We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belavista da Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belavista da Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Belavista da Luz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been to the Belavista many, many times, and we absolutely love it. The staff are so welcoming and friendly - it's like coming home. All the rooms are spacious, and spotlessly clean, and the food in both the pool bar and restaurant is excellent.

I can't recommend Belavista da Luz enough - it's fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoy your holidays with us and we hope that you will continue to do so in the future.We look forward to looking after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    37
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we first arrived, I was a little disappointed at how small and quiet the hotel was, as I am quite the opposite to some people, and enjoy a bit of life! I also asked for a first floor, due to health reasons, and this was very important to us, but didn't get it.

I was also a little worried as most hotels serve buffet style, and being a vegetarian, I thought I might struggle. But....no, the staff were absolutely fantastic, and nothing was too much trouble. They asked me to tell them if I wanted anything different to the menu (which I did), and they were only too happy to help and cook especially for me.

I must say, the experience was amazing. My only complaint would be, the guests all seemed to know each other, extremely clicky, making us feel a little like an intruder at times. It did not put us off as we were out every day enjoying the beach.

Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us. I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable at times as so many people knew each other but I am afraid that happens in a small hotel when guests return each year as they look forward to meeting friends they made the year before. They are not usually exclusive and we try to make all our clientes feel welcome. We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent five nights at the Belavista in August. Welcoming and helpful staff, great location to explore the area and spotlessly clean. The breakfast on the terrace is a fantastic start to any day. Whilst we were there the hotel hosted an afternoon for the orphans in Lagos, a lovely, generous gesture. Overall highly recommended and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your break with us. We will look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanstead, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at the Belavista for a week to celebrate my 50th birthday with friends and family and cannot complement it enough. Both the rooms and the food in the restaurant are faultless with the staff being very accommodating. If you go try and do the Barbeque night by the pool, its great food at a fantastic price. It isn't my first visit and it definitely will not be my last. If you want a quality relaxing holiday look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to help you celebrate the big event in style and thank you for you kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As the title suggests this is our 2nd review of the Hotel Belavista and I guess not the last....! If you have read the preceding reviews from visitors you will already be well informed about the Hotel, facilities and wonderful staff. Our children love being here and if they are happy we are happy (if could see me now I have a grin from ear to ear). "Jack food" what is Jack food? The Hotel has a poolside bar like any other poolside bar apart from it is run by Jack and his amazing team and this makes this the best poolside bar in the Algarve...! As Jack makes his way past the sunbeds in the morning towards the bar with his bag of goodies that he has either chosen from the market or personally harvested from the sea, there is excitement as people sit up in anticipation of what will be on the lunch menu. Makarel? Sardines? Squid? Sea Bream? Sea Bass? Mmmmmmm. It's obvious that they are proud to present this and really want the dish to be enjoyed. So, this review is dedicated to the Poolbar, not forgetting all the rest of the people who make the Belavista such a great place. (did I mention that the coffee at breakfast is the best I have ever had?).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you again for the generous comments. We are very lucky that our staff try to ensure that our clients see the best of Portuguese hospitality and Jack at the Pool Bar goes to great pains to see that everyone has the opportunity to taste local specialities. We hope that you continue to enjoy our hospitality here and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from another perfect holiday at the Belavista da Luz. We have visited the Hotel for numerous years now and it very reassuring to be greeted by the same friendly staff who are always willing to help you in any way they can. All the areas of the Hotel are cleaned to the highest standard every day. At breakfast you have a lovely selection of hot and cold food to choose from. Having the option to eat in the Hotel in the evening is lovely as there is a very good al a carte menu as well as a "specials choice"
The Hotel is at the top of a hill but a short walk to the village will take you to the beach and various restaurants. We always choose a large bedroom with a sea view. Thanks to Danny and all the team for a great time!

Room Tip: We always have chosen a large room with a sea view as we love to watch the sun go down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are so glad that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us and we hope to maintain and improve our service so that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family spent 9 nights at the Belavista hotel at the beginning of August 2013.
It was the first time we had stayed at the hotel and therefore were "newbees" compared to the majority of the guests who visit year after year.
The staff are the key to the success of this fantastic hotel,making guests not only feel welcome but part of a big family!
All the reviews i have read are true. The hotel is a safe and welcoming hotel, ideal for young families but not perhaps for teenagers.The restaurant has a good Portugese feel to it and provides good food at a reasonable price.
Having stayed once, we are now hooked and have just reserved three suites for April next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the top floor of the hotel to avoid lying in bed and listening to residents above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you were made welcome. It is our aim to create a relaxing ambience and it is good to know when we succeed. We hope that you will not be disappointed on your future visits and will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belavista da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.