We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belavista da Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belavista da Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Belavista da Luz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Luz
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a handful of times over the last 10 years and decided this year to stay for three weeks (9th to 30th May). We used the hotel as a base for exploring the wider Algarve, Alantejo and Seville by hire car. This hotel maintains very high and consistent standards of customer service, cleanliness and food. More importantly though it has the X factor so lacking from many larger hotels these days of personal service and friendliness. Many guests return regularly, some many times per year, and staff turnover is very low. This really is a rare gem of a hotel and long may it continue to welcome guests.

The surrounding area is nicely quiet and Luz/Lagos area provides a great base for walking/touring/relaxing holidays. The economy may be in trouble but the essential elements of people/environment/climate remain firmly in place making the western Algarve an unbeatable destination in our opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on reception level or above provide sea views and are a little quieter. For a bit more space t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased that you continue to enjoy a stay with us and that we did not disappoint on your longer stay. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings here in the Western Algarve. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    37
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
87
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weymouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we stayed at the bela vista in may for the third time we love it great rooms great hosts lovely pool area, food was excellent, about a five minute walk to the lovely village of luz a lovely safe beach there ,nice quiet rooms all overlooking the beautiful pool

Room Tip: we stayed in 3 different rooms all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you are continuing to enjoy our hospitality as we try to maintain and improve our service and returning customers are the markers for our success in this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Portugal and the hotel was recommended to us, the hotel is fantastic, the staff are very friendly, the owner told us on the first day if we wanted anything we had only got to ask, the rooms were clean, full size fridge in room and TV with English channels, food was great, pool was great, I good go on and on, anyone staying will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks. We are very glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us as we try to make everyone feel relaxed so that they return home refreshed from their stay. We hope that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having recently stayed at this hotel for the first time I cannot praise it highly enough.all staff were so welcoming and friendly,hotel itself spotless.never had such a relaxing holiday.breakfest was good,proper English breakfest and the usual fruits cereals etc.ate at the fort da Luz opposite church on way down to beach a few times,great meal in very nice place.also ate at the saffron Indian which was well worth a try.praia da Luz very much a hidden gem for a quiete relaxing holiday.already looking to go back to the belavista later in the year..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for you kind remarks. We are very pleased that your first visit to us was so enjoyable and we will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Kevin and Liz

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions - the reason - all the staff are friendly, helpful and cheerful.
Everywhere the hotel is clean and well maintained.
The pool bar and restaurant serve excellent food and drink.
We hope to return with the rest of the family soon.
Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your very generous review. We are glad that we are living up to your expectations and will try to improve on them in the future. We look forward to seeing you again and meeting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Portugal, and I must say definitely not our last. The hotel Benavista da Luz was the best hotel we have ever stopped in; and we have travelled all over the world. The staff were extremely helpful, (especially Anna at reception), and the waiters were most pleasant and entertaining. The facilities at the hotel were perfect with gym, tennis court , and swimming pools. Also available was a massage with Anna Carina, (Best massage I have ever had). All in all a wonderful holiday, thanks to the staff and most pleasant owner Vincent. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel, after an absence of ten years and found it as friendly and welcoming as ever - almost like we had never been away! The obvious difference is the absence of the original co-owner Derrick who was a larger than life character and we were very sad to hear he died in 2010. However his son Danny is keeping standards up, together with Vincente the other owner who provides service with a smile at breakfast every day. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so glad to hear that we did not disappoint when you returned to us recently. We try to create a welcoming and relaxing ambience here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belavista da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.