We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry & Football” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Av. dos Pescadores, Lt. 4 | Near the Church, Praia da Luz, Luz, Portugal
282 768 825
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Luz
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Curry & Football”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

we ate here twice over our visit to Luz, the staff were very friendly and accommodating to our every need regarding both drinks and food, they even sort the TV viewing for the world cup games

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    44
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best curry ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Visited this restaurant whilst on holiday. Freshly prepared food and all explained to us. The staff were extremely helpful and I can quite honestly say this is the best Indian I have ever had anywhere.
Can't wait to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

believe it or not we ate there not once but twice I think just to prove to ourselves how awful it was . 1st time wasthe wek it opend so we made allowances for the long wait for food and how disjointed the service was , some had meals others drinks timing was awful. Went back in the Oct and it was worse 1 family left having waited 1 hr another paid the bill but very vocal about how they would not be back Dinner arrived much like the previous visit , we had to point out that we had not had the table set with any cutlery eventually we rips the paper table cover at part to get napkins. The lady had no command of her staff and in fact a young chap she had employed a few week earlier went and sat down with his meal even though we were still waiting on food and drinks. She gave us much the same excuses as last time. Do yourself a big favour walk 10 more steps down the hill to the Pashmina and see how it is supposed to be done

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good freshly prepared curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Small restaurant but attentive service and good, freshly prepared, food. Very reasonably priced. Atmosphere good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST - Our Second visit, and it won't be the last😄”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Had another wonderful visit to Saffron. The quality of food is unbelievable and the staff are excellent. Once again, our children were made to feel very welcome and they loved the 'special' meal that was prepared just for them. Fantastic food, great ambiance and brilliant staff; all pulled together by an owner who takes personal pride in providing good service and authentic cuisine at a very affordable price. A massive Well Done! from us.
Excellent and heartily recommended for all visitors.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.