We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baia da Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Baia da Luz
Rua Alfredo Nascimento Batista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Luz
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“shame about the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent a really nice week in Luz staying at the Baia apartments it's just a shame the weather did not make it a brilliant week. Having had a couple of hours delay we finally got to the apartments at around 10 o'clock. A call from the reception and the restaurant would stay open for us to get something to eat. Excellent when you need to feed two growing lads. When we finally got to the apartment we were not disappointed what a lovely place to spend a week(Two bedrooms two bathrooms.) They had everything you would need to self cater during your stay (except a corkscrew, but it has one now).The big Intermarche supermarket in Lagos would probably be the best place to stock up (only 10-15 mins drive) but the Spar has a good choice only 10-15 mins walk from the apartments.
The beach is only a 5 min walk with plenty of room and a few beach bars scattered around ok in October but probably very busy in the summer.
All the apt blocks are gated and security coded and the apartment we occupied had 4 different balconies so if the sun had been out we could have followed it around all day and not moved from the apartment. Two good sized pools to use but one for adults only (cannot see a problem for under sixteens using it if they are not causing a nuisance people that complain should maybe consider an adults only holiday!)
Overall the area of Luz is very nice and having stayed there twice already but in a different area would recommend it but these apts were excellent and the free WiFi in the reception area to offset the poor weather we had on a couple of days helped to ease the boredom of two teenagers. A relaxing week!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After our terrible summer we ordered wall to wall sunshine in Portugal for the first two weeks in September and wall to wall was what we got, it’s a great month to go there. In fact it’s pretty perfect, as long as you’re in the breeze and although our iPod showed three days of rain, after we left, it was when the whole of Southern Iberia was having freak floods and now it seems to have picked up again. We’d stayed nearby before, so we new the location was great, only a few minutes to the beach, supermarket and restaurants.
We did have one problem with the apartment, it was so good the bar for our expectations has now been raised, we holiday a lot but tend to go for average standards but this was excellent and not bad value for what it was. We booked a one bedroom flat but were given a two bedroom with mezzanine and a superb sun balcony, the flats seem to be privately owned, so it depends what the owners put in so we had no sun beds or WiFi. However, despite not bothering too much with the TV, we could watch regional news from the UK, although we had to go to the pub to watch the World cup qualifiers (such hardship) and there was a DVD player and a sound system.
The kitchen was fitted with good quality Siemens’’ appliances, dish washer, washing machine, fridge/freezer, microwave, cooker, grill and oven. The bathroom had a Grohe luxury shower head over the bath, my only grumble was a slippery bath, why can’t hotels put in non-slip ones and there was an on suite in the upstairs bedroom?
We were concerned we’d be in a fenced in complex but it was a set of blocks of flats built near each other, so it was just like having your own apartment with access straight to the street. Each mini-block had six flats, served by a lift and it worked and didn’t smell and there was TV cameras and codes on the outside door, although I don’t think there’s any problem with security in that resort but electric heavy shutters add extra security and we didn’t feel we needed to use the safety deposit boxes in reception. The only area with restricted access is the pool area, where there’s a coded gate, three pools, one for the little ones, one for families and one for adults only, where it was great not to have splashing little so and sos jumping in. There’s a pool bar, not too badly priced and an Italian restaurant, I can’t stand pizzas but we had one in the restaurant and another as a take away, they were so good.
Although there’s a supermarket nearer, we used Batista along the main road and stopped for a rest on the way back at the internet café, with the heavy shopping where his beer is cheap, it’s a hard life but on our second last day we discovered the supermarket will deliver free. We didn’t bother with a car, as public transport is good but it is a very pretty area.
All in all, full marks.

Room Tip: Go in September when it's quieter and try and get an upgrade to a two bedroomed flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent hours reading reviews for hotels in Portugal trying to select the perfect place to stay. In the end, we decided to go for somewhere in Portugal we had not tried before… From all that had been written, we knew it would be GOOD.

