We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food & quick service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amici - CLOSED

Amici
Urb. St. James, Lt 5 V | Praia da Luz, Luz, Portugal
282
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food & quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were really pleased we found this restaurant on our first night in Luz. I had the prawn starter which was absolutely delicious- food looked and tasted amazing. Beautiful sea bass main course, and my boyfriend had a pizza he loved. We arrived quite late but this wasn't a problem, food arrived very quickly and we couldn't fault it at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    11
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great little Italian with friendly service and tasty pizzas. This was our fourth trip to Luz and we usually eat at the restaurants near the beach but this is worth finding. It's away from the other restaurants but great service and really good crispy pizzas. Can't believe I've walked past this place for four seasons and not visited ! Will be back next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Decided to eat italian for a change and read up various reviews of Amici and decided to try it - well couldnt find it first time so abandoned and eventually located further out of town another evening.
We were welcomed by the owner/family who explained we were third in queue to place order which was no problem as not in a rush so sat down with a bottle of wine. However looking around there were more empty tables than occupied. Eventually we ordered and our dishes arrived and the food was very good except the homemade dessert I wanted was all gone (by 10pm).The staff were very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You must try this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I always eat here when i stay at luz. Everything is just perfect. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food is outstanding and delicious, and the prices as you would expect for a quality restaurant. I particularly enjoy a snack of tuna monti mare pizza, it is to die for! Main meals that I can recommend are the pork with black truffle and the fish dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and ate here on the 18th of August and had a superb meal. The restaurant was fresh and welcoming and the service swift, friendly and extremely attentive. I ordered a seafood risotto which was fantastic. It was packed with seafood and cooked to perfection, the best seafood risotto I have ever eaten. So full of flavour!! A suberp evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.