We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, with gooooood food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantico

Atlantico
Avenida dos Pescadores Lte 3 Rc-Esq., Luz 8600-130, Portugal
+351 282 788 799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 42 Restaurants in Luz
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, with gooooood food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had the brie starter and beef stroganoff. Both courses were lovely and the waiter was helpful in giving recommendations. The service was good and they were very friendly. Free appertif at the end, which was a lovely end to the meal. I would definitely come back here if I was in Luz ! Thanks !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I DON'T BELIEVE IT!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Despite this being my 12th consecutive year in Luz, Victor Meldrew here has never been to Atlantico. Why? I don't know. We went along with friends and had a wonderful meal. Great food - arrange your own sides - rice, veg, salad, chips etc - choose what you want with your main course.

We had stroganoff, steak, seabass, saltfish, seafood rice (for two), salmon steak - all succulent and excellent.

Mussels to start are beautiful and great value.

It's a little pricey but worth it for great food, attentive staff and even the chef comes out to ask how you are enjoying the meal. A nice touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good friendly service, nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Authentic portuguese cuisine, very helpful and friendly staff, especially as we had very young children with us. Algarvian speciality served in a "cataplana" was particularly good. My wife was temporarily lactose intolerant and the chef was very attentive and came to check with her at the table what would be OK with her. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favourite meal in Luz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Best meal of our holiday. Chicken with honey sauce was to die for and the pork main course the same. All cooked to perfection and like no other dish on offer in Luz that I could see.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You don’t want to miss when staying in Luz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We came across this simple but friendly Portuguese looking restaurant just on the sort of square to the waterfront next to the church in our effort to find some nice fish to eat.
My friend took the Codfish and I took the Sea Bass, it was served with free side orders to your liking and it tasted simply fantastic!
We new we had to come back, and so we did the next day (okay a bit soon, but we loved the place).
This time the friendly staff well recognized us and even prepared a nice special starter of fresh scallops (super!) and we both took the Sea Bass . It tated just as good as the day before confincing me, we were dealing with a great chef in a simple easy going but tasty restaurant you don’t want to miss when staying in Luz.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantico also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.