We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to chill out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Luz Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Luz
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to chill out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back from a week's stay at the luz bay. Gardens are immaculate and everywhere is really clean & tidy. Our room was a bit basic but very spacious and with a lovely terrace overlooking the pools. Never a challenge to get a sun bed and the pool area was really quiet at this time of year. We stayed on a B&B basis, all fine with a lot of choice if a bit repetitive! Only a short walk to the beautiful beach and some great restaurants ( I can also reco cafe a fabrica!). Would def come back as it makes for a really relaxing time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

very well kept resort, gardens are immaculate, rooms spacious and clean, staff very attentive. Hotel in perfect location approximately 5 minute walk to the beach where you will find a variety of restaurants and a few gift shops. Jakes restaurant is a must, up from the sea front past the church, excellent food at reasonable prices. Catch the bus from Praia da luz to Lagos where there is a wider variety of shops cafes and restaurants.
P and K

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spacious, clean, friendly hotel. A very relaxed place. If you're looking to "party, party" it's probably not the place for you but if you want to get away from the world it's lovely. We had a really spacious room - I think they all are from talking to other guests. 3 pools - one for adults only, one paddling pool for kids with an adult size pool beside it. There is a kids club but they're rarely in the pool area so if, like me, you're there without kids it's not a problem. Plenty of loungers in sun or shade. Snack hut beside the pool: drinks are a little expensive - a local beer is €4 here compared to €2.50 in the bar by the beach, salads are lovely and fresh, menu has not much local and a lot of fast food (probably by demand), only 1 woman working it all day so you might have to wait a few minutes as she tries to take orders and serve and cook all by herself. Breakfast is good: a wide variety of continental & cooked options. Wouldn't recommend the dinner though: it's a buffet and pretty limited - especially when there's some great restaurants close by. (especially recommend Cafe a Fabrica - looks like a burger joint but the chef really knows flavour) It's about a 4-5 minute walk to the beach. (assuming you're walking at a snails pace to avoid overheating). Bus stop to take you to Lagos is at the top of the hill about 2-3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing stay at the Luz Bay hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is really good too. The surrounding areas are beautiful. It's well worth hiring a car to visit the amazing coastline. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.
Warning to other drivers, do not follow sat nav directions they lead you to the hospital in Lagos! Check out directions on map before you arrive. Otherwise absolutely fab holiday to Portugal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Luz bay hotel is a lovely quite hotel that has all the basics. Very clean rooms and nice gardens. The adult pool is great for couples and people wanting some quiet relaxing sun bathing.

Breakfast was nice but a bit repetitive as most are! The hotel staff are nice and very helpful.

The location is great as all the restaurants, shops and beach are 5 minutes walk.

Try chiccas, dolfin and lime tree these were our favorite restaurants!

*luz is lovely but be warned it is hour and half from faro and the beach chairs cost €15.00 these were the only down sides to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Luz Bay from 21st August to 1st September we were a family group of 17 including 2 under 3's.
We were very pleased with our rooms at the hotel our room was 008 on the ground floor, it was very spacious and very clean and tidy with a travel cot they had provided for our daughter. We had a nice balcony with table and chairs and a clothes horse to dry any washing. We were quite disapointed not to have a small kitchenette in our room and not even a kettle but we found that a short walk to the first floor had a lovely little kitchen with everything you could need Washing Machine, dishwasher, plates, cutlery, iron/iron board.

If we could pick the hotel up and put it in a busier livelier place we would have, it was a bit quiet for us and not very practical because of the massive hills and cobble stones as one of our family members was in a wheelchair and we had 2 pushchairs! The hills were not stated in the Tomas Cook brocher.

We thought August would be a great time to visit Praia da Luz but out of our whole holiday only 2 days were wind free and were not talking a little breeze it was almost a hurricane! The sun umberellas were blown out of the holders several times, we are just glad no one got hurt! If you have something to eat or drink in the pool bar watch it doesnt get blown away... The pool bar had a nice selection to choose from when they have it in stock but the prices are a bit expensive 8euros for a small pizza! (4 slices)
The 3 swimming pools were a good size but absolutly freezing, and when the wind blew it was horrible. One of the days we sat round the pool we had to bring our blankets we were sooooo cold. The sea is also freeeeeezing!

Our favourite restaurant was Allora which is up the road to the hotel it has very nice Italian food but we did find mostly all the restaurants needed to be booked first. Others to check out are The Galley which have lovely seafood and a beautiful view of the beach, if it wasnt so windy 'Look' that have massive burgers and Barocca who do a great BBQ, But we found it hard to go too far because of the long walks.

The Hotel bar was nice but found the drinks in the eveining were a bit pricey e.g 3 small baileys 15euros! The Breakfast was a nice selection, but the evening buffet was E.A.M.A.Y.L for 16euros each we found it nice but very repetative and a bit plain at times.

3 days before we left we found a huge crack in our ceiling which had water coming out, we later found out it was a leek from the room above. They dealt with the problem quickly considering it was 10pm. They upgraded us to 026 which was bigger but there was one problem with the location it was even windyerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!! it must have been 30mph winds at night we could NOT sit on the balcony at alllllllll!!!!!!!

Overall a lovely holiday shame the wind put us of of Portugal FOREVER!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our second time back at the Luz Bay Hotel. We spent 10 days there back in June. When we booked we specified a room with a balcony and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had one of the superior rooms which was split on two levels with bathroom, lounge and kitchen area downstairs, and bedroom upstairs. Both floors had balconies which was a bonus ! The rooms were cleaned and the towels changed on a daily basis with the bedding changed every other day. We found the hotel complex very clean and tidy, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We especially liked the fact that the Luz Bay has 3 pools, one of which is strictly adults only..which was very much appreciated.
The buffet breakfast was a bountiful mix of hot and cold dishes, the bread rolls are very moreish. You can eat in the hotel restaurant of an evening, however there are plenty of very good and varied restaurants in Praia da Luz which is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. If you want a truly top class eating experience, you cannot do worse than eat at either Fortaleza da Luz or the Dolphin Restaurant. Both are a top quality eating experience, with great views across the bay.
If you fancy a cocktail whilst enjoying a blast from the past then you have to visit Carlos Bar,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luz Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz Bay

Address: Rua do Jardim | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luz Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luz Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.