We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Estrela da Luz to your Saves list
Estrela da Luz
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I would to say thank you to the team at Estrela, who are professional and friendly. The apartments at Estrela are first class, roomy and with everything you need. We had the majority of our wedding party staying there and there was not one negative comment. I would highly recommend staying there. we loved it!
:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    47
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
83
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Seprember 2011, two weeks.
Beautiful apartment, best we've ever had. Well appointed kitchen, Comfy Lounge with large LCD TV, Satelite, DVD. 2 good bathrooms, mezzanine level, massive place for just the 2 of us! Great views over Luz and the ocean.
Cleaned regularly, towels changed often, bedding just once a week.
Small welcome pack gets you started when you arrive.
Underground car park for each block, with lift to your apartment.
Beautiful gardens, well maintained. Nice pools with the advantage of seperate adults only pool, good quality poolside furnishings.
Excellent Gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi etc.
Nice bar, well run serving good food and drinks, a little quiet when we were there.
All part of a great 2 weeks in Praia da Luz.
Not expensive compared to most of our previous holidays.
We will return ASAP !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We rented a 3 bedroom apartment for a week, there were 4 adults and 2 toddlers. The apartment is very spacious, furnishings are quite modern and much nicer than in the hotel photos. There was every amenity we could ask for.
A few things to improve:
1. Cleaning: we had to call and ask someone to clean, normally if an a apartment is rented for a week, 2 cleanings are offered. When we called, no one came. It took 3 phone calls to have someone finally come
2. Towels: for the price we paid to rent the apartment I was surprised we were asked to pay for pool towels, I mean really, they can't offer them?
3. No internet: ok there is a wireless internet but guests aren't allowed to use it, only apartment owners. We ended up going to Staples and buying a 3G card. In this day and age I find it pretty weird not to have internet, I get we're on vacation but it's a good way to stay in touch with family and comes in handy when figuring what day trips we wanted to do.
Spa was great and staff there were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just got back from this resort. The quality of the accommodation is excellent very clean and very spacious. However the resorts' website mentions a kids club, children's entertainment evenings on Weds & Fri and there use to be a free bus to Lagos. All of these things are now not on so don't want anybody to be disappointed by this when they get there. They market themselves as a luxury resort well in terms of accommodation it is but if you read this Estrela Da Luz luxury resorts keep their websites up to date too!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Like we all do, we read the trip advisor reports and thought " yeah sure, bet it's not as good as that?" but it is! From being greeted by the reception staff we have been delighted at all the facilities at this apart hotel. The room we stayed is was magnificent 2 bathrooms 2 bedrooms a large living room (sky tv, DVD and Cd System) very comfortable and well decorated, separate fully furnished kitchen including granite work tops, microwave oven full oven, washing machine and dishwasher, three balconies and electric black out security shutters on every door/window and great remote controlled air conditioning in the living room and each bedroom. There are four swimming pools (one indoor with jacuzzi ) the kids pool can get busy so get there early if you want a sun bed, great thing is that the pool attendant comes around and whips off all those annoying reservation towels so people waiting can get a bed. The Hotel is well positioned for the beautiful beach of Luz and it takes only a few minutes to be in the resort centre with a great selection of restaurants all of which we had great meals at having eaten out most nights. We would recommend the Estrela da Luz to anyone young and old for great location great facilities and most importantly great staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have just returned from a two week stay at estrela da luz and feel it's important to review the various sections individually
1st - The welcome on arrival
I must say the receptionist wasn't the most friendly I have ever met and no great directions around the complex, basically give me your money and best of luck . This was disappointing given that the apartment wasn't cheap by any means.
2nd -The apartment
We booked a two bed and we were very pleased with this, huge in size, well equipped with all modern appliances and excellent electric shutters on all doors and windows. Air con throughout and just like home. The only crib here would be that the suite of furniture badly needs to be cleaned or replaced, it was very shabby.
3rd- The pool areas
The two pools outdoors are fabulous and the indoor heated one was great too. The main issue here is that there is a shortage of sun beds and despite all the signs around the area people are still getting up at 8 am and putting towels on their seats to keep them for the day. This was a major pain and one that the management of the complex should police better.
4th- The bar and restaurant
Good food , reasonable prices, friendly staff but needs more live entertainment at night to encourage people to stay on.
Overall the complex is very safe for children and adults alike but the rates would need to be reduced in line with today's economic conditions for us to visit again but if you want to pay €1250 per week for a 2 bed apartment (€2500 for 2 weeks rent!) ?????

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked a 1 bedroom appt and when we arrived, they hadn't configured the beds correctly, so we had to go back to reception. Luckly they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom appt and it was HUGE! Large double bedroom with a bathroom upstairs, twin bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and lounge downstairs, with a balcony. Really glad we got the upgrade, as the bed they had made up in the lounge of the 1st appt was an awful camp bed style thing, which would have been very upleasant for a week.
Be wary of planning for anyone to sleep on the sofa beds in the lounge, as they are nasty wire things with very thin mattresses on top. Definately would have had to try and get a bigger appt with a proper bed if we hadn't been upgraded.
The kitchen was very well equipped, and the microwave, oven etc were pristine.
Great big lounge with 2 sofas and tv with most british tv stations including freeview!
Great to have an adult pool area, as it was quieter than having to share with kids. Pool heated too, which is difficult to find in Portugal.
The only negative was that there was a lot of noise from the wind whistling through the appt. Must just be the way it is built.
Overall, a nice modern, clean place to have a quiet and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block with Bar must have been noisy. Our block E was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luz
#2 Family Hotel in Luz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrela da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.