We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luz's English Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Bar and Restaurant

The Bull Bar and Restaurant
Rua Da Calheta 5, Luz 8600-154, Portugal
+351 282 788 823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 43 Restaurants in Luz
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brixham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Luz's English Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I actually enjoy it here....been in for a few drinks, and enjoyed the large screen TV. Nice ambience, great view over Luz Bay. Seperate restaurant upstairs, I havent eaten there, so will leave others to comment. Restaurant does seem popular with both ex-pats and visitors, so I guess that is an indication....other reviews on here would suggest otherwise. I will certainly return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    34
    34
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice meals at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited the Bull on a a couple of occasions, and had decent meals both times. We chose to sit outside on the balcony which has a really nice view, although it must be said it is a small balcony, it only had three tables so you are probably best to book. The staff were very helpful and attentive and the food we had was nicely presented, tasty and of good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Avoid the ploughmans at all costs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice bar area and pleasant outside space with nice sea views. Toasties are tasty but expensive and restaurant which is located upstairs could do with an update. Food was ok but there are much better less expensive establishments in the area. As stated in another review the plough mans was a joke. Would suggest to take off the menu as v. poor quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Large outdoor tv for watching live sport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went went into this Bar/restaurant to have a drink and watch the boxing match on their large flat outside tv...... The place is bussy as it apeares to to on the main road in Luz. They have a large resturaurent upstairs, though we had already eaten...... we had a quick look, and it has great views over looking the sea...... The menu apeared expensive though, but cant coment on food quaility...

We had two cans of fanta drink, which came too 4 euros, which i felt was expensive.... the bar was very bussy, the bar has a cossy feelling, and apeared to be aimed at English tourists....... They sold range of bar snacks.... staff very friendly and chatty, and service witha smile..

Cant complain the Flat screen tv... where large, good picture quality, showing a range of live sporting events..... nice watching sport outdoor....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Come here for the Guinness and the TV but not the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Bull is not a place to eat if you are any kind of food lover - this is really basic stuff - sandwiches, toasties, breakfast sandwiches etc and basic in delivery as well as taste. The ploughmans is to be avoided at all costs - 3 slides pre-processed ham, some picalilli, some branston pickle, 1 slice bread and some lettuce. Breakfast sandwiches if you are hungry are OK (egg and bacon for example is passble).
If however you want a place to sit and watch the TV (Tennis / F1 / Footie) and drink cold guinness and diet coke then it will be OK.
Staff work hard but nothing can be done to save the bar menu.
We did not try the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to The Bull Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.