We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous townhouse but not for under 5s, or in peak season.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Baia

Vila Baia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vila Baia
Save
You added Vila Baia to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Alfredo Nascimento Batista | Praia Da Luz, Lt. 35, Luz 8600 152, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Luz
letterkenny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous townhouse but not for under 5s, or in peak season.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We are a couple with 2 children, 3 y old and 23months. We stayed at Vila Baia, Block M, no 40, in october 2010, booked through owners direct. The townhouse was great - 2 separate apartments but the owner gave us the lot for €65 per night. Very modern, spacious, clean and secure. Furnishings geared more to bachelor golfers than families - glass, timber, leather. Not homely, but very hi spec. However our hearts sank when we first arrived. 2 steep flights of stairs inside and one outside. We had to do some diy barricading to contain our busy toddler. The house has great balconies on the 1st floor - one east facing overlooking the pool, the other west - but again we had to be careful - there is a large gap between the balcony railings and the floor through which a toddler could easily slide. There are 2 adult pools, one moderately heated, and a kids pool, v cold. In October, with most of the townhouses seemingly unoccupied, there were plenty of beds available around the pools. During peak times it must be hellish, as pool-side space is very sparse. We discovered that an indoor pool/spa at a sister-development, Estrala da Luz, 15 mins walk away, is available to guests for - I think - €15 per week, which is great for use on wet days. They actually let us use it for free. The kids play area is small, with nothing for children under 3. We didn't get a chance to try the onsite restaurant but another guest we spoke to gave it a glowing report, having eaten there 3 times. The complex is a 5 minute stroll to the lovely beach and promenade. There is a bakery and 2 supermarkets 10 mins walk away. If you plan to fully self-cater here be prepared to stock up from scratch - cooking oils, condiments, wash-up liquid/detergents, loo roll etc. Overall we had a very good experience here, but would not go back with young children.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed in Vila Baia Apartment for 3 nights in September. It is a modern big complex of spacious modern apartments just 5 minutes from the beach in Luz. At the frist sight it was "Wow!". Though we booked just a studio, we were given an apartment with 2 bedrooms for the same price (more than reasonable 59Euro). Fully furnished well equipped with all you may need ( all kitchen staff with oven and microwave and dishwashing machine), sattelite TV, etc.
But when I came to the bathroom I was unpleasantly surprised: it looked like it was not cleaned after the previous guest stay. Bathtub with spots from water, and only according to clean towels we can be sure that someone cleaned apartment. Then I noticed large dirty spot on the blanket in one of the bedrooms.
During the day some more problem were found: door handle in one of the bathroom was broken and came into two parts in my hands, satellite TV did not work since there were no card inside the receiver, I found the manual from the hair-dryer but no hair-dryer itself.
At this stage I decided to call to reception...
But phone was out of order as well...))))
Of course I came to recetion desk and next day problem with dirty banket, hair-dryer and phone was fixed. But the apartment was not cleaned though maid for sure visited our apartment since dirty blanket was changed. And door handle was not fixed. So next day I put the broken handle on the table and, at last, it was repaired...
Other problem was moscitoes at night, so be sure to close all windows on the evening!
By itself each case was not significant, but in total the impression was spoiled...
Though of course taking in consideration the price it may be a good place for long stay of bug family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Were there for last week of August/First week of September.

Rooms:
This is where they excel, we had a two bedroom, two bathroom, with living, dining and full kitchen with clothes washer. The furnishings are first rate, plasma TV's, granite countertops, very spacious and modern and clean - this is a 10/10.

Resort Facilites:
I went to play tennis under the Jonathan Markson program - the tennis facilites and instructions are first rate - well done. Pools are very nice, can get crowded, water temprature is cold - not sure why. One point, this is a saftey item - the pool life gaurd spent a lot of time at the bar, she was not drinking, but socializing, and not really attending to the pool, god forbid something bad should happen. 8/10, lose a point for saftey and a point for cold water.

Restaurant
This is an issue, they take a long time to make anything, and charge a lot of money for it. We went for lunch a couple times, and that was more than enough. My advice, is bring a sandwich or go into town - 4/10.

Surroundings:
Praia du Luz is a very nice town, make sure to hit Antonio's, the fish and chicken are outstanding, service is also outstanding. Also - if you like indian - try Pashmina. The beach is fabulous, water was warm, good for body surfing. As for groceries, if you have a car drive towards Lagos - and hit the big grocery store - cheaper, better, fresher than the ones in town. Lagos is a great town, 5 min drive and has a great vibe, food, nightlife - for sure a 10/10

I will be back for sure. Overall, 9/10.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Villa Baia or Hotel Baia da Luz is two names of the same resort and are located centrally in the cozy Praia da Luz. We (mum, dad, two sons 4 and 7 years of age) stayed here for two weeks in July/August 2010

The huge appartement is of the highest standard we ever experienced and have "everyhing" you have at home. Our appartement seemed completely new, like noone else had stayed there before.

The pool area has two big pools and a childrens pool. The leisure area is not big and can be crowded. It is very beautifully designed and when we did not got a sunbed beside the pool, we layed down on the soft green lawn only 5 meters from the poolarea.

Within 10 meters (!) we had the playground, childrens pool, the big pool, the poolbar, the lawn where we played "beach-tennis" and the tenniscourts. Fantastic when you have small children ! If you do not like children, this is not the place for you. There were a lot of families and the are poolarea is compact. But it is a smart thing to have two big pools, where in one the children only can be if with an adult.

