We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Estrela da Luz to your Saves list
Estrela da Luz
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Enjoyed our weeks holiday, very nice clean apartment,bright and airy, complimentary bottle of water and milk with tea on arrival, only slight problem was beds to firm for our liking, not too far for beach and restaurants. Bus stop at bottom of road only took 15 - 20 mins to Lagos. The gardens and pool area were exceptionally well kept.The gym looked good, but we never used it. I would certainly recommend this to friends and family. Hope to return again. They were decorating when we were there but it did not disturb us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    45
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
83
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a fantastic development. All self contained apartments finished to the highest standards. I thoroughly enjoy going there and will do so many more times in the future. Beautiful village with loads of fine restaurants and only a short taxi ride to Lagos. Well done all. Keep it up.

Room Tip: Anywhere. All very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked a penthouse apartment directly with the owner and it was clean, spacious and well equipped. We enjoyed our week but it was spoilt a little by lack of interest from the reception about how the pools are being used. There are four pools, one is adults only which appealed to us now our children are grown up. However children were constantly in this pool even when the other pools were empty. Children were also jumping into the pool with shallow water which could have hurt them. Although we mentioned this at reception no-one was at all concerned, although they were concerned about posting a review on Tripadvisor and are proud of their rating.
If you have children I think it would be a great place to go but if adults only I would avoid school holidays.
Two of us had full body massages which were fantastic.Wifi was down for a day, again no urgency to sort this out,cleaners were excellent and very friendly.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Actually, poor service. We couldn't get wifi connection in our room and reported to the reception but the people there couldn't be bothered and we tried to book tours but they were unhelpful. Glad ONE of them was but not enough for what you pay.

we got block b which was separated from everything and u've to walk out of the area and walk into your building which is unsafe especially at night because it's so quiet and dark and it's really bad if you're alone or if you're only with another girl like me.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a short break at the Estrela da Luz and we will definitely be returning. The staff were extremely helpful...they had flowers and fizz in our room on arrival at my husbands request for our anniversary. We were then told it was complementary to celebrate....lovely touch. The spa snd gym were well equiped and very clean. Treatments were excellent. The apartment was very clean and well equiped, cleaners attended every other day. We didnt try the hotel restaurant/bar but we need something to try when we go back. Highly recommend this resort to anyone. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just returned from the Estrela da Luz and were really pleased with the standard of welcome and quality of the accommodation. The apartment was large, clean, well maintained and warm, with a welcome pack of essential food items to keep us going until the next morning. The gym and pool/ sauna is great - good design and looked after. We celebrated a birthday whilst away and the staff must have noticed birthday cards on display in the apartment, as when we returned in the late afternoon, a complimentary bottle of wine had been left and a 'Happy Birthday' note - very much appreciated and real attention to detail. Many thanks for your hospitality -we're very happy to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed in a studio apartment. Very big, spacious and well equipped. Resort fantastic despite being quiet and had everything we needed. Staff friendly and enjoyed the gym and indoor pool every day. Would happily stay again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDBRESORTS, Gerente geral at Estrela da Luz, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you so much for your great review and we are delighted that you had a really wonderful time in Estrela da Luz. These words of course are very significant for us and definitely for those that want to spend a great holiday in Estrela da Luz and choosing our Resort.
We look very much in welcoming you in a near future. Thank you.

Regards,
Bruno Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luz
#2 Family Hotel in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrela da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.