We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Olive Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Olive Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lardos, Lardos 85109, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and loved every second. We checked in just after 11pm so missed the drinks, we did buy a bottle of water from reception which was fine but this was only offered to us from the lovely gentleman on security who showed us to our room.

We stayed in room 701 which was the building at the back of the hotel by the second pool. The room over looked the pool and was above the bar, it got a bit loud at night with the music BUT 9xs out of 10 we was downstairs enjoying the alcohol and music anyway.

The room was basic, a little dated but was clean and did exactly what it needed to do. The cleaners came in every day to tidy up and change the sheets for us (unless we put the sign on the door) which I thought was brilliant. Apparently these rooms are being updated to the luxury apartments, I really hope this is the case because I'd love to try them out!

The food and drink was great, waffles with honey or chocolate for breakfast were just to die for!! There was always a good choice of food to eat, even for the super fussy like my boyfriend, he didn't go hungry! The alcohol was served in great portions and you could taste it. I liked that they allowed you to get more then one drink at a time, I know some hotels will only serve you one drink but here me and my boyfriend took it in turns to get rounds.

We treated ourselves to a massage which was lovely, the young girl that did it was very professional and extremely good at her job.

The beach was a short walk away and the sea was lovely and warm to swim in, the pool was FREEZING! Even in the heat it was just too cold. We went to the water park one day, a free bus services runs Mon-Fri which saved us a small fortune, it took about 2 hours to get to the park but as it was free you cant complain at all!

Lardos Village was a 20 minute walk away, there wasn't much to do in there but Memories cocktail bar and Valatina's restaurant were well worth the walk.

I've saved the best to last, the staff. They were so helpful, so friendly, so kind, they always stopped to say hello and ask how your day was, what you'd been up to, if you was enjoying yourself, they truly made you feel at home!!

I would certainly return to this hotel in the near future, its the kind of place to go that's out of way, quiet and peaceful, your not hounded every time you turn the corner by reps, there isn't groups of randy teens or screaming kids, it was perfect. I will be treating my Mum to a trip here one day (If shes lucky!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    25
    14
    17
See reviews for
53
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Myself and grand daughter have just returned from this hotel. We found it quiet and peaceful but with bus stop close by to reach the rest of the island. I can only echo others. Good food, variety of food; friendly helpful staff, always smiling;well kept gardens and pool areas;easy walk to local beach;everwhere spotlessly clean;so all in all a happy experience.

Room Tip: There were only two of us in a family room on the third floor so spacious. A good view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went to the Olive Garden based on previous reviews indicating that this hotel was a "hidden gem" and good value for money. On arrival the check in was fast and efficient and we were shown to our family 3 bedded room situated right by the third floor restaurant. The room was basic but perfectly adequate for our needs.
We had a good view of the pool area and the room was clean, tidy and had a newish feel to it. There was a slight problem when the door handle fell off when we went out for dinner but this was repaired immediately. A day or two later our toilet seat came off, but again this was sorted very quickly and without fuss.
There was a limited but reasonable choice of food for all meals and the food was of a reasonable standard.
It was a shame that the pool bar nearest the reception did not have tonic water so if you fancied a drink with tonic during the day you had to go to the second bar a few minutes walk away. Not ideal but no real problem
Both pools were good and the sun bathing areas adequate.
Anastasia was our hostess at the one pool bar and she was a gem. Friendly , informative and constantly smiling, Anastasia was a great asset to the Olive Garden. Esta, who was in reception was also fantastic with nothing too much trouble.
All inclusive drinks again were limited in the choice, but this did not prevent us having a lovely holiday.
Poolside snacks were not fantastic and ice cream is only served to children under 12 and limited to a couple of hours each day.
The location of this hotel is the only real negative for me. There are no shops, bars or other restaurants in the immediate vicinity but a taxi ride will find bars and restaurants and if you want shopping then Lindos is about 15minutes by taxi. Rhodes town is about 40 minutes away.
All in all a lovely 3 star hotel and we have already booked to return next July.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the reception block, these are new and/or recently refurbished. However we unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from one of the best holidays we have had. We decided to book to go to the Olive Garden after reading all the five stars reviews on here and it did not disappoint.
Arrived around midnight and as we pulled up at the hotel it looked lovely. We were given a very warm reception and taken to our room (304) which was located in the renovated part of hotel, the room was lovely, spotlessly clean and we overlooked pool. We were lucky as I don't think I would have been as pleased to get a room in the older part, apparently these were again spotless but not to the standard of ours. All will change next year all rooms will be of superior quality.