The Alloro Restaurant beside the poolarea has some really great food - some of the best pizzas I have ever eaten. But be patient if you have your lunch here - it takes time, but perferct when sharing a sangria. The restaurant has a box with toys the children loved.

The hotel and restaurant staff is very nice and easy to share a joke with. We got perfect help with arranging some tours and booking of taxi. The negative experience was that a couple times nothing happened when we asked for something to be fixed in the appartement (t.ex. toiletpaper). We were told that we would have clean towels twice a week, but we experienced that they were changed almost every second day.

Praia da Luz is a very small and beautiful place, but to be honest: quite boring. After a couple of evenings you have seen what there are to se - several times. It was very difficult to get place for dinner if we had not booked a table, and I do not like to have to decide place and time for dinner the day before.

In stead we several evenings took a taxi to Lagos, which we loved. Cozy narrow streets and much to see. We found a restaurant in the main pedestrian street serving great portugese food. The tables were placed in the middle of the 4 meter wide street. On one side the children could watch the aquarium with crabs and lobsters and on the other side the backside of a toy store. Cantina Algarve is recommended.

The beach in Praia da Luz is perfect. The sand is nice and water was shallow and calm exept of one day. There place eneough to play without have the feeling of disturbing others. We preferred to go to the part of beach under the cliffs where there were no sunbeds and parasols for hire.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Vila Baia,
what can I say? Wide screen TV, sky box, sound system,diswasher, washing machine, kitchen utensils I dont even have in my own kitchen at home.
The most modern and up to date apartment I have ever stayed in.
Thanks for the milk, tea, coffee and bottle of water in the fridge on arrival by the way.

You can't fault it really. Except for the fact it took them four days to get us a clothes horse (clothes dryer), that would actually stand up on all twos.
(we were leaving in three days by the time it arrived), a neccessity considering you had to pay for clean towels.
But they did provide us with free ones, just for the inconvenience I assume.

Alloro serves the best fillet steak ever tasted. Thats the adjoining restaurant.
There is no competition. Paris, Rome, etc, we rated the vila baia adjoining restaurant the best steak ever.
In saying that it will be thrown at you by a rather gruff member of the female serving staff, but who cares about her? The steak... I had to go back for seconds, on a separate evening of course.
In a locality of fish, fish and more fish, (which is the best by the way),Alloro and Vila Baia itself is an oasis in the deserted.

Luz, well, its a ghost town.

If you have about three kids under four and they've tired you out all day, and you want to go to bed by eleven, this is the perfect place for you.

If like me, you like to eat late on holiday and stay up until at least 1-2am for a drink or two after your meal, seriously go elsewhere, Alvor, Lagos etc. Even the perfection of Vila Baia can't save you from the boredom of Luz.
The streets are deserted at 11.30pm, errily so. I may as well have gone to the back behind of Clare.
The poolside was a bit anoying, I wanted to relax and to be honest it was a bit too hectic at the pool. There was a policy of no noise, but while entertaining, two little girls were having a fantastic time running and diving between the two pools... constantly, shouting and screaming all the way.
I looked at the pool attendant who was stuck in a book, not wanting to be disturbed from said book, and realised that I should bring my earplugs the next morning.

Beds are tough enough to come by, what they don't tell you is that the pools are available not only to your immediate complex but also to other "lots" belonging to the same management company. I booked through holidaylettings.co.uk so perhaps this is something that the company tell you if you book with them directly.

The portuguese staff are a bit clueless, but fumble along. I couldnt decide whether they were just direct or disinterested.. With the exception of Victor on reception who is a smiling lovely person,of great help.
Indeed the reception staff are very nice in general.
And no fears of the cleaning staff, both ourselves and the adjoining apartment left our euros out on the counter and nothing is touched at all.
There is no safe in the rooms, which is a bit disconcerting, you have the option of renting a safe "facility" from reception but I didnt know if that meaning carring a safe back to the apartment or being apart from my passport up the road at reception, for a fee, so I locked it in my suitcase..

Would I go back to Vila Baia, yes, if it was zapped up doctor who style, and placed in another village.

Bit of a shame its in tumbleweed town ...and I dont look for much to entertain me, in fairness.

The beach is lovely, and there are a few English around who seem to want to help you with everything. Odd. :D

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Vila Baia's apartments were clean and well equipped with great facilities (2 swimming pools and a kiddies pool, children's play park). Security was good with password controlled entry into the apartment blocks and central swimming pool areas. Only a few minutes walk from the beach and restaurants so no need to hire a car if you don't want to. Praia da Luz as a resort is lovely, there are several nice restaurants and the resort is quieter than nearby Lagos (which suited us down to the ground). Lagos is only a short 10 minute taxi ride away (cost us approx 16 Euro return trip) so it's well worth going to visit on a day-trip to do some shopping and visit a more lively place for a change of scenery.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We have stayed in Vila Baia for 3 nights on May. Great time, clear pool, nice destination, friendly personal. Got 2 floor appartment with 3 terraces and 1 balcony.
Was just fantastic stay..
If there would be a direct flight to Faro from our destination, would spend there more time and more often.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Baia

Address: Rua Alfredo Nascimento Batista | Praia Da Luz, Lt. 35, Luz 8600 152, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Vila Baia Hotel Luz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Baia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.