We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praia do Burgau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Praia do Burgau to your Saves list
Praia do Burgau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Da Fortaleza 37, Luz 8650-111, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

this hotel set on the hill side is excelent value for money,travel republic 13 euro per night or 15 higher in the season ,with breakfast.the rooms are clean fresh and were maid every day some have a sea view but thats not important as it is dark when you are in the room so cannot see it any way,the hotel serves a continental breakfast,bread cheeze ,ham etc and there are fridges in the rooms to store the extras you may buy from the best corner shop ever,situated in the town opposite the bus stop,which even sells heinz salad cream. There is also a english cafe on the beach slip way that serves a full english for 5 euro BRIZZIE. The staff are a credit to the hotel and all speak and understand english.The hotel is on a street that leads through the main sq to the beach which is no more than 250 away .The streets of portugal are made of cobbles and some are quite steep so high shoes are not recomended. You can get a bus to lagos the nearest buisy small town or wak along the cliff path to prai da luz,sturdy boots or trainers are recomended for that. 5 times a day on week days you can get the bus 1.60 e way to lagos and check the times coming back,failing that a taxi is about 12/15 euro, avoid school times.When i was there it was early may, it was very quiet no kids screaming , dogs barking or motorcycles with the exhaust cut off racing round at all hours and there are no clubs just quaint little bars and restaurants,altogether a thoroughly excelent relaxing time .I booked 3 nights and stayed 19.remember there is nothing else to do here but eat drink and sun bathe RESULT

Room Tip: they are all the same but some as i said have a realy nice view ,but i suppose its first come first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Value for money, very clean, friendly, good continental breakfast, near beach, quiet picturesque village, great restaurants and especially fab beach bar. Recommend for couples, solo, friends, anyone wanting a quiet break. Steep hills down to beach. Have returned many times and will continue....Paradise!

Room Tip: Level 4 has best beach views and sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkelljunga, Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is a 3star, clean and comfortable. We had a room with a nice view over the ocean and village. The balcony was convenient. The bathroom was big and clean, the bed comfy and we had everything we needed. We had breakfast at the hotel and it had all you needed. The service in the hotel was good. Just a short walk downhill was the local beach. The walk home was tougher though...uphill! We had a meal in the restaurant on the top of the hill, but it is not to be recommended, below average, but a nice view. We also went for drinks in the evening and although it's a very small village it had a couple of nice bars filled with people. It is a very quiet place though so it depends on what you want from your vacation. We wanted to relax so it was perfect. when we go to this area again next summer we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Burgau is the best kept secret in the Algarve.
Small, quaint, great beach and restaurants are all you need to unwind.
The Burgau Beach Hotel was a great base from which to enjoy this town, especially when traveling on a budget and particularly during the September/October shoulder season. The rooms were small but clean and even a room with a partial sea view gave a great vista over the town and the Med. Location was great in that everything in the town is within walking distance.
Breakfast was average.
The staff were very accommodating in extending our stay without having to change rooms at all.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is also the only hotel in Burgau! Only moderately sized but has a nice quiet private pool area and comfortable loungers. The snack bar provides umbrellas when asked and didn't seem short of supplies.

The rooms were very clean and well appointed apart from not having hairdryers and I did need to ask twice for coat hangers for the wardbrobe! Our room had a small balcony but no view, wasn't an issue as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

There is a lot of room noise but what can you expect??

Breakfast was the same everyday but plenty of it, not sure what else they could have put out really. Things were constantly being replaced. Have to say thought the coffee machine was awful.

Didn't try using the bar, never anyone around and it was in darkness at night.

All in all, a nice litlle hotel with friendly staff in a good location.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony with a sea or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here end of June. Hotel clean and tidy, rooms cleaned daily. Pool area adequate no scramble for loungers.No pool towels. Self Service continental breakfast served between 8-10am. food etc covered with cling film No flexibility in these times even if playing golf early or going on a day trip,tried 3 times and were refused by reception staff. Hotel and room(first floor) didn't have safe facilities which caused problems regarding valuables when balcony door couldn't be locked. Requested this to be addressed but still hadn't been rectified when i checked out 7 days later
Close to lovely bay/beach.
Couple of nice restaurants within 300m especially Ancora highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had room 107 on first floor above rear entrance, small balcony with patio door which could not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

So, here goes this is my first review! I saw mixed reviews on it, so I thought i'd try share my experience as I came back two days ago . My transfer was late, so we didn't arrive till 3am, but we got given the keys to our room and first impressions were that it was very clean! The bathroom was massive, very very clean and had many hand rails for safety. Only disappointed with the mini light over the mirror didn't work, and there wasn't a hairdryer provided so had to buy one in the local shop. Also disappointed that we had a balcony- but no balcony chairs so me and my partner could not sit outside. Other than that, we booked 4 trips whilst there and the reception staff are so helpful. They gave us directions to the shops, bus stop and we couldn't read the timetable to go into Lagos.. so they printed off a timetable and highlighted our stops and times. Also when we were leaving there were 2 entrances to the hotel, she was helping us with our transfer. The pool area was very nice, pool very very cold though!! The sunbeds were brilliant thick and comfy. I don't see how people can blame the hotel staff for umbrellas in the pool as Portugal is very very windy, that you can't even put the umbrellas up. We had one in the pool too but it was sorted out. The hotel walls are thin so you can hear people come and go, but most hotels you can, and I'm at uni so i'm used to it anyway so didn't effect me. The maid is brilliant, lovely lady! She serves breakfast and made our rooms everyday (except sunday). We didn't realise breakfast was included until like the third day in, but it was okay. Only serve cereal, bread, ham & cheese. The beach there is gorgeous and only 1 minute walk away. Overall i had a fantastic holiday and I would recommend this hotel, it is cheap so i was expecting the worst but one of the cleanest hotel rooms i've ever been too!! I went away to Rhodes the week before to a 4* and it wasn't as nice as this. Anyway, hope this review helps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Praia do Burgau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia do Burgau

Address: Rua Da Fortaleza 37, Luz 8650-111, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Praia do Burgau 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offer unique senior tourism. Here has all the security you need, our team of physician, nurse and assistants always present. You can enjoy walking by region, gymnastics food coming directly from the sea activities created by our employees.Come and meet us we have a unique offering of senior tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Praia do Burgau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Do Burgau Hotel Luz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia do Burgau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.