We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demetris Hotels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Demetris Hotels
Kolios, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Kolios
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we have recently returned from 2 wonderful weeks at the demitris and we cannot say enough to praise the accomadation. we stayed in apartment 10 and we loved it. the room was comfy,clean,well equipped and the views were beautiful. negative reviews that i have read are nonsense. the room was cleaned every other day and the bins were emptied every day. barbara the owner was really sweet and very helpful even though she spoke little english,but her daughters were there every day and also very pleasant. the pool was lovely and very very clean and very quiet,if you feel you need a busier pool the xanthi bar is 2 minutes walk and billy and martina the owners are so welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottm
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks in Demetris Studio in Kolios after getting a superb deal and we thought it was excellent.

Accommodation - The room was large enough for 2 single beds side by side with plenty of room round the edges, there was a galley kitchen and a good sized wet room with shower (showerhead a bit iffy but okay). It was basic but it was far better than other Greek accommodation we have had in the past. The old block nearest the pool ground floor had sea view obscured but it did have access to the front lawn. The kitchen was equipped with kettle pots and pans and a sandwich toaster that could do very nice toast, the rings heated things up v quickly.

Owners – The old lady and her daughter were more than helpful, and we got a smile and a ‘good morning’ nearly everyday we replied with ‘kali mera’.

Cleaning – in the two weeks we were deep cleaned (beds changed) twice (mopped etc) and towels changed 4 times, we also had our bins changed daily not Sundays though, both toilet and kitchen. There were brushes and mops available for everyone to use outside at the back.

Ants – there were ants! Wow big deal! If you brushed all the crumbs up, and wiped all surfaces and kept them clean then they went away (I must add ants not in the apartment itself only on the terrace).

The Hill – The hill was not much of a problem, from the main gate we managed 12 bottles of water and 2 bags of shopping up it, if you are staying next door at Margi House now that IS A HILL!. From the main road to the apartment there is a slight hill and would be best avoided for people with walking difficulties or who are unfit.

The Pool – as mentioned before by other reviewers it was pebble dashed and salt water and so was not the bright blue that everyone expects, it was very clean and well maintained as was proved on our last full day when the filter didn’t work at about 5pm and the repair man was there next day at 7:30am to sort it.

Peace and Quiet – Like many reviewers have said all you can hear is the crickets, cockerels and mother nature, although a lot of the tranquility will depend on the other guests staying at the same time, as we found our first week most of the people had booked it for the reasons we had (peace and quiet). A sun lounger could be found every day as most people were out and about and it was whisper quiet, our second week an entirely different crowd filled the place that were more suited to a place with a pool bar & music, a few of the guests were rather loud and talked at full volume even late at night.

To summarise if you are looking for a cheap package holiday that is well maintained, exceptionally clean and very quiet (depending on your fellow holidaymakers), I would thoroughly recommend Demetris Studios Kolios

Room Tip: Ask for the old block away from the pool from Olympic before you go as no one walks by and you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Read previous positive reviews and booked a place with my fiancé. Unfortunately this place left me in tears and it was not what I would ever want anyone to go through again. From the start to the end of this holiday everything you would not want up happen to you while on holiday happened to us. Delayed flights, getting on the coach for the trip to the studios, having to walk uphill to reach the studios after 1onutes in 40 degrees Celsius, unfriendly staff, not the welcoming Greeks we expected, dirty pool area, dirty smelly towels and bed sheets that were never changed and the list can go on and on and on... Don't go, stay at home better

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's a bit of a walk from the main road and its a little hilly, but its worth it. With the amount of food I ate in Skiathos, I needed a good workout! We stayed in Room 4, on the ground floor. From our patio area, you can see a glimpse of the sea, with a well kept garden. The pool area is gorgeous. Very serene. Unfortunately the pool is only open from 10-7, so no late night dips to cool off.
The room itself was clean, but unfortunately no air con. We paid €3 a day for a fan. Some rooms do have air con which is priced at €6 a day. This seems to be the norm over there. If you need a double bed, make sure to request it when booking, as I dont think many rooms have them. The room was cleaned twice in our one weeks stay. We always had hot water, but the shower itself was a little too close to the wall. Being 5foot tall, I found it difficult to take the shower head down.
My only gripe was that although the room was cleaned twice a week, they didnt supply us with any toilet paper. To save us buying some, we made sure to stock up from various different restaurants...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

What can I say our absolute solace. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool, rooms that are kept immaculately clean by the mother & her two daughters.

10 mins walk to the beach and an excellent bus service every 20 mins from one end of the island to the other.

If you want a quiet chill out holiday this is the place to stay, but very close to louder watering holes & restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 to 10 are on a higher level with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was my third time in the island and first at Demetris. Spent one week here and can't complain about anything, the studios are really good and clean.

The only thing that spoils a bit is that it is a bit too quiet, seriously, you can't event talk while you are at the pool, no one ever says a thing around you! Also, there is no one to welcome you apart from the Olympic reps that you meet at the airport, they drop you off, show your room and that's it, you are pretty much done. When you "check-out", just leave your keys at the door...

The studios are well located, near the beach and supermarkets/tavernas, there is also Xanthi studios and Theodora studios nearby, they both have pool bars that you can use... It helped a lot as the pool at Demetris was dead quiet!!

Would stay again if needed, but next time somewhere definetely with a pool bar!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Exceptionally clean studios with everything u need and lovely views especially from studio block.
I would really recommend these studios for peace and quiet. Nothing bad to say about them.
Good location away from main road 5 mins (if that) walk from bus stop no 15 - where u can go to skiathos town or other beaches. We went to skiathos town most nights to eat as such choice and in old part very picturesque. If there are 4 of u at bus stop "haggle" with taxi driver and u can go for 8 euros for all 4 cents more than bus price. Good bits of hol - dog shelter and boat trip (only paid 15 euros for a full day - saw dolphins. Dont b ripped off with other tours at 45 euros. Nice walks too. Lovely green greek island. Theodora studios near by - nice pool and bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Demetris Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetris Hotels

Address: Kolios, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Kolios
Also Known As:
Demetris Hotels Skiathos/Kolios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demetris Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Demetris Hotels to your Saves list