We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your ear plugs!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estrela da Luz

Save Saved
You added Estrela da Luz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Luz
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bring your ear plugs!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I were in Portugal for a total of 3 weeks. During that time we had the use of a rental car which allowed us to visit the country extensively and also gave us the opportunity to stay at 7 different hotels along the way. This was not one of our favorites. We stayed in room E2E...building E on the second floor in room 3.

Pros: Studio apartment was large and spacious especially since there was only 2 of us. Apartment was quite clean. Having a clothes washer and dishwasher in the apartment was a definite plus. Kitchen was large for an apartment and was well stocked with utensils, cups, glasses etc. Small balcony offered a partial view of the ocean which was marred by a view of a run down apartment complex. Fast wifi and close proximity to stores, restaurants and the beach.

Cons: The noisiest room with the thinnest walls ever!! While we only stayed for 2 nights....it was 2 nights with no sleep. The people above us had a child who liked to run back and forth across the room and who thought that other guests would also appreciate the sound of chairs being pushed and scrapped constantly across the floor. They also had late night guests that were loud and boisterous until 3:30 in the morning. The mattress was one of the worst that I have ever had the displeasure to sleep on.....it was not only hard.....it had steel coils poking through in many places....by the time we checked out...we had bruised hip bones from laying on our side and sore backs.....the sofa bed was more comfortable. It was nice that there was a clothes washer but there was no dryer....the clothes rack is useless on a cloudy day. Check in time was 4:00pm and Check out was at 10:00 a.m...(ridiculous in my opinion).

Overall I would not return. Initially I was wowed by how large the unit was but soon realized that the negatives outweighed the positives although I could see how larger families might like the spaciousness of the units, I for one need my sleep especially while vacationing and I was glad to leave and continue on to my next destination.

Room Tip: Pray that you don't get room E2E....the coils in the mattress will give you nightmares!! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    36
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
61
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Definitely come again next year. Great location for family stay. Beach is 10 minute walk, several supermarkets and tasty restaurants are right aside. Very friendly staff.
If you're tired of the day heat, then you could have a swim in several inland pools. They even got one for the small children!
Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the start of September and loved the place. Staff were really helpful and printed off our hire car papers for us and found my missing hat.

The apartment itself was huge. We booked a studio apartment and were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment, which was huge. Lovely kitchen, big balcony, spotless bathroom. Only gripes were the bed was rock hard and we were woken early each morning by the family above, whose children decided that 7 in the morning was the right time to scream, shout and scrape chairs around the floor. There was no sleeping through it. As all the floors are tiled you can hear everything.

I wouldn't go back purely because on holiday I want to relax and sleep until at least 8 and I wouldn’t want to chance getting unlucky and have noisy people above me again!

The room itself was faultless though.

Room Tip: Go for the top apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a All inclusive holiday last time we went away, we wanted the same high standard of accommodation but with the opportunity to go out somewhere new every evening. Estrela is an amazing complex in the quiet resort of Luz. The adults only pool very popular and yet still quiet. Accommodation self catering and yet you get the nice touches such as extra pillows, uk sky tv, shampoos and soaps. One really nice touch, water and milk in the fridge plus coffee, tea and sugar sachets so you can have a hot drink on your first morning without hitting the local supermarcado. Also left for you a couple of washing and dishwasher tablets.

The apartments are very big and well appointed. The wireless works well (writing this to you on the balcony using said wifi) and aircon thankfully powerful.

Included is free use of a very nice gym with a lot of equipment (all working). Do not miss the fantastic spa. The whole body massage the best this writer has ever experienced. (reserve a couple of hours after for a nap, you'll need it)

Staff very helpful and friendly

Note, taxis are cheap and plentiful. 10 euro to go to Lagos for a day of lounging by the marina or go on a boat trip.

Highly recommend and will be coming back

Room Tip: Go one bed apartment. Huge. Get apartment towards the front of the complex to avoid the pool heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came here with our four small children and really love it. We got a two bedroom apartment. It was HUGE. Plenty of room for all of us. The children's pool was fantastic, as was the adult pool. We loved that there was also an adult only pool so we didn't have to worry about the kids bothering anyone. The beach was right down the street and was beautiful. There were many restaurants and shops nearby. The beach boardwalk was fantastic to stroll in the evening. Couldn't have asked for a better place. Oh, and the gym was much better equipped than normal hotels, free weights, modern cardio equipment.... highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 7 nights. It was a very large and well equipped apartment, the kitchen was stocked well with Siemens appliances (washer and dishwasher included) loads of pots, pans, dishes and glasses. Large open plan living/dining area although we preferred to eat on the large balcony that also had a table and chairs. The pools are large clean with lots of sun loungers that were very comfortable. We only ever stayed at the adult pool but never had any issues getting lounger - that might be different in peak season though. Also plenty of shade available if you needed some respite from the sun. The drinks and food at the pool bar were fairly priced and good. We never ate or had a drink at Hugo Beaties but there were people in there. Gym was really good and even though check out was a crazy early 10am we were able to store our luggage, use the pool then shower and change at the spa.

We had little interaction with the staff due not having any issues but when we did they were friendly, helpful and polite. The whole area felt very clean and tidy and the gardens well landscaped.

Luz as an area was lovely. Very clean and the people friendly. The beach and sea were beautiful and provided a nice change from the pool area. The town is small and at a steady pace can walk from end to end in 40 mins. There isnt a lot going on in Luz but there are enough bars and several great restaurants to keep you going. Chiccas is great, jakes was a nice value meal and the fort has an incredible view.

I would return to these apartments and think they were incredible value for money. I would recommend for couples and families but probably not for people who want to party hard!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

So with all the positive reviews I was still a little skeptical but having been there last week I can say that this place is excellent. We went for a three bedroom apartment and it was enormous. The main room had an en suite which was the same size as the main bathroom, both had twin sinks in there. There were also 3 balconies with 1 being shared between two of the bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped with a washing machine and dishwasher and had plenty of cutlery and glassware.

The only downside was that the apartment we were in (A2A) had no air conditioning which I was surprised at but it was not needed. There were external shutters on all windows which kept the apartment cool.

The adults only swimming pool was excellent and was nice to just lounge around without children. The interior sauna/gym/swimming pool were all excellent.

Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Make sure if you are going in summer to get a room with air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luz
#3 Family Hotel in Luz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrela da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.