We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy at Luz bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luz Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Luz Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very happy at Luz bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is clean, good value and welcoming. It doesn't have ultra modern rooms like the adjacent Villa Baia apartments, but if you want hotel service with daily room clean, breakfast and beautiful gardens/pools then go for Luz Bay. The staff at reception, pool bar and breakfast were very nice too. I would stay here again. Its a short walk to the beach. Plenty space to park the car.
It would be good if they could provide free WIFI although it is available for small charge. Same with room safe. I think it would be better to charge an extra 15 euros per room per week and offer these as included in your holiday price.
It would be good for families or there's a separate adult only pool area, which is a great idea too. I honestly couldn't find any fault with this hotel, I should really keep quiet about it so its not fully booked for my next trip!!

Room Tip: We opted for a superior room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

this is a great value hotel 5 minuits to a superb beach, the friendly staff and great food make this ideal for families, or couples who like to sun bathe, and relax, we visit this hotel twice a year, and we go this june 2013, you'll be glad you go to this hotel for sure. maurice.

Room Tip: ask for first floor, with pool view, suite or otherwise, they are all very nice, at this hotel @west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is well presented and in an excellent location being within five minutes easy walk from the excellent Luz beach with all the facilities offered there.However you could just stay at the hotel and use their pools.
My room on the ground floor was spacious and had an outside seating area.The central heating/air conditioning system was efficient.There was an in room coffee facility with limited supplies but I felt that 10 euros to use it was a bit steep.Breakfast was buffet style and quite good although the coffee nearly blew my head off. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Modern but very nice hotel not far from the beach. Offers big rooms aither on the ground or first floor. It consists of several separate houses which of them having about four rooms or you may call them apartments. Very spacious bedroom together with living room. TV set, air conditioning, desk, chair, fridge, sejf and big wardrobe included. Very clean and tidy. Big bathroom with bath tub and a series of nice smelling cosmetics. You can rest on the terrace just in front of your room (table and chairs available there). If you wish to do some washing there is also a drier available on the terrace. Beautiful flowers and plant on the terrace, two swimming pools just at the hand's reach. Sunbeds for free. The garden in which the houses are situated are very pretty and beautifelly groomed. Restaurant offers breakfasts, dinners, suppers (not included in the price of the apartment). Nice and friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and we absolutely love it. Staff are excellent and accommodating. The lady and chap on reception are very helpful and the restaurant manager is always very welcoming. The breakfasts here are very good with an assortment of cereals, breads, preserves, hams cheeses and a hot buffet section too. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and our room, a superior tŵin, overlooked the pool, with a sunny aspect throughout the day. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean with daily maid service. Relaxing by the pool and total peace and quiet are what we enjoy when we stay here. We always feel totally chilled out after a week here and it has to be said that this place is the highlight of our holiday calendar. Look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bamb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethard On Sea, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

While it is a little hard to find and was not signposted, we found this hotel in January 2013. The hotel/apartment was lovely, the staff friendly and the breakfast beautiful. Praia da Luz is beautiful, small and relatively unspoilt. It only cost €42.00 for the room for 2 persons including breakfast - great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing 1 week break here. The hotel was immaculate and the hotel staff were great. The main lady on reception was particularly helpful. I can't understand why others have rated this hotel down based on the area being quiet...Luz was quiet but it is to be expected at this time of the year. The hotel was super!

Luz was a great resort, no awful high rise buildings, a selection of very good restaurants and a lovely beach. Perfect for couples who want a chilled time. A few of the restaurants were closed but some very good ones were open.

I would suggest that you hire a car if you fancy an explore around the area....we would do this next time. It's really inexpensive. We pottered around Luz for the week and went on a few walks.

Great hotel and would go there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
1.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#24 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#20 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing