We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is worth travelling from Belfast to dine here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Av. dos Pescadores, Lt. 4 | Near the Church, Praia da Luz, Luz, Portugal
282 768 825
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 43 restaurants in Luz
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It is worth travelling from Belfast to dine here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I visit Lagos three times per year and love our indian food. We usually eat in Lagos but when we were over in Dec 2012 we took a taxi to the Saffron. It was well worth the trip even though the weather was bad on the night. The food well made up for the weather. The food was exceptional and we will be back again during our next trip in April

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    92
    31
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Praia da luz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The busiest place around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everywhere is quiet at the moment when dining out in Luz and Lagos, but I was delighted to find when we visited Saffron Indian restaurant in Luz once more that it was really busy.It is sighted in a row of restaurants including Pashmina another Indian restaurant, all of which were devoid of customers! Every picture tells a story and this certainly says that Saffron is the premier Indian restaurant in the whole area,
Once again we had a marvellous meal and great service Nothing is too much trouble and the chef will cook anything requested even if not on the menu
.A great night out once again, thank you Saffron!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place was great, the food was really tasty. As vegetarians, we had a lot of options. Meat and fish lovers would also have plenty to chose from. The use a traditional clay oven to make some of the dishes e.g. tandoori. There is a full bar. The man running the place was really welcoming and friendly, the combination of good food and nice people made it a perfect place to have dinner. There is outdoor seating, so you can enjoy the sea breeze and watch the ocean as you eat. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. I had chicken jalfezi and my wife had chicken palak. Both very good indeed. Friendly staff too. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire Uk
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This is REAL Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

When we go abroad we tend to eat the local cuisine so why eat Indian in Portugal? Reason: menu board said North Indian cuisine and we do know what that should taste like and we were not disappointed. So much so we returned for a second time.

The service was friendly and although we had to wait it was worth it because all the dishes were freshly prepared and cooked for us, the young waiter on the first visit was keen to point this out. It was a delight to taste the individual spices in the dishes. One can specify how hot you want a dish and it comes as that. Starters and main courses were all excellent and the Peshwari naan are the best we have eaten anywhere, including India. Portions are a good size.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.