We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe a Fabrica

Cafe a Fabrica
At the Beachfront | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600 156, Portugal
+351 282 761 492
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beachfront restaurant with inside and outside dining. Daytime we serve lunches, snacks, fresh fruit juices, smoothies, teas, coffees, and great home made cakes (including gluten free options) Visit us in the evening for a full and interesting a la carte menu with an international flavour, carefully selected local wines, cocktails, kids menu. Bright and contemporary interior. Open 6 days per week through summer season. Closed Sundays
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Good lunch choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Service and food were good, definitely recommend this as a stop for lunch.

Fish cakes were excellent, pulled pork sandwich could have had more filling.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    69
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Small menu but very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Limited menu but starters and main courses very well presented and good value. Camembert, honey and almond starter very nice and well worth a try. Also had bresola - very good.
Whilst main course were very nice, unable to remember actual choices!! Strarters were however unforgetable

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My friends and I have recently returned from a holiday on the Algarve and we found Cafe a Fabrica last week whilst visiting Luz. The cafe is in a good location and as the weather was so beautiful (what else) we sat outside. We each had something different including the 'fabulous' fishcakes, which lived up to their name! Although we weren't too adventurous in our menu choices, what we had was excellent and those around us appeared equally impressed with their meals.

A great choice in Luz!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We left the beach looking for somewhere to sit in the shade for a spot of lunch & were initially attracted to this place by the attractive outside tables & colour scheme. Upon inspection of the menu it was definitely the right place. The staff were friendly & helpful & recommended that day the lunch special, freshly baked leek & sweetcorn quiche, still warm & fresh from the oven, served with fresh baked bread & salad - delicious! There was a good selection of light meals available & numerous drinks, we opted for the banorange, a blend of fresh squeezed orange juice & banana - also delicious. The freshly baked cakes looked fabulous too! Definitely recommend a visit..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best flavour in Praia da Luz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was avoiding this place for the first couple of days of our trip as I thought it was a burger joint so you can imagine my surprise when I was served a starter that wouldn't be out of place in a michelin star restaurant. The chef in here really knows flavour. The starter I had was figs with goats cheese, honey & rocket and the main was a pea & mint risotto with parmesan. Super service as well. Do not miss this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe a Fabrica also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Cafe a Fabrica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe a Fabrica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.