We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous 50th Birthday party!!.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortaleza da Luz Restaurante

Fortaleza da Luz Restaurante
Rua Igreja, No 3 | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-149, Portugal
282.789.926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 43 restaurants in Luz
Price range: $31 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: 17th Century Fortress serving traditional Portuguese; freshly prepared, locally sourced with breath taking views across the coastline.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stupendous 50th Birthday party!!.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After looking at several venues to host a 50th birthday party for 40 people we decided that Fortaleza da Luz ticked all the boxes and how right we were!.The location and setting is second to none in the area and as we were such a large group we arranged to have the private deck room for our sole use as well as being able to mingle with other diners and use the terrace and bar area,which meant plenty of room for all of us.The care and attention Luc (the owner) and his fantastic staff gave us both in the planning beforehand and on the day itself was first class to say the least and just could not have been bettered.Most of the guests had not been there before so when they arrived they were 'blown away' immediately by the setting and when the sumptuous buffet was unveiled they were even more impressed,it was absolutely fantastic in all aspects and looked almost too good to eat so beautifully was it presented!.The food was both plentiful in its choices and its quality and even our group couldn't finish it all off on the night despite their best efforts,but this didn't pose a problem because anyone who wanted to take some home with them was encouraged to do so by the staff!.
I couldn't not praise or recommend Fortaleza da Luz highly enough for anyone else wishing to do something similar or just go and have lunch,dinner or in particular the Sunday jazz lunch,its fantastic and you will not be disappointed.
Thanks again to Luc and his great team from all 40 of us from Manchester and in particular Diane who was the birthday girl - you gave us all a day we will not forget!.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    84
    87
    59
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Have eaten in this restaurant on a number of occasions over the past 4-5 years and have never been disappointed. This year had the mother in law and mother with us which can make eating out a little more difficulty. Both found this restaurant to their liking and enjoyed the food, the ambiance and the view especially during sun set.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely views and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we ate at fortaleza da luz on our first night in luz, we arrived just before sunset and seated on the terrace we watched the sun disappear. the view and the atmosphere were lovely. the waitress spoke good english and was attentive. we had melon with mountain smoked ham and asparagus with hollandaise sauce, the melon with the ham was lovely, the asparagus were overcooked but the hollandaise sauce was lovely. we had prawns in garlic and grilled seabass for main, both lovely and cooked really well. we shared a pudding of creme caramel which was again lovely. the bill was around 70 euros which is more than we have paid in other restaurants but i dont mind paying for good quality food. would definatly come here again on our next visit to luz.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Been coming to the algarve for 20 years and I would say it is one of the best meals we have had.
Table of six and we all had something different menu was very varied and interesting Staff were all very friendly and attentive. very user friendly for the eldery.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Review The View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There’s better and cheaper food in the resort but there’s no doubt you’re paying for the ambience and view and it’s worth it just for that, watching the sun set, from the ramparts, way out over the rocks and sea, was stunning. We were there a couple of years ago and the service has picked up a lot and the food is expensive but good, the trouble with Praia da Luz is that there’s loads of very good restaurants, it is hard to beat their standards, this place just meets them but at a price. Still we’d recommend it any time. http://www.fortalezadaluz.com/

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortaleza da Luz Restaurante also viewed

 
Luz, Faro District
Luz, Faro District
 

Been to Fortaleza da Luz Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortaleza da Luz Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.