Both pools were very nice and we never had problem getting a sunbed.

It was about a 5 min walk to beach through the older part of hotel, we used to go down for a dip in sea most evenings about 5, the beach is shingle and you need shoes to get in sea, but well worth it is was beautiful and warm. Nice supermarket by the beach were you can get most things. There is also shop at hotel, but bit sparse, maybe because season coming to an end.

The food at hotel was very good and quite varied, although there could be a bit more variation in the dessert section, love jelly, but every night is a bit much. Did get a bit boring after a couple of weeks, but again I believe they are going to have some themed nights next year which will be good.

Drinks are plentiful and BIG glasses.

A couple of little niggles:-
Not much to do in evening with the hotel being remote, like most people we ended up playing cards, there was lots of card schools going, but we had fun, very competitive and lots and lots of giggles.
7eu charge for aircon, it would have cost over £100 for 2 weeks, luckily we had ceiling fan and got used to the heat after a few days. We did have very hot weather 35+ and at a more reasonable cost we would have jumped at aircon.

The biggest plus point of this hotel is the team of staff. From walking though the door on the first night we felt like they had put there arms around us and said " let us look after you".

I would like to mention a few by name

Ester - reception, one of the nicest ladies you could wish to meet, warm, helpful, she becomes your new best friend, whilst remaining professional at all times.

Ali - wonderful character, always has a smile for you along with chat no matter how busy, makes lovely omelettes and tasty pasta too.

Anastasia - after reading previous reviews, I was intrigued has to what was so special about this young lady. Well she is a credit to The Olive Garden, you can set your clock by her, from her arrival at 10 to her going to getting snacks at 11 and cakes at 3. She is always smiling, keeps the bar area and around the pool clean and tidy, never have to wait more than a couple of minutes for your drink and always chats to you. Would make a great Guests Relations Manager, who could liaise with guests and be good point of contact if you needed help in anything, or maybe had a small issue which could then be sorted before it became a major one. Other hotels we have visited have one, its nice, just to be around pool having a chat, makes a guest feel wanted.

Because I have mentioned the above people does not mean I have forgotten the others, but would be writing forever :-), they are all great.



Would like to say a big thank you to The Olive Garden (and Ester for organising ) for my wonderful surprise on my birthday of my cake, loved it. Also, Anastasia thank you for your lovely gift, was really touched by this.

Meet some lovely people who we will stay in touch with ( thanks for my birthday presents, helped to make my day special )

Would we go back ??? Well what do you think YES!! Already checking flights.

Thank You Mr Nick Georgas and your wonderful team for helping us have a holiday to remember.



Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel: Has two main buildings - the first one (the original Olive Garden hotel) is after reconstruction with very nice reception area and rooms (as well refurbished) and restaurant. The 2nd building is 5min walk thru garden and its some old hotel (even keys had different name on it) and there are very average rooms and definitely need some new equipment and refurbishing (bathroom wasn’t even average :(). Both buildings have a pool and a pool bar opening at 10am and closing at 6pm (first building) and 11pm (second building). Deep between 1.1m and 2.6m, not small, not big...If you considered 3* hotel I would rate 8 points from 10.