We arrived at the beginning of September, stayed eight days. The team at reception were pleasant…But there seemed no genuine smiles or warmth. We arrived about lunch time and had to wait for the room which was fine. We went to the Hotel Pool bar for some much needed food & a cool beer. A very small bar with a nice seating area to the side. Good food but not a lot of choice.
The pool area was clean and pool was warm & luxurious. There is a sign saying over 16 yrs only /adult pool, however, a few parents chose to ignore this. I was flabbergasted! The pool supervisor did sort the issue a few times & point parents and children in the direction of the children’s pool. Hotel grounds and common areas were immaculate

The apartment was lovely, spacious, modern, clean, well-lit, plenty of mirrors, sufficient wardrobe space, good shower, sky tv. Then there's the wonderful huge sunny balcony with views of the sea. The Kitchen was fully equipped- washing machine and dish washer & cafetiere too. The bed was quite low and I did not think the mattress was comfortable.
Each apartment block has a coded gate to enter- maybe we were just unlucky with the other guests in our block but the gate banged shut several times during the night and the lift made a noise like a doorbell when called. Rather annoying at 4am!
The hotel was great and LUZ itself was rather attractive but hilly and cobbled. The Beach was gorgeous as was the promenade.
I’m fussy about where I eat and it took me a while to find a few places I felt comfortable in. At 8am we were at the coffee shop in the local Supermercado Batista( a short walk away) for fresh coffee and warm pastries. Yummy.
The Fortaleza da Luz restaurant good food/ great views
Habana bar -Nachos/samosas live music
Junction 17 seventies music/ super cocktails
Kelly’s Bar relaxing nice and friendly bar. Lots of room inside and outside, on the busy street. Great for people watching & just watching the world go by.
Visited Lagos a couple of times. The bus runs regularly from Luz to Lagos 1.60 euros each person each way. Definitely worth the trip. We ate at Miam Miam
The food was excellent and plenty of it. The English waitresses were lovely & welcoming.
I would stay her again if I returned to Luz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Baia d Luz for five days in September. The weather was wonderful, the resort tranquil & the apartment excellent. Although we had booked a one bedroom apartment we were given a two bedroom which had the advantage of two bathrooms, ideal when returning from the beach & preparing 4 an evening out. The kitchen was very well equipped with large fridge/freezer, oven, washing machine & dishwasher & everything else you would need. Indeed everything was thought of even clothes pegs! All was perfectly clean & in new condition. The apartment was on the first floor accessed by a lift. All areas were gated & key coded for security & it all worked perfectly. The on site restaurant was excellent, both delicious food & friendly efficient service, we couldn`t fault it, & the sofa area outside the restaurant & bar was a perfect place to enjoy after dinner drinks & coffees. The staff did there utmost to meet your every need.
Baiai da Luz is very conveniently placed for both the shops/supermarkets, the beach & restaurants & bars, only a pleasant 5 minute walk. The beach is lovely & there were just the right number of places to find morning coffee, a refreshing drink, lunch or an evening meal.
We would definitely recommend both the Baia da Luz Hotel & Luz itself as a wonderfully relaxing holiday in the sun & will certainly be planning a return trip ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a really great time here. The apartment was so much more than we expected, quality, spacious and clean. The location was perfect with no noise in the evenings from people or traffic.
The complex was of a very high standard and the pools and tennis courts ensured that our 2 boys were occupied when they wanted to leave the beach.
It was our 1st time ever in Portugal and Luz was great for us, with a really nice beach, good selection of bars and restaurants and friendly locals.
We had a few trips out around Algarve and I have to say that we will be coming back for more exploring, but one thing will be definite and that is we will stay again in Baia da Luz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was an outstanding find...everything was perfect. Beautiful apartment with high standard of modern furnishings and the all essential air conditioning. Balcony overlooked the courtyard which was immaculately cared for...and took in views of the headland and sea. Pool was very clean and children under 16 not allowed...as there was a separate toddler pool....made it very tranquil. Location/proximity to the village of Luz was ideal as just a short walk of 10 mins to restaurants and beach.....very picturesque...A real gem of the Algarve for a relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment by the pool. or one which overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have been to Baia da Luz on three visits now, each time in a different apartment booked via owners direct - this is much cheaper than through any of the usual websites (booking, expedia etc) we never pay more than £450 for a 2 bed apartment whereas these sites usually quote around £700. Apartments are fabulous, spacious, modern and fully equipped and a home from home. Pool area is great, pools for adults only, pool for families and a great toddler/baby pool with a nearby play area with swings, slide etc. We go in September and its never too busy. Snacks, drinks etc available throughout the day. The onsite Italian restaurant is lovely and they are very accommodating with children. Luz is great with small kids, perfect beach and lagos is worth spending time in too,nice to wander round with lots of lovely little shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Address: Rua Alfredo Nascimento Batista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.