We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience at the Cosnos Maris Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmos Maris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lardos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cosmos Maris
Lardos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Lardos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at the Cosnos Maris Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My Boyfriend and I have just returned from an 11 night stay Self Catered at the Cosmos Maris Hotel. We stayed from the 30th July to the 10th August 2013 due to the outstanding reviews. We arrived at the hotel at about 1:30am and were surprisingly met by George outside the hotel. He carried our bags to the room and let us settle in. He then stayed up until 2:30am to sort out the air con and provide us with the keys to the safe located in the room. The family are so kind and helpful and were willing to stay awake from 8am until the early hours of the morning just to make sure we were okay and comfortable.
The room was much better than i expected and was immaculately clean. We had room 50 which is one of the rooms that has a room overlooking the pool and the sea. It was very spacious and had spectacular views of the mountains and the sea. The cleaners came in at different times each day but always did an amazing job. If we wanted a lay in, we would just have to let George know and he told the cleaners to come round later in the day. They would always knock first as well before entering the room which is a nice thing. The pool was very clean and child friendly. BUT you need to get up early and save a sunbed if you want to lay and relax by the pool all day. I had to get up at 7:30am just to go down and put my towel on a sunbed to save it then go back to bed for a bit. But this wasn't an issue for us.
The service at Cosmos Maris was impeccable and we couldn't have asked for more. It was very reasonably priced as well. You could have a full English breakfast for €5. If you wanted to have a lighter option such as scrambled egg on toast it would cost €3. Dinner at Cosmos Maris was reasonable too. A 3 course meal and a drink would be around €15. I usually had just a starter, a main and a drink and this came to €10-€12.
As for the location of the hotel, it wasn't not as bad as i thought it was going to be. Lardos is a short walk away and is very easy to find. We spent most of our evenings there because it is very chilled and is a great place to relax.
Pefkos is also only a short walk away but we chose to get a cab there which was €8. Lindos is a 10 minute cab ride from the hotel but is a place you have to visit while staying here.
Overall, this hotel was better than I expected and the pictures on Trip Adviser did not do it justice. George and Family were very friendly and helpful and I would gladly come back to see the family and stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
139
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a relaxing 2 weeks. George and his team did everything to make our holiday enjoyable. Everywhere was clean. All staff are friendly. Would definately return and not hesitate to recommend a holiday here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A wonderful stay. I chose this hotel based on the positive reviews and was not disappointed. Travelled with Husband and 5 year old daughter, therefore a safe and clean environment was a priority. From arriving we were greeted by George and shown to our room. Although maybe a little basic, it had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. We headed straight for the swimming pool and were not disappointed with the rest of the hotel. . Bedding and towels changed daily and rooms cleaned and bins emptied. The staff are friendly and all worked so so hard!!! Food at the pool bar was lovely, Relatively small hotel so we were fortunate to meet and speak with other guests and met some lovely people. Greek night was great fun. Pleased that we hired a car, gave us the freedom to explore when and where we fancied, without having to worry about buses. My only suggestion is not to think you can get by without the aircon. First night was airless and hot! Determination not to spend 100 euros on the aircon quickly wained - but for the sake of a sleep and a good holiday it was a necessity. Worth budgeting for before you leave!!!! On the return trip - landed at Gatwick and my daughter was already asking to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

just returned from 2 weeks at cosmos maris.we had read so many positive reviews and were certainly not disappointed.run by a wonderful dedicated team,george and family are so friendly and helpful and the cleaning ladies definitely deserve a mention.rooms are cleaned every day at a reasonable time and not daft o,clock!bedding and towels changed daily.the pool area and bar is always welcoming,great food and good prices.we had no trouble with sunbeds and even though we only came down sometimes after 10am we always managed to get one.few restaurants and bars in immediate vicinity and also supermarkets.beach just up the road with plenty of sunbeds and parasol.beach shoes ideal as sea is quite rocky.local bus service to nearby resorts-pefkos and lindos well worth a visit.we have never been to the same holiday destination twice but this gem of a place is already calling us back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks staying at Cosmos Maris. The hotel was spotless and the service was second to none. Understandable why people return here again and again! My husband and I holidayed with our 9 year daughter and all agreed it was our best holiday yet! George and the team go the extra mile - even the cleaners greeted us by name! The greek night at the hotel was brill. The hotel is based in a quiet setting with a few bars and restaurants close by. Lardos village is about 20 mins walk away and hosts some amazing eating places and is very picturesque in the evening. Pefkos is a 10 min bus ride down the road for those who like it a bit more commecial. Everywhere on the island is reachable by bus from this perfect base!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a Thomson holidays hotel and although only 2 star it is very well run by its owner. The rooms are spotless and fully cleaned each day. They have kettle, fridge and hairdryer and a balcony facing south. Mini safe is 10Euro pw extra, as is a/con at 50 Euro p w. Service, pool bar and food available were top class. pool is small for the 60+ rooms and there are insufficient sunbeds (and places to put them) for all the guests. As a result the sunbeds are very close together.

The location is 75 yards from Lotharios Beach (stony) and it is located just behind the small 'strip' (a selection of bars, restaurants, hotels and supermarkets) of Lardos Beach. The hotel opens onto countryside at the rear and is surrounded by well maintained vegetation. Lardos town is 2.5km down the main road inland which is lovely with bars, tavernas and a good range of restaurants. It costs 5Euro each way in a taxi.

Beware of the awful 3 hour Thomson transfer from the airport. Lardos Beach is the last Thomson resort drop off from the airport and day excursions, and the first pick up return. 1 hour Taxi ride is 50Euro from the airport and worth it especially if you arrive/depart at night or have kids!

Room Tip: There are three floors so the higher the floor the better the balcony view. All face south onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Once again George and his amazing staff turned up trumps with our 2nd trip back to the Cosmos Maris. The hotel and pool area are spotlessly clean and the room was excellent. The food and drink are vey good and it made it a fantastic holiday. All the guests are friendly and I was amazed at how many are returners there were together with most others saying they will return again. We will be certainly looking at coming back in the next year or so. Thanks once again George for a fantastic holiday

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cosmos Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Maris

Address: Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
Also Known As:
Cosmos Maris Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Hotel Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Rhodes/Lardos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmos Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cosmos Maris to your Saves list