Food: Variety of meals is very nice, breakfast as usual - eggs, ham, cheese, vegetable, toasts, sausages, omelets, occasionally bacon. Omelets and waffles from fresh ingredients every day upon your request (prepared by cook). Lunch and dinner - always at least two kinds of meet. Pork and chicken was very tasty. We had beef two times (11 day stay) and fish every second day. A lot of fresh and cooked vegetable and side dishes. Fresh pasta was offer every day. Two kinds of melons, sometimes peaches, grapes. Not much and not very good sweets or cookies. Variety fit to 3* hotel, the taste was much better...Beer, wine, soft drinks average and as much as you are able to drink. They sometimes run out of some drinks and I can just hardly image catering all guest in the middle of high season at peaks hours - hotel was 1/2 empty and even that, restaurant was always almost full. (9/10)

Rooms and facilities - room cleaned every day and very nice in the first building, a little bit old in the second one. Pools were clean as well, both with fresh water, bud sometimes colder than see :-). Bars and restaurant are without any problems. Only one open bar till late (11pm). Toilets were a little bit dodgy - sometimes very smelly and worthy of repairs! There is quite OK gym, average music club (opened once during the time of our stay) but without any guests in (a little bit scary as it’s in old garage :-D) and not include in all-inclusive program. Garden was ok, clean, a little bit of more grass around would be nice, a lots of flowers, banana trees and palms. Tennis court OK. There is a small shop with all basic gifts and other things in the second building. TV and A/C in very room, different channels around 25 (Czech, Polish, German, English…). (7/10)

Staff: friendly, nice, no animators (thanks god :-D) Speak English, German and some words in another languages. (10/10)

Beach: 5 mins walk via road from the second building (you can get out by gate next to music club and when follow road you will get to beach, no traffic on it) 8€ per set. Pebbles are in a few first meters from beach to water and then only sand and just few rocks. Beach is mix of pebbles and sand. Nice shop with everything you need on beach just next to parking place...(7/10)

In general: Our stay was very nice (11 day, 560€ per person, end of August, early September), quiet and relaxing. During the day it was like book club or in library around pools and in the evening bridge club :) Everyone was reading books or playing cards. We wanted to have calm, peaceful and sunny holiday and we got it. Food was very good, staff nice. If we had stay in refurbished rooms, I would rate excellent 3* hotel.

Unfortunately nothing big is around, Lardos - small village - 20min walk, Go-karts (not sure if operates) and mini golf (average and 5€ per person) are very close. Bus stop is next to the hotel with direct connection to Lindos and Rhodos. You can hire a car directly in hotel or for example http://www.georgecars.com/ Prices are very similar. Out travel agency offered an organized tours with bus and travel guide (Rhodos City ½ day 25€, Beaches of east cost 45€, Island round trip 45€) but if you are able to speak at least little bit of english or german, go for car rent. We spent 130€ for car (Chevrolet Cruz) and 60€ for gas and saw everything what was in all tours and much more…Hotel is on good way to be very nice and better then just 3*, good job managers and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel and you can certainly tell the difference now it has been refurbished. Staff are lovely even got recognised from our stay the previous year. Food is fine and varied and my kids want to go back just to see the pasta man! The hotel is a little isolated but I guess it depends in what you want. Lardos is a 20 min walk. This year we hired a car for the week and it made a huge difference to the holiday. We booked before we left and got a golf for £200 for the week and picked it up from the airport, considering the cost if transfers this is a cost effectice option. Overall cannot go wrong with this place ee will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family had an excellent and relaxing vacation at Olive Garden, chilling out near its two large swimming pools in spacious resort grounds. They even have a spa and a convenience store/gift shop on-site. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, . The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The maids came in every day the towels were changed every other day. The pools were lovely and again spotlessly clean. There was a good choice of food and drink, and plenty of it. The beach is a very short walk from the hotel, and there is regular bus service into Lindos. Would recommend this hotel highly if you're looking for rest and relaxation under the Sun!

Note: Hotel is now under new ownership and has been extensively remodeled and upgraded this past year, so older reviews may not be representative of current situation.

Room Tip: For real peace and quiet, get a room near the back section of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Garden Hotel

Address: Lardos, Lardos 85109, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olive Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Garden is a 3 star hotel that attracts travellers seeking a distinctive location near the beach. The property with it's endless gardens and remote setting provides a sense of peace & relaxation. The modern approach to design & quality compliments expectations. One can enjoy the high standards of Olive Garden hospitality, in harmony with preserved natural beauty of the environment & the strategic locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Olive Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Olive Garden
Olive Garden Pefkos
Olive Garden Rhodes
Olive Garden Hotel Rhodes/Lardos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.