We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant

Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant
Rua 25 de Abril | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-174, Portugal
282 767 239
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 43 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chinese Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Reasonably priced good Chinese food. Pleasant environment and friendly staff. Chinese food cooked in a very similar way to in England so no surprises.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After we sat down at our table they took the drinks order, it took quite a while for them to arrive, longer than normal and we started to wonder if they had forgotten us. The waiter then came over took our meal order and said our drinks would be 1 minute. It was not but eventually they came.

After a medium wait for our starters, they came, and I tell you- the crispy pancake roll is the BEST I have ever had, I highly recommend. It was packed with vegetables and has I side dip, a mild sweet and sour sauce.

There was a good gap between our starter and meal which was good as you can let your food go down before having another plate straight away in front of you. My food was gorgeous! Maybe just a touch heavy with the sauce but very nice! All of the food was cooked well and nicely presented. The portion sizes were just right too- you won't go home hungry!

So to conclude, although the food was good, maybe the service could have been a bit quicker, have toilet paper! and told us why there was a delay. But apart from this, very good, and really pretty in there too! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful, awful!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Visited this restaurant last night. Was hoping for a decent meal as my husband and I love Chinese food and the the reviews seemed good.Thought we were on to a winner with the starters of hot & sour soup and pancake roll. Then we had mains of chicken ginger and onion and chicken curry. The chicken ginger and onion was as it said on the menu, done with mega amounts of plain white onion no spring onion to be found. The chicken curry had a nice curry sauce but the worst thing of both meals was the slithers of skin and slimy fat covered shreds of chicken all cooked with what appeared to be copius amounts of ,salt. I can not express how awful the food was. Enough to say we did not eat it and informed the waiter what we thought of it. You could see he was embarrassed which we did not want,but the owners sat on a nearby table,ignored the situation.
If you want to waste your money this is the ideal place to do it in.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“You won't go home hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Chinese restaurant is excellent. The portion sizes are huge and the food is nicely presented and very good. The staff are happy and eager to please. Well worth a visit if you are a fan of oriental food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always open for a decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Hadn't visited this restaurant for a while but arrived late in the evening and you can always rely on it being open! We had a selection of starters - prawn toast was delicious, followed by the duck with pancakes which was great. We shared a few other dishes - sizzling beef Mongolian style being one of the best. Good service, welcoming atmosphere and would definitely return in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.