We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel...definately worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmos Maris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lardos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cosmos Maris
Lardos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Lardos
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel...definately worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Cosmos Maris hotel. I cannot praise the hotel highly enough. I can honestly say that I have never felt so welcome and comfortable at any other hotel that I have ever stayed at. The staff are fantastic, the rooms are basic but impeccably clean, the pool is lovely and sunbeds are plentiful, and the pool bar offers good value for money.
The hotel is in a quiet location but has 2 supermarkets and 4 restaurants in close proximity (pizza place by the bus stop is good...staff can be a bit abrupt but food is nice) and is within walking distance of Pefkos (40mins) and Lardos (20mins). Pefkos is more lively than Lardos and has a beautiful beach. Lardos has a lovely 'vice'; we would definately recommend Roules (esp. for veggies!) and Yamas bar for a lovely night out!
Lindos and Rhodes are worth a visit...the beach at Lindos is fabulous but make sure you wear decent shoes as its a bit hilly! There is a glass bottomed boat that runs from Pefkos beach to Lindos (leave Pefkos at 10am and leave Lindos at 4pm) that is definately worth finding...gives a unique view of the island and lets you swim in the beautiful Med on the way back :D (E14 one way, E18 round trip).
Definately use Georges Cars for car rental...E65 cheaper than the company recommended by rep. We really enjoyed driving around the island for 3 days.
I know that every review says the same thing and that it can be difficult to believe. Trust me...this is a wonderful hotel with fantastic staff and you will have a fabulous holiday if you visit Cosmos Maris.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
138
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Spacious and spotlessly clean apartments with quality towels and bedlinen changed on a regular basis.George and his staff go out of their way to make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble. A very friendly atmosphere exists. Although not advertised as a restaurant the food and wine is some of the best I have experienced in Greece. I would highly recommend this hotel and the staff service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We could not resist the opportunity to tell everyone about our first visit to this 2Star hotel. Having read all previous reports we were quite confident that we would enjoy ourselves but were blown away by just how good the hotel is. The owner George, his family and staff all work so hard to help guests have an enjoyable holiday. The rooms are basic, as you would expect from a 2Star hotel, but spotlessly clean and continually cleaned throughout the holiday, every room has a balcony or terrace, most of which have a full or partial view the pool area. The air conditioning was 45 Euros per week but well worth it and a safe in the room was available at about 10 Euros per week.

The bar area, which doubles as a reception, is manned by George and his friendly staff which gives a good focal point for both the daytime & evenings. The food and drink is competatively priced compared to other bars & restuarants in the area and well worth considering. If you do go off site to eat or drink then a drink in the hotel bar is a good and popular way to start and end the evening. There are three internet stations and two Sky Sports TVs in the bar area for those inclined.

The excellent pool area seems to have sufficient sun beds for all the guests, we went to the pool area often after 11.00am and always found free sunbeds, and this was August!

The nearest beach was approximately 400m, across a main road from the hotel with sun beds for hire, although a nice sand/shingle beach there were pebbles as you enter the sea so sea footwear might be advisable.

If you eat and drink away from the hotel we thoroughly recommend Casa di Flavia 400m from hotel and in Lardos, which is a 20/25min walk or 5 Euro taxi, where we recommend Roulas Taverna or Valentina's Restaurant and the Yamas or Welcome bars for drinks.

Travelling around the island Lindos (2Euros each way by bus) and Rhodes Old Town (5Euros each way by bus) are a must. The best beach that we visited was Gylstra Bay (2Euros by bus each way or 8 Euros by taxi), but a trip to the spectacular southern point of the island is well worth it to see where the Aegean meets the Med across a large sandbank (4Euros each way by bus).

This a hotel we will definatelly re-vist for the relaxing friendly atmosphere in a clean and well run hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is our 5th time to cosmos maris, and me and my husband are returning in sept for our wedding anniversary. We have had another great holiday, this year there was me , my husband, my son and his girlfriend, and it was yet again a great 2 weeks. George and his staff make you feel so welcome it feels like home, Georginia and Dimi are also very helpful and treat you like one of there own (George's mother & sister). We love going to the village to Yasmas bar which is owned by George's aunty Maria & Lucas. There are 2 lovely restaurants in the village, Roulas & Valantinos, food is fantastic. A visit to Pefkos is worth it aswell , only 5-6 mins away in a taxi, so is Lindos, 10 - 15 mins away in taxi. We keep saying we are going to try somewhere different, but when we come to book, we say no...............we will go back to Cosmos Maris, we are booking to go back next year. YAMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I have just returned from the Cosmos Maris where me and many others stayed for 2 weeks and I can honestly say it was my best holiday so far! After reading all the good reviews about this hotel I was already looking forward to staying but the service we got was just brilliant (we're already booking our next visit!) There were 15 of us staying in total as we were there for a wedding, the bride and groom were staying in the Lindian Village which is a 5 star hotel and a few others stayed at the Lindos Princess which is also a 5 star but yet they spent most days & night with us at the Cosmos Maris as they've never felt more welcome by George and his family - George even bought them a wedding gift!! The rooms and the hotel grounds are absolutely spotless as the cleaners are cleaning contstantly, there is a vast array of foods to choose from on the menu and at cheap and cheerful prices!

There are a few bars and places to eat 30 seconds walk away and 2 shops. We spent many nights in Lardos - Yamas bar, which is run by another George who is just as lovely! (free shots of sambuca all the way!) and there are 2 amazing places to eat, Rulas and Valentinas. Lardos is about 5 minutes away in a taxi which costs about 5 euros or about a 20 minute walk (it was far too hot for us to walk!)

Pefkos is also about 5 minutes away in the opposite direction which is a bit more lively that Lardos with loads of places to eat and drink

George and his family are the lovliest people and do everything they can to make you feel as welcome as possible, they really did make our holiday amazing....I cannot wait to go back next year!!!! I'm yet to hear a bad review about the Cosmos Maris as its the best hotel in Lardos!!!

YAMAS!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

These apartments are lovely, extremely clean, spacious and quiet.
We found George and his family to be friendly and pleasant, without being overbearing.
Food at the pool bar was tasty and reasonable, and the service was excellent.
Lardos village is around a twenty minute walk, and we had a couple of great meals in Valentinas and lovely cocktails in Yammas bar.
As previously stated on this forum some of the "regulars" to these apartments were a bit "tiresome".......they should remember that ALL the guests are there to enjoy their holiday, some of them seemed to think that George and family were there for them only!
Couldnt fault these apartments otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

just spent a week at the cosmos maris with my daughter. what a beutiful hotel. george is a lovely man. everyone very friendly.felt like home didnt want to leave, had a beautiful terrace .very very clean rooms.nothing too much trouble.very helpful. didnt have a car but found it easy to get into rhodes town, lardos village pefkos and lindos day and night. buses excellent. taxis easy to get. good rates. food at pool bar lovely and very reasonable. televisions in bar a lovely place to sit by the pool. relaxing peaceful nice guests not rowdy and loud. best looking hotel we could see around beautiful shape. would definately recommend without hesitation. thankyou george for a lovely holiday we miss you already. anne and josie plymouth &cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cosmos Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Maris

Address: Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
Also Known As:
Cosmos Maris Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Hotel Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Rhodes/Lardos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmos Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cosmos Maris to your Saves list