We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Bistro - CLOSED

Jake's Bistro
Rua 1 de Maio, 3 | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-174 , Portugal
919178127
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The menu had lots to choose from and was very reasonably priced. The potions were on the large side, overall very good value for money and good food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This restaurant doesn't look much from the outside, and then you have to go down a flight of stairs but keep going!! It's worth it. Great ribs, really reasonably priced. Would highly recommend. (They also play really cool music)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely place great value for money and very interesting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

great place .very interesting and good menu laid back relaxed service and prices were very goo i would have no problem recomending it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food hidden !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I agree that this is definitely a hidden gem. It looks strange that there was such a variety of food, which can put some people off, but DONT ! Walk down the stairs to a nice room/bar with good food and good service. I had the moussaka, which came with garlic bread and a large quantity of different salads. Followed by a peanut butter ice cream which was yummmmm ! We came here on our last night, but if I had found this at the beginning then I would have come back again !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited here July 2013. Place was less than half full. We ordered mozzarella sticks and garlic bread for starters. We ordered ribs and lasagne for main. We ordered cheesecake and ice cream for dessert.
Plus:
Great value
Large portions
All home made
Neg:
Hidden away so outside not appealing
Entrance had a few cobwebs and the menu's need to be laminated as were a bit worn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Bistro also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.