We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly welcoming and very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belavista da Luz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belavista da Luz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Luz
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“friendly welcoming and very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our Hotel of choice in Praia da Luz. It's well located, with fabulous views (be aware that the walk down hill into Luz is great and takes about 3 minutes... however the walk back up the hill takes a little longer but is worth it!) All the staff are friendly and welcoming and it's like returning 'home'! The rooms are well appointed with lots of wardrobe and draw space. The suites, on the top floor, also have a separate sitting area and command the best views but the other rooms also benefit from the unique shape of this hotel, so that all the rooms have a sea view...they also have a balcony, spacious bathroom, (the suites have an additional basin outside, as well as inside the bathroom). They have a shower over the bath (shampoo but no conditioner), comfortable beds, TV and mini fridge... no problem in filling it up from the local supermarkets and the Belavista also, thoughtfully, provide a bottle opener for any wines you've decided to try, not to mention the tea and coffee making facilities!
The rate we had included breakfast, which is superb (see photo) there is something for everyone on the hot and cold buffet. A large selection of cereals are on offer, some fruit, a selection of breads and fabulous fresh portuguese rolls (don't worry you can walk them off later!) Then there is a 'hostess trolley' that keeps a large selection of hot items for you to help yourself to, everything from scrambled eggs (other types of eggs on request) to tomatoes, bacon, sausages, beans and fried bread! All complimented by the 'bottomless cups' of coffee, as well as teas, juices etc. This really sets you up for the day!
This restaurant is also open in the evening and is well worth a visit (or two!). The food is well cooked and reasonably priced with a set menu (as at march 2013) of 21euros per person, including half a bottle of wine or 18euros without wine. On Sunday there's even a Sunday roast!
The food is all fresh, tasty and plentiful. The service is excellent, very friendly and helpful.
I would also recommend the Bar, it has a variety of drinks, cocktail specials and the prices are certainly comparable to other 'outside' bar prices....
Altogether a very relaxing hotel, which I would highly recommend! We're already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: If you prefer sun on your balcony in the the morning or afternoon, then let the hotel know and I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    26
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
80
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odemira
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you are visiting somewhere with friends who have stayed before and are full of praise for the establishment, you feel that you are under pressure to say all of the right things.
No problem! Everything they had told us was spot on, from the welcome to the departure 4 days later we could find nothing to complain about. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that we lived up to expectations! We do try to maintain and improve our service here and it is good to know when it is appreciated .We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I and our friends have being staying at the Bella Vista now every year for some 13/14 years - the standards never fall, the staff are brilliant in their attention to their guests - the food is always first class and the hotel is spotless.

In addition to our holiday stays at the Bella Vist we have as a group of 24 golfers been going to the Algarve for the last 30 years to play golf - last year we switched our hotel to the Bella vista and we have just come back from this years golf visit. All the lads in the golf group have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff and have questioned why we took so long to move from our other hotel in Lagos.

My wife and I, our friends and their children and grandchildren are back at the Bella Vista in 10 weeks time and quite frankly we cant wait to get back - my wife always says it is like going to our second home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous remarks. We strive to maintain and improve our standards here and it is so good to know when we are succeeding. We look forward to your next visit and aim to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My mother has just had a one week stay on her own at this hotel, the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They ensured she was well at all times. The hotel is spotless and the food superb. She hopes to return again this christmas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We endeavour to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable and are glad that your mother enjoyed her stay with us. We look forward to seeing her again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed in the Algarve several times and have just come back from a week's holiday. We arrived late at the hotel to be greeted by a friendly member of staff who informed us that we had been upgraded to a sea view room and they had made some sandwiches for us and they were in the room. A fantastic surprise as we were both hungry after travelling a long way. The hotel rooms and hotel are spotlessly clean and The fridge, coffee/tea making kit and fresh fruit in the room were an added bonus. The breakfasts were really good and set us up for the day. The hotel facilities are good and lifts to all floors, the pools looked lovely but the weather was not quiet warm enough to enjoy them. We will certainly stay at the hotel again due to its good location and friendly staff. Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, Owner at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We know how important it is to feel welcome after a tiring flight and hope that our attention started your holiday well. We hope to be able to be of service again in the near future and send our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First time we had stayed at this hotel and would definetely go back. Stayed for two nights before our onward travel to a local villa we had hired. The rooms were spotlessly clean with great showers . Only ate in the restaurant for one night but food was delicious so too were the breakfast . Staff very friendly and welcoming certainly was a wonderful start to a lovely holiday. Thank-you Belavista

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton coldfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My first visit was in 2010 to recuperate from a triple heart bypass. My partner had stayed at Belavista after her husbands passing in 1997. She decided it would be an ideal hotel for us. What a fantastic hotel it is to such an extent we have been back in 2011 and twice this year. I have no wish to stay at any other hotel. Please do not change anything. The staff from Reception-Ana, Elke and Andreia, Restaurant-Carlos, Samuel, Jerome, Manel, Pool Bar-Jack and Philip. All these excellent staff members are supported by very hard working Danny. Kate and Vincente are very fortunate to have them perpetuating the Belavista philosophy of making sure all guests are given a very warm welcome and ensure their stay is memorable as nothing is too much trouble. The food never wavers from excellent and the rooms are as ever exceptionally clean( thanks to the cleaning staff). We have booked for June next year to ensure we won't be disappointed. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Belavista to anyone wishing to have a holiday in the equivalent of a 40 bedroom private villa because this is how it feels to us and staff feel like friends. See you soon.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony overlooking pool is an ideal place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do have an excellent team here for which we are very grateful and they strive to maintain and improve our 'country club' image. We look forward to seeing you again in June and hope that we still have the high standards expected of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belavista da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.