We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Little Deer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Restaurante

The Dolphin Restaurante
Rua da Dalheta | 14a - Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
282 789 992
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
nottingham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It's a Little Deer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It’s not the cheapest but as it’s South African, well when will we get a chance to try South African food, it cooks everything from Ostrich to sweet curry but no Dolphins. You need to book and we went twice, I even had the Portuguese steak, which flattened me but I wasn’t keen on one of the African stews but that’s just my tastes and the portions are big. The manager always makes a point of saying hello and there’s a lovely ambience, the view isn’t much but we helped the waiter keep an eye on his smart sports car, in the narrow street below. http://www.dolphin.praiadaluz.eu/

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    76
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I found this experience disappointing. To begin with the restaurant seating is split into 3 areas, front of house where the chairs look very conforable, the veranda which has the nicest views but the tables and chairs are not quite so plush, and the bit at the back where the chairs are like siting on the naughty step, rock hard and bolt upright, not nice at all. Guess where we were.
The wine we asked for was out of stock so i took the next one up on the lst, it was ok but expensive.
I had the spiced beef starter which didn't light my fire at all, plain oily and served with a bread roll. I ordered the forestiere steak which was overcook and smothered in bacon and chicken pate. Without doubt the worst steak i had the whole holiday.
Maybe i just didn't chose well but I wont be rushing back for a return visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were not made feel very welcome, staff were cold, lacked manners and hospitality skills. We tried to make conversation with the male waiter as he was serving us and he just ignored us and looked the other way. Food was average, felt like they were full of their own self importance. We went to another restaurant called aquiro up the road and there no comparison, very friendly staff, great food and great value. They gave us a free round of drinks, ordered stuffed crab to start and the waiter advised me to share it as it was a large portion instead of just letting me order it to make money. Everything was delicious and the place is quirky.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great South African food for a change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great to try a taste of South Africa in the Algarve; new food we'd never tasted before and different because it was in Portugal! Busy restaurant with excellent service from the owner showing how popular it is. Just great food and service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dronfield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“LOVELY RESTAURANT EXCELLENT FOOD!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been here before and never been disappointed.Have always had the fillet steak which has been beautifully cooked and the restaurant itself has a lovely ambience and attentive staff including the owner Wim.You need to book .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Restaurante also viewed

Luz, Faro District
 

Been to The Dolphin Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.