We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All members of staff smiled and made you feel most welcome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belavista da Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belavista da Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Belavista da Luz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sion
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“All members of staff smiled and made you feel most welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because others praised it. However, the warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff made every aspect of our stay a pleasure. It is also well planned, and bright. They keep it immaculate all over.
The breakfasts were excellent.
We would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are glad to know that you felt welcome . We hope that we will have the opportunity to entertain you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    37
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
96
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Agreeing with all the positive comments already posted I would like to praise the owner, Kate and her staff. I was there 30 March - 6 April and had the misfortune to be robbed in the street. Thanks to Kate's generosity I was able to make the many calls back to the UK, from the hotel phone.

Anna, one of the Receptionists, insisted on driving me to the Police station in Lagos to get the report for my insurance company - for which the Police charge you Eu13!!! - and then spent over an hour typing up an English translation for me, all on her day off.

All the staff speak excellent English and one of the waiters, whom I nicknamed Sinbad (you'll see why when you meet him) served us with Faulty Towers humour which was very amusing.

Travelling around by public bus is cheap and the drivers all seem to speak a bit of English and I found out at the airport that there is a shuttle mini bus to Lagos for around Eu24.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is 01 or above. The rooms start at 001 which is ground floor and most solo l...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that we were able to help in unfortunate circumstances. We do try to make our guests feel secure as it helps promote the relaxed atmosphere that we hope they can enjoy while they are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

On a couple of occasions every year since the opening of the Belavista Hotel, I enjoy a holiday at this wonderful Hotel that can best be described as having a “home from home” environment.

This Hotel has always been a favourite of our family, including my grandchildren who now join us for a few days each year to experience the family atmosphere and enjoy the children’s pool which is complimentary to the main pool.

The breakfast menu is extensive to accommodate everyone’s taste and the dining facilities are superb, again with a variety of menu that caters for most people’s culinary delights. Equally you can enjoy lunch around the pool in what is normally glorious sunshine.

I cannot emphasise how thoroughly enjoyable a holiday at the Belavista is, and for a thoroughly relaxing time on the Algarve they have to be commended”



Terry Wellard

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are always pleased to know that our efforts are appreciated and we strive to maintain and improve as well as we can. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet street, yet not far from the sea. My room was a generous size, very nice with a large balcony equiped with table and chairs and a sunlounger. I had a view over the two pools to the sea. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable.
There is a very large breakfast choice from various cereals and different kinds of fruit, juices, yoghurts, rolls, brown and white bread, croisants etc., to full english breakfast.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and the ambiente is all very pleasant and relaxed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our Hotel of choice in Praia da Luz. It's well located, with fabulous views (be aware that the walk down hill into Luz is great and takes about 3 minutes... however the walk back up the hill takes a little longer but is worth it!) All the staff are friendly and welcoming and it's like returning 'home'! The rooms are well appointed with lots of wardrobe and draw space. The suites, on the top floor, also have a separate sitting area and command the best views but the other rooms also benefit from the unique shape of this hotel, so that all the rooms have a sea view...they also have a balcony, spacious bathroom, (the suites have an additional basin outside, as well as inside the bathroom). They have a shower over the bath (shampoo but no conditioner), comfortable beds, TV and mini fridge... no problem in filling it up from the local supermarkets and the Belavista also, thoughtfully, provide a bottle opener for any wines you've decided to try, not to mention the tea and coffee making facilities!
The rate we had included breakfast, which is superb (see photo) there is something for everyone on the hot and cold buffet. A large selection of cereals are on offer, some fruit, a selection of breads and fabulous fresh portuguese rolls (don't worry you can walk them off later!) Then there is a 'hostess trolley' that keeps a large selection of hot items for you to help yourself to, everything from scrambled eggs (other types of eggs on request) to tomatoes, bacon, sausages, beans and fried bread! All complimented by the 'bottomless cups' of coffee, as well as teas, juices etc. This really sets you up for the day!
This restaurant is also open in the evening and is well worth a visit (or two!). The food is well cooked and reasonably priced with a set menu (as at march 2013) of 21euros per person, including half a bottle of wine or 18euros without wine. On Sunday there's even a Sunday roast!
The food is all fresh, tasty and plentiful. The service is excellent, very friendly and helpful.
I would also recommend the Bar, it has a variety of drinks, cocktail specials and the prices are certainly comparable to other 'outside' bar prices....
Altogether a very relaxing hotel, which I would highly recommend! We're already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: If you prefer sun on your balcony in the the morning or afternoon, then let the hotel know and I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odemira
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you are visiting somewhere with friends who have stayed before and are full of praise for the establishment, you feel that you are under pressure to say all of the right things.
No problem! Everything they had told us was spot on, from the welcome to the departure 4 days later we could find nothing to complain about. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that we lived up to expectations! We do try to maintain and improve our service here and it is good to know when it is appreciated .We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I and our friends have being staying at the Bella Vista now every year for some 13/14 years - the standards never fall, the staff are brilliant in their attention to their guests - the food is always first class and the hotel is spotless.

In addition to our holiday stays at the Bella Vist we have as a group of 24 golfers been going to the Algarve for the last 30 years to play golf - last year we switched our hotel to the Bella vista and we have just come back from this years golf visit. All the lads in the golf group have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff and have questioned why we took so long to move from our other hotel in Lagos.

My wife and I, our friends and their children and grandchildren are back at the Bella Vista in 10 weeks time and quite frankly we cant wait to get back - my wife always says it is like going to our second home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous remarks. We strive to maintain and improve our standards here and it is so good to know when we are succeeding. We look forward to your next visit and aim to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belavista da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.