We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fatastic last minute escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirage Apartments

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mirage Apartments
Ramalhete Lote 1 | Praia da Luz, Luz, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty lodging in Luz
Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fatastic last minute escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This was a last minute decision to try Portugal and the Algarve for the first time before the Easter holiday rush. An excellent decison as the appartment was just what we had expected and Christian and Candice were superb hosts and helped us to acclimatise in a 'new' country! Location was ideal for day trips out to some interesting places and we had some useful advise on good local eating establishments, particulalry one in Lagos near the marina.
A very relaxing and enjoyable 4 day break and we look forward ro returning later this year. Many thanks to both of you for all your help and hospitality. It was most welcome!!

MIke & Andrea

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alness
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Excellent location, clean room, Christian and Candice were very good hosts, nothing too much bother. We had a hire car so were away most days. Been to the Algarve a number of times and would definately recommend the Mirage apartments to any one wanting a cheap, clean apartment only a couple of minutes walk from the beach. Ideal for excellent restaurants in the town. We did'nt visit many bars locally but other visitors said how good they were, all within easy walking distance. Golf courses, water parks, zoomarine all a short distance away, car advised but very good bus service. No swimming pool but preferred to swim in the sea. There are hotels nearby you can pay to use their pools. Believe there is also wi-fi available but we did'nt use it. We e-mailed Mirage before going out to ask if they could supply beach towels and there was no problem, saved baggage weight on plane, all in all a great holiday. Look forward to our next visit when hopefully their restaurant will be up and running. The bar staff, Steve and Steven were very friendly. We look forward to staying there again in future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doucomehereoften
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Booked a last minute trip to Portugal a couple of weeks ago. Just got the flights and then tried to find some accomodation. Found the apartments through owners direct on the Tuesday (we were arriving on the Sunday and it was peak season so we were pretty lucky). Emailed an enquiry and they got an answer back within 24 hours to say it was available. Normally you would need to pay by bank transfer 50% to secure the apartment but as it was so late in the day they just said we could pay on arrival which was fab. It was a young couple who were renting out the apartments. I think the girls mum is Portuguese and she moved there when she was 4 and her boyfriend is English (they both speak perfect English!). They also offered an airport pick up for 60 euros for one way for both of use. After shopping around realised this was cheaper than most other places and was literally door to door. We had a left it a bit late to get a car rental (if you are going in August defo book in advance as everything at a reasonable price was gone) so this was perfect. The apartment look much nicer in real life than in the pictures so we were pleasantly suprised. It was a pretty big studio apartment with a fully equipped kitchen (all the normal things - kettle, good fridge (important in the heat), toaster, oven, plates etc). It had 2 single beds pushed together to make a double but each with seperate sheets (we knew this before arrival). There was also a sofa and coffee table plus lots of wardrobe space. Very modern bathroom with a good shower. The bathroom backs on to a courtyard for the Mirage pub which is suited behind. In the ad it says the apartments are little cheaper due to this as it might be a little noisy. We actually werent disturbed at all. We just made sure we shut the bathroom window at night and the door and it was fine.

Each of the 4 apartments has a smaller terrace with a table and chairs at the front. This was lovely to eat your breakfast or have a few late night drinks. The owners were really really helpful. They gave us loads of advice about things to do (recommend Slide and Splash waterpartk) and where to eat etc. This is an amazing spot for fresh fish. They were always on hand to help if we needed anything or had any questions. They also provided us with beach towels at no extra charge. I think the couple before us had left a beach umbrella and a radio so we also had use of that too. I am so fair skinned so defo needed the umbrella. There was also some English speaking books to read and tourist info on the area. If you are a reader there is a charity shop across the road with hundreds of english books. I think the apartments are cleaned once a week but as we were only there one week we didnt have them cleaned or the sheets changed. If you wanted to clean yourself there was all the products and cloths etc already provided

We really like the location as we werent able to hire a car it meant we could walk everywhere. There is loads of watersports you can do down at the beach, restaurant and supermarkets all within a 10 minutes walk. Though the apartment didnt have a pool you can pay to use the pool at the 4 star hotel by the beach. I think the resort was Hotel Luz (cant quite remember) it was basically a straight walk down the hill from the apartment and it was 11 euros for the full day there. Good for a change from the beach.

If you are looking for a cheap accomodation with friendly owners and access to insider local knowledge would defo recommend staying here. We would stay again.

Oh yeah another plus was there was a stand up fan in the apartment which you could use at no extra charge. Excellent on a hot day. Also there was free WiFi. I didnt know before we went so didnt bring a laptop. There is also free parking if you are lucky enough to get a rental car

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We booked into the mirage apartments in early february for a 4 night stay. Our booking was made last minute but we had no problem getting things organised with them and they helped organise our transfer from the airport to the hotel which was one less thing to worry about as we hurriedly left England.
I found the apartment on Owners direct and basically picked it because it was one of the cheaper options and its pictures looked promising but as we pulled up to the apartments i was a little nervous that maybe i should have booked something a little more expensive. Luckily the apartments are great and a bargain for what they have to offer. The apartment itself is large and had good storage space so that it was very easy for us to quickly settle in.
The woman who runs the apartments has lived in the village all her life and suggested a great restaurant called the blue door for dinner that night and we enjoyed a great typical portuguese meal and highly recommend the restaurant!!!
For lunch each day we cooked in the apartment as its well fitted and the local supermarket is a short walk away. Although the weather wasnt great it was good enough to stroll down to the beach which took a couple of minutes and the beach really is lovely.
We had hoped for a short romantic break away from London and that is exactly what we got. The western algarve is spectacular and next time we visit it would be nice to visit the west coast. Overall a great stay! thank you!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirage Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Apartments

Address: Ramalhete Lote 1 | Praia da Luz, Luz, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty lodging in Luz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirage Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mirage Apartments to your Saves list