We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea views, good hotel for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pantokrator Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pantokrator Hotel to your Saves list
Pantokrator Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barbati, Barbati 49083, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barbati
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great sea views, good hotel for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was in 2009 when we decided to have holidays on Corfu island. We choosed Pantokrator and it was good choice.

Hotel, Rooms
Hotel is situated on the slope, it bring you really nice views but also hard to get back from beach. :) There are two pools, one big and second small for children. Water was clean and warm (in august). Rooms are located in separate buildings. Some are close to the main building, but other are quite far.
We had got room closer to main building with nice view to the sea. In front of terace was small garden.
Hotel offers two category of rooms, standard and luxury, we had the standard one. It was simply furnished room with beds, TV, airconditioning and fridge (with extra charge).

Restaurant
Main building is located near to the pool and we enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners. Tasty meals and good staff is good side of Pantokrator. The bad side is a lot of wasps. (may be in august only ... who knows?!) It was impossible to eat dinner outside, on the terace. Staff tried to fight off wasps, but without success. It is better to eat inside of restaurant but you will lose the beautiful views.
At evenings, you can pay back it with cocktails, and you are not bothered by insects, at all.

Sea, beach
Every day, we stayed at small beach located directly under the main coastal street (300m from the hotel). It is not easy to get there (very steep stairs) (especially with small child), but the beach is lovely and not so crowded as the main beach which is located 600m from the Pantokrator.
Warm clean sea, romantic views is the main advantage of this beach.
Relax all ends when returning to the hotel, where you have to overcome big height difference.

Animators, entertainment
In Pantokrator is no animators and evening entertainment is sporadic. (may be 1 a week greek night)
In the Barbati town, there is few disco restaurants and night bars, but nothing big.

Overall
We enjoyed the stay at Pantokrator hotel and I think, we can return back in the future. Hotel is best for young couples by my opinion.

Room Tip: Choose luxury rooms, if you like modern stylised accommodation. Ask for rooms closer to the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    84
    38
    9
    21
See reviews for
42
114
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having booked this as a last minute option we were prepared for anything but - WOW - we were absolutely delighted to find this hidden gem. Perched high on the slopes of Mount Pantokrator amidst groves of olives overlooking the crystal blue Ionian sea this was heaven!
The walk up from the main road is quite steep and in the heat of the day can be a bit of a pull but the views and elegance of this hotel more than make up for it.
A true jewel of the Ionian!

Room Tip: Sea view definately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had our wedding day, evening reception and two-night stay at the Pantokrator Hotel, and they were fantastic, everything was done to the highest standard and nothing was too much for them. All our guests stayed at the hotel and they found it the same, the food was great the facilities were more than adequate and the staff went above and beyond. We would class this hotel as one of the best in Corfu and we have stayed in quite a few. Absolute 5 star, with amazing views, reasonable prices and an unbeatable service.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury rooms, they're well worth the extra couple of pennies. If you struggle with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My daughter had her wedding at the Pantokrator Hotel on October 10th. The staff could'nt do enough for us. The wedding package was very reasonable. We stayed there 12 days, our room was very chique and very clean (a delux room). The views from the hotel are fantastic.

Barbatti is a very quiet resort so you do need a car to get around.but it is worth it just to see the views when driving around corfu

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have just spent a week at this hotel so here is some honest and open feedback.
If you don,t rent a car then be preparted for a lot of hill climbing and steps ,steep paths etc. We were lazy and used are car to get about everywhere . Its very steep from the beach up to the hotel.
Other previous reviews have mentioned bees and wasps , yes they are present but we never got stung and its not that bad a problem.
We had a Luxury room and paid extra for it . Glad we did , we saw a couple of the standard rooms and they are nothing to brag about at all.
The biggest negative for us was that we were the only English people there unitl our last day. The hotel is primarily used by Germans and it was not to our liking.
Overall the hotel was ok , just ok.
Breakfast was plentiful but not good , great if you like rubber eggs, but in the main it was very average.
Would we stay there again ???? No .

Room Tip: Room 32o , luxury room with huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

First the positives... The views from the hotel across the bay are stunning. The pool is great too, and the terrace bar very stylish. The evening dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet are top notch, with plenty of choice. Wasps are a problem at breakfast time, but the staff maintain a series of traps, which seemed to be doing their job.

The negatives... It's a steep climb up to the hotel and even further up flights of stairs and ramps to the accommodation. Despite having a nice sunny balcony, our standard room was surprisingly spartan inside and the small bathroom was a real let-down. Using the cramped shower with its billowing curtain was not a pleasant experience. We also thought the 8 Euro per day supplement for air conditioning charged to guests not on an all-inclusive package was extortionate. Despite being given a remote control for the air con, the wall unit appeared to have no power. There are various other charges for fridges, safes, etc.

There was no noise at night and we weren't aware of the dogs referred to in other reviews. The staff all spoke excellent English and seemed efficient, if not particularly friendly.

We only stayed one night, which was fine. But with the slightly disappointing room and limited range of attractions in Barbati, we would have got pretty bored staying much longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you are allergic to bees or a have a bee phobia don't go here, if you don't mind them, this is the place to go if you want a great hotel on Corfu.
Room: We had a superior room, it was fine there was what you needed, could be claner.
Pool: Good view, but to many bees
Food: Was ok, but after 10 days you had enough :-)
Beach: Its a stony beach, so bathing shoes is a nice thing to have, water is clear and we spend all days there instead of the pool. its a 10 min steep walk.
Staff: Mostly friendly

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pantokrator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantokrator Hotel

Address: Barbati, Barbati 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Barbati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barbati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pantokrator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pantokrator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantokrator Hotel Barbati, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantokrator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.