We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality 2 star, superb service and rooms, but pool area cramped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmos Maris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lardos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cosmos Maris
Save
You added Cosmos Maris to your Saves list
Lardos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“High quality 2 star, superb service and rooms, but pool area cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a Thomson holidays hotel and although only 2 star it is very well run by its owner. The rooms are spotless and fully cleaned each day. They have kettle, fridge and hairdryer and a balcony facing south. Mini safe is 10Euro pw extra, as is a/con at 50 Euro p w. Service, pool bar and food available were top class. pool is small for the 60+ rooms and there are insufficient sunbeds (and places to put them) for all the guests. As a result the sunbeds are very close together.

The location is 75 yards from Lotharios Beach (stony) and it is located just behind the small 'strip' (a selection of bars, restaurants, hotels and supermarkets) of Lardos Beach. The hotel opens onto countryside at the rear and is surrounded by well maintained vegetation. Lardos town is 2.5km down the main road inland which is lovely with bars, tavernas and a good range of restaurants. It costs 5Euro each way in a taxi.

Beware of the awful 3 hour Thomson transfer from the airport. Lardos Beach is the last Thomson resort drop off from the airport and day excursions, and the first pick up return. 1 hour Taxi ride is 50Euro from the airport and worth it especially if you arrive/depart at night or have kids!

Room Tip: There are three floors so the higher the floor the better the balcony view. All face south onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    34
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
171
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Once again George and his amazing staff turned up trumps with our 2nd trip back to the Cosmos Maris. The hotel and pool area are spotlessly clean and the room was excellent. The food and drink are vey good and it made it a fantastic holiday. All the guests are friendly and I was amazed at how many are returners there were together with most others saying they will return again. We will be certainly looking at coming back in the next year or so. Thanks once again George for a fantastic holiday

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thanks George and family for a wonderful 2 weeks- second time around we loved it as much as the first and it's easy to see why people return. Excellent rooms, food, service, value for money, cleanliness and a lovely pool ! Even got bacon sandwiches !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our first stay in Rhodes, and chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews it had received on Tripadviser. Have to say, it more than lived up to it's great reputation.

Arrived at 11.00p.m. to be greeted by George who carried my luggage up to our room, which was located on the top floor of the new block. Very spacious apartment with a full size bath and lovely balcony. We quickly unpacked and headed down to the pool bar for a much needed glass of Mythos !

Our two week stay was brilliant, and without doubt, these are the best apartments we have ever stayed in on any of the Greek Islands. Great room, lovely pool area with plenty of loungers, tasty food served all day until 10.00p.m., friendly and courteous fellow guests, but best of all the wonderful service that Gearge and team provided round the clock. A real gem, well done.

Room Tip: Room 72 on top floor of new block, sea-facing and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well first time for me to Cosmos Maris but what great, friendly two weeks. Good accommodation with plenty of room in the room for three or us.

Rooms were cleaned every day, bedding and towels changed and made very day and we even had toilet paper provided.

The food was excellent, every meal without fail and real value for money. The other guests at the hotel were all friendly and we had a great two weeks that I would recommend to any future visitor. Pure greek hospitality from a family run business where the customer comes first and its not all about profit margins, well done to the Cosmos Maris.

PS. Don't forget if you go to Cosmos Maris the Greek night, Quiz night and music nights are really great evenings for both children and adults

Room Tip: All rooms are as good as each other, no need to worry about getting a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Without repeating below this is truly an amazing place. Service is just outstanding, pool area great, rooms adequate, food and drinks excellent. Greek night was great value and lots of fun!
Everyone was so friendly and welcoming.
Only point i would make which is no reflection on cosmos maris is why do people insist on getting up to get the sun beds when there are enough to go around?
Again thanks George and family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two week stay at the Cosmos Maris (July 2013) and we had a really lovely holiday. This was our first visit to Rhodes however almost everyone else at the hotel had stayed there at least 7 times, if not more! George, Dimi, Stevie and all the staff at the hotel are fantastic, they cannot do enough for you regardless of whether you are new as a guest or have been several times before. We were made to feel very welcome and were amazed that George remembers everyones names despite the turnover of guests that they must have throughout the season.

Our hotel room was a good size for the two of us and was kept very clean by the hard-working cleaning staff - bedding and towels changed daily. For informational purposes the bathroom is small but has everything you need so no complaints there and as stated in previous reviews the self catering kitchen area in the room is also small - you have a fridge (which has separate electricity to your room so stays on all the time without the key in the fob), a two ring hob and a sink - plates, cutlery, pans, kettle, toaster, glasses etc are all provided and as we hadn't intended to do any cooking the facilities were perfect for our needs. We opted for the air conditioning which we knew was payable at the hotel and so had budgeted for it - with the weather at 45 degrees during the day we could not have slept without it so worth budgeting the extra 50 euros a week for it. A safe is also available in the room and I think we paid 20 euros for that for two weeks, again this is something we always take advantage of on holidays wherever we stay.

The pool area is also very clean, the pool is a good size with a shallow end leading to a depth of around 1.9m plus a smaller childrens pool. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool with parasols over each and this is the first holiday we have been on where there is no need to get up early and 'reserve' your space! We got up around 9am, had breakfast and a coffee on our balcony (nice view of pool and the sea just beyond the buildings in front of the hotel), then wandered down to the pool around 9.30/10.00 and there were always plenty of loungers free and all got the sun all day - it is so warm you could sunbathe until 8pm if you wanted to. In fact on some days you could still get sun loungers at lunchtime, this meant that we really felt we could relax so that was fantastic.

The food in the hotel is lovely, big selection for reasonable prices - be warned that the portions are very generous, not just in the hotel but in the local restaurants also - most of the main courses could be shared. Drinks are also pretty reasonable and again very generous measures, we had to ask for smaller measures of spirits on occasion!

The Greek night at the hotel is great fun, 10 euros each for a bbq meal which was again huge and delicious, greek dancing was great fun and it really was a brilliant night.

Lardos village is 1.5km from the hotel and easily walkable in around 20minutes and only 5 euros for a taxi back if you don't fancy the walk, there is a cash point just outside the village by the petrol station or there is one in the village itself. We visited Valentinos restaurant and Roulas restaurant (greek meze is a great main but share it! Also fantastic ribs, served on a platter it's so big) and always went for cocktails at YAMAS bar to see crazy George!.

Pefkos is around 5km and we are told you could walk there but we were too lazy for that! Lindos is 14 euros in a taxi (12 euros back) or 1.60 euros each way on the bus which you can catch just up the road from the hotel. We took a trip to Lindos on the bus, spent the day there and then paid 7.50 euros each to come back by boat - a very pleasant 1 hour trip which drops you at the beach right opposite the hotel.

We met some fantastic people on this holiday and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we have had which is all down to a combination of wonderful staff, lovely hotel, great people and fabulous weather. Thanks George!!

Room Tip: We had room 26 which is on the top floor in the building separate to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmos Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Maris

Address: Lardos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
#1 Family Hotel in Lardos
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Cