Wigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday at the Hermes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our fifth visit to the island, usually staying in the Troulos area, but enjoyed the change of location and the local beaches, Kolios beach being our favorite, as it was calm and clean, sunbeds and a brolly 8 euros and a basic but acceptable taverna, serving a small selection of hot food and sandwiches.
Hermes would have got the five stars had it not been for the slight problem when we arrived, we were shown to a room which hadn't been cleaned and still had shoes and toiletries belonging to the previous guests. I had e-mailed and requested a view, which this room (304) did have, but we then had to move to a ground floor room which they were very apologetic for, saying it was a mistake by the cleaners not preparing the original room. They offered to change us the following day, so it just meant a bit of inconvenience not being able to unpack and get settled straight away.We are pretty layed back so just accepted it was a genuine mistake and didn't let it spoil the start to our holiday and it was worth changing for the view of the sea and the hills and the sun going down.
Hermes provides a good location with an excellent restaurant, good value for money and staff were attentive and service good. The hairdryer never worked as the socket was hanging off the wall, but I had taken my own and just plugged it in to another socket and we gave up on the safe and just locked things in our case.Air conditioning good and free.
Hired a Jeep whilst we were there and visited the dog shelter many times to walk the dogs and burn off some calories! Loved Elani Beach and Big Banana and visited Kastro again which is very interesting, if a little rugged (take decent walking shoes, not flip flops).
Favorite place to eat is Lynhari which is behind the school, you do need to book as it is so popular. Also liked Stathis Lia which is a five minute walk down the road on the left from the Hermes, fish was fabulous and at 13 euros a bargain, service was very chilled but we were not in a rush and enjoyed the break in-between courses. Infinity Blue as good as ever and Harry from Troulos Hotel is now working there to our surprise, as he has been at the Troulos Bay Hotel forever!
Word of warning - Rock and Roll Bar in town charge 10 e for a small bottle of Mythos, justifying by saying you get one free! Cocktails start at 14 e and shorts 12 e. Lots of other nice places to drink without paying over the odds. Albatross on the main street worth a visit and Portabello still good value.
If you decide to hire a Jeep before you go, just be aware that George Rent a Car (behind the school) says on the website 'insurance included' so what seems like a cheap deal isn't, if you decide like us to upgrade to fully comp insurance at an extra 8 e a day, there was also a 650e excess which made for nervous driving. With hindsight I should have checked when I e-mailed him for the details if it was fully comp and what the excess was, lesson learned. Another couple at the Hermes got one through the Thompson rep and had no excess and fully comp and actually got a better price. George rent a car took our credit card swipe and signature, saying it was for the insurance but they didn't give us any paperwork saying we had paid for fully comp insurance, so am a bit dubious as to how they processed this.
Will be returning again next year, as this is a beautiful island with lovely people and although we have traveled to other European destinations, we always get drawn back to Skiathos. Would go back to the Hermes to eat, but found the beds very hard on the back. Room cleanliness was great though and we had three changes of bedding and towels in our 10 day trip, so no problem with that. Good value for money and good location earned it four stars.

Room Tip: 304 has a view of the sea and is on the second floor, so not too many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    76
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Spent a week at the Hermes, two adults and 4 teenagers in three twin rooms, and all had a great time. Hermes is very well located for local beaches, the main bus route and access to Skiathos town. Rooms are a reasonable size, clean and quiet. The bar and restaurant are very friendly and good value, and the pool area was never too crowded. The only gripe would be that the management goes missing; we found the same problem with bed slats as another post, but we sorted it out ourselves when the manager didn't respond, and the room safes were locked, but they did resolve that quickly.
Overall though, I'd recommend the Hermes as a good value base for a family holiday away from the main centres

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just got back from Skiathos and stayed at the Hermes yet again ( fourth time). The apartments are simple but clean and if there is something you need you only have to ask and the staff will do their best to get it. With free air con and safety box in each appartment we thought this was excellent value as in other places we have paid as much as 100 euro's just for air con. We hired some quads and bikes through Crissa at the Hermes, this worked out much better value than directly through the hire companies.The Hermes is right in the centre of the 26 bus stops and bus fare will only cost 1 euro sixty at the most. There are certain times when it is hard to get on the bus but we just worked our day around it. The staff are brilliant especially Denize, spot and old George. We, as always, have to give our compliments to the chef's, Danny and the other one!! the food is fantastic and you will be hard pushed to find garlic bread any better any where in the world (no lie). The traditional greek dishes are a must if you like greek food. The beaches are great too, from the Hermes you are within walking distance of at least 5 beaches. 8 euro for two beds and a brolly. on Agia Parasveki beach (bus stop 16) you also get two free drinks and cushioned beds. My husband went diving again with the dolphin diving centre ( behind bus stop 12). The dives were very good value for money along with very friendly staff who he now considers friends. The supermarkets are exspensive all over the island so it is probably cheaper to eat in one of the many restaurants. Drinks in most places were expensive costsing between 3 and 4 euro for a beer and a short drink as much as 7 euro's. The house wine was reasonable and we didn't have one bad while we were there however the cocktails were way too high some as high as 10 euro the average being 7 euro. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would reccommend the Hermes and Skiathos to evryone and we will definaltley be back.xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We all search for different things on a holiday!
Here's what we wanted from ours:
2 weeks for 2 adults and 3 children, in a non touristy spot, close to beaches and typical Greek Island attractions (port, restaurants, old town and shops)
What we got:
All of the above and more.
LOCATION
Up in the hillside away from the tourists, close to the road, but you dont hear it at all on a night.
26 bus stops on the island that run from Skiathos town to Koukanaries beach at the end. Hermes is at bus stop 13, slap bang in the middle and only 10-15 mins from either end.
Didn't need a hire car as the buses run often and there is a water taxi at bus stop 12 that takes you to the town too. Taxis run by and charge between 8 and 10 euro. IDEAL!
(DO avoid travel to town from 5pm as the buses and the water taxis are PACKED with people leaving the beaches - hard to get a taxi too!!)
ACCOMMODATION
First thing you see is a Supermarket on the road (handy), then there's a steep hill to rooms (we like a bit of exercise to counteract holiday eating). The rooms are cool, (air con works when you insert the fob from your key into the slot on inside of room), very, very clean, basic, but with all we needed. Plenty of storage, places to put cases, twin beds (quite comfy but I'd imagine quite small if your'e tall) and sofa bed which is fine for a child. Kitchen with fridge, sink, microwave/oven (I think - didn't use it) enough crockery and cutlery and more if you needed it. (Silly note, but if you like a BIG cuppa on a morning, buy some from the supermarket as our room only had little teacups)
Shower room, which easily floods as its basic but not a problem.
POOL
Good sized pool, plenty of room, small shallow end which slopes quickly to a deep end (3m), great baby pool, plenty of sunbeds and space.
RESTAURANT/BAR
This is NOT just a run of the mill snack bar. The food is absolutely brilliant! We have never eaten in a restaurant attached to our accommodation before but did so several times because of the very high standard of food. Compares and exceeds other restaurants we ate at on the Island. A wide variety of greek food and good portions. Favourite food: The homemade pizzas, garlic bread especially the one stuffed with cheese, beef stifado, lamb kleftiko and the specials board which is changed daily. It's so good you often need to book and people from outside the Hemes eat here too!
(Other recommendations, Infinity Blue, 10 mins walk away, stunning views, great service, slightly pricey but worth it. Selini in the Old town, over looking the harbour, traditional, quaint and again with great views)
The bar was well stocked and served again in good measures!!
Prices are all relative with the rest of the island and the atmosphere is lovely, a range of music and lots of candles and lanterns on an evening.
THE STAFF
What do you want from staff? Someone who just does their job and leaves you in peace? Or someone who is happy to chat, be friendly, kind, give you a good laugh and become your new holiday friend? Well the staff here will do either! Not in your faces, but there if you need them for whatever you're looking for. Lovely people along with the wonderful Spot the dog who makes rare appearances and is great with the kids. They loved him.
FINALLY
I can't fault The Hermes really, you can always nit pick, but this is your holiday, you're there to chill not look for for reasons to make it less enjoyable. This is Greece where things are more rustic and authentic. Skiathos is a stunning place, we loved fishing in the harbour, watching the big yachts come in, hearing and seeing the buzz of what celebrities are there and have been there (they love this place for good reason), the wide range of beaches (which you should explore yourselves as we all like different types), the old town, the lively nights, the friendlyness and the way you felt safe and somewhere really special.
We dont go back to places more than once in general, but I would recommend this place highly to anyone wanting a holiday as we like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from the Hermes yesterday, so if you are going this summer I hope to give a helpful review of the apartments and a few tips.

Flew from Manchester with Thompson and it was all easy and painless both ways. Transfer is a doddle, about ten minutes from airport.

We were disappointed with Thompson as we had booked a first floor room after reading reviews and we actually asked in the shop three times to make sure it was so, however we were given a ground floor room on arrival and told by the owner that it is only a request and she could not fulfill it. This is wrong on their part and they should not say you have this if you don't. So we did feel a bit let down when we saw the view from our room, which others have described as wasteland. However, we got over it and it was private and we were able to jump over the railings and pick grapes :)

People have complained about the size and hardness of the beds. They are small doubles. If you are on honeymoon or looking for a bit of a cuddle then you could be disappointed. You can push them together, but the frame stops it being seamless. I didn't think they were uncomfortable, used to a hard bed!

There were no problems at all with the air-con. It was not noisy at all, it needs a little while to get the room really chilled, but that is normal. For those who complain about having to use blankets at night, that is also normal with air-con! A little tip, if you detach your key from the fob you don't have to go without electricity and you can have a cool room while you are out.

There are mozzies, plenty of them, but if you use a good repellant, such as Jungle Formula, which you can get for a fiver in Home Bargains, and put it on properly and often you should not get bitten too much. You will never avoid them totally. Same for the wasps, how people can complain about nature as if it is the hotel's fault is laughable.

We had no problems with noise, it was very quiet. The pool area is lovely, with huge umbrellas for shade and we could not believe that in August we could easily get a sunbed and on our last day we were on our own in the pool. Most people go to the beach it seems, of which there are three within easy walking distance. We ate at the Hermes most of the time, the food was always good and the wine and cold beer were great. The staff cannot be faulted, they are friendly and very welcoming. The bar and restaurant are run with what appears to be an effortless ease by a lovely team and we enjoyed the music that is played all day by the pool.

The shop is very expensive! I would have bought the local honey, but at seven euros it seemed silly, the same for the greek yoghurt, which I would have bought, but couldn't make myself pay over four euros for when you can get it here for a pound. The house dry white that they serve in the bar is really nice and costs about four euros in the shop and comes hang-over free :)

The biggest problem we had was transport. The bus service is good, if you can get on it! We only managed this twice, hence eating at the Hermes. The bus stops can have thirty or so people at them and the buses sail past rammed full. It is very difficult to get a bus in the evening, you need to go out early and come home before ten it seems. We also could not get on the water taxi in the evening, then tried the bus, then tried taxis, which all sailed past. Be aware of this because you could get stranded in town. We did manage to get the water taxi late morning on our last day and it is well worth doing, the bus back was empty when we got on it as we were first at the stop, but it was full to the rafters by the time it left. We would hire a car next time, if there are more than four of you, it will probably pay for itself anyway and you can go where you like when you like.

We only stayed a week so spent most of the time relaxing, but we did go into Skiathos, which is worth doing and if you can manage it then walking up to the Windmill restaurant gives breathtaking views. I have to say though, I would not want to walk back down from there in the dark after a couple of glasses of wine!

If you are used to luxury and four and five star hotels with all amenities then this may not be the place for you, but if you accept that the rooms are basic, but comfortable and like small, friendly places then you will enjoy the Hermes. We payed just over £500 each for a week and came back with money. We found eating out reasonable, much cheaper than the UK although others didn't agree, but then it depends were you go out to eat here! Main courses ranged from six to twelve euros, the most expensive being the fish.

I think you would be hard pushed to get such a cheap holiday in August that is not over-run with noisy guests and where you have to fight for a lounger next to the pool. A lot of people return here and whilst I can see why, to me the world is a big place and there are lots of places to go, so I won't be one of the ones who go here year after year, but I can see why they love Skiathos, it is a beautiful and stunning island and nothing is too much trouble for the Greek people who make the holiday. It is a refreshing change not to be hassled on the streets and there was no McDonald's in sight!

Room Tip: Don't bother to ask Thompson for a specific room, they will tell you its available but that isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We (a family of 3 staying in a studio) arrived back from a weeks stay at the Hermes on the 27th July and this was our experience: Arrival - greeted with a smile and told our accommodation was ready and the key was in the door, cool we thought. We walked into our room but unfortunately it wasn't ready, no probs we agreed, we'll leave our luggage there and grab a drink. We arrived back an hour later and the room was ready, or so we thought...here we go...My bed only had 4 slats underneath it, 2 at the top and 2 at the bottom and nothing in the middle. I didn't realise this until i laid on it and ended up sinking to the floor, the free safe was locked and although the 15 year old kid at reception tried his best to open it; he couldn't and nor could anyone else, therefore no free safe for the duration of our stay!. The sheets and towels in the studio were only changed once during our stay, and they were heavily stained and past their best, not 3 star standard. The free air conditioning was much appreciated but very noisy, don't expect a good nights sleep...you could take your key fob out and turn the air con off, but you lose the lights etc and its hot! so i suggest you leave it on. The kitchen area was stinking, very few utensils and cups etc dried tomatoe sauce and other crap on the cupboards and in the fridge, squished mozzies on the walls, loose electical sockets, rusty shower head etc...again not expected from 3 star apparently newly refurbished accommodation. Ok negatives over, here's the positives: the hotel grounds were kept nice and clean and the swimming pool was the warmest i've ever swam in, really great!!. The apartments are ideally situated and had 2 great beaches within walking distance. The food at the Hermes was absolutely fantastic (thanks Danny); and Denize and George ran the restaurant and bar with energy, professionalism and a great big smile. Outside of our room I would give the Hermes a four star rating, but come on guys, I have worked hard to give you my money...sort your accommodation out and you will have a lot more people re-visiting the Hermes - us included :)

Room Tip: Check the bed for slats!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Skiathos was a beautiful place - the Hermes apartments were very good value for money - the taverna and pool bar were excellent and George and Denise very friendly and hospitable .
I would recommend this holiday to anyone wanting to get away from it all and relax.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the floor near to reception as it was quiet and no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Apartments

Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Apartments Kolios
Hermes Apartments Hotel Kolios
Hermes Apartments Skiathos/Kolios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.