We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paraiso Restaurante

Paraiso Restaurante
Ave. dos Pescadores, 6, Luz, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 42 Restaurants in Luz
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“ok food, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fresh fish is great but having visited paraiso every time I go to Luz (20.plus years) I am not sure it worth the money any more. Service is always good. Food is OK to good. Location is amazing particularly if you have kids as they can play on the sand in plain view whilst you can enjoy some adult time and they can just return to eat! Even so I think it is now over priced even with its location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Busy Busy Busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ate here on one occasion - had to book the table earlier in the day as in high season it's packed!
Not much 'ambiance' if that's what your after in your surroundings - it's far too busy & open plan for that, being partly on the beach. Maybe if there were less diners and you were inside the restaurant, you'd find it more cosy. We were seated outside which suited us fine.
There were 8 of us and we all had starters, then mains plus at least 6 large beers, 4 soft drinks & 1 or 2 bottles of wine. - We had a variety of dishes across the menu, fish, shellfish, steak, pasta - everyone of them very very good and we all had to sample each others dishes to prove it! Service was good too, not having to wait too long for our meals & all 8 seemed to be brought out simultaneously. Can't remember exactly the cost but I think it was in the region of 200 Euro, which I thought was on a par with other restaurants in the area. I think restaurants in Luz are a little bit more expensive than restaurants in the Greek isles where we normally go on holiday, but this didn't put us off, we love to eat out on holiday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relies too much on location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a glorified snack bar to be fair. The food is very average, poor cuts of steak for example, the service is also average, this restaurant is good for lunch, but not for dinner. The price is suited to the "restaurant" however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

and that's about it tbh. Our party was not overly impressed with this restaurant. The service was pretty pants as was the starters and puddings. A couple of us had the chocolate mousse and it tasted like gone off milk, and the profiteroles tasted gone off too. The main of sea bass was quite good but it was served with plain unsalted boiled potatoes and the accompaniment of side veg we ordered wasn't edible. I've given 2 out of 5 because of the location, had it been further back from the sea front I would have probably given 1 out of 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were wary of going here due to the recent reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. The service was good, the food was good if not spectacular and the location is great. There was a real buzz about the place which helped to make the evening thoroughly enjoyable. A family of eight with three children eating a range of dishes off the menu and the total bill came to 124euros.

Overall it was a great family evening out. We booked two days in advance and had a great table next to the beach. I would advise doing the same.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paraiso Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Paraiso Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paraiso Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.