We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden jem, portugal algarve.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luz Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Luz Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“hidden jem, portugal algarve.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

this is a great value hotel 5 minuits to a superb beach, the friendly staff and great food make this ideal for families, or couples who like to sun bathe, and relax, we visit this hotel twice a year, and we go this june 2013, you'll be glad you go to this hotel for sure. maurice.

Room Tip: ask for first floor, with pool view, suite or otherwise, they are all very nice, at this hotel @west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is well presented and in an excellent location being within five minutes easy walk from the excellent Luz beach with all the facilities offered there.However you could just stay at the hotel and use their pools.
My room on the ground floor was spacious and had an outside seating area.The central heating/air conditioning system was efficient.There was an in room coffee facility with limited supplies but I felt that 10 euros to use it was a bit steep.Breakfast was buffet style and quite good although the coffee nearly blew my head off. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Modern but very nice hotel not far from the beach. Offers big rooms aither on the ground or first floor. It consists of several separate houses which of them having about four rooms or you may call them apartments. Very spacious bedroom together with living room. TV set, air conditioning, desk, chair, fridge, sejf and big wardrobe included. Very clean and tidy. Big bathroom with bath tub and a series of nice smelling cosmetics. You can rest on the terrace just in front of your room (table and chairs available there). If you wish to do some washing there is also a drier available on the terrace. Beautiful flowers and plant on the terrace, two swimming pools just at the hand's reach. Sunbeds for free. The garden in which the houses are situated are very pretty and beautifelly groomed. Restaurant offers breakfasts, dinners, suppers (not included in the price of the apartment). Nice and friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and we absolutely love it. Staff are excellent and accommodating. The lady and chap on reception are very helpful and the restaurant manager is always very welcoming. The breakfasts here are very good with an assortment of cereals, breads, preserves, hams cheeses and a hot buffet section too. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and our room, a superior tŵin, overlooked the pool, with a sunny aspect throughout the day. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean with daily maid service. Relaxing by the pool and total peace and quiet are what we enjoy when we stay here. We always feel totally chilled out after a week here and it has to be said that this place is the highlight of our holiday calendar. Look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethard On Sea, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

While it is a little hard to find and was not signposted, we found this hotel in January 2013. The hotel/apartment was lovely, the staff friendly and the breakfast beautiful. Praia da Luz is beautiful, small and relatively unspoilt. It only cost €42.00 for the room for 2 persons including breakfast - great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing 1 week break here. The hotel was immaculate and the hotel staff were great. The main lady on reception was particularly helpful. I can't understand why others have rated this hotel down based on the area being quiet...Luz was quiet but it is to be expected at this time of the year. The hotel was super!

Luz was a great resort, no awful high rise buildings, a selection of very good restaurants and a lovely beach. Perfect for couples who want a chilled time. A few of the restaurants were closed but some very good ones were open.

I would suggest that you hire a car if you fancy an explore around the area....we would do this next time. It's really inexpensive. We pottered around Luz for the week and went on a few walks.

Great hotel and would go there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Me and my husband went to stay at this hotel for a relaxing break (i was 4 months pregnant) and relaxing is exactly what we got!

If you are an older couple this might be your thing, for us this was far too quiet. To see any excitement you needed to get a taxi, the local pubs nearby didnt have any entertainment, the beach was lovely but no sun loungers you had to take your own, and there was literally about 10 people at any one time in the area when ever we walked out.

Extremely quiet and quite freaky as you were literally in the middle of nowhere!
The hotel its self was very quiet too no one about, and the meals were very limited i think there was about 5 different hot bits in the tray and that included all your veg too.

this hotel was aimed at older people (ie - 70 plus) we were 28-30 and it was far too quiet - everyone was in bed at 9-10pm!

Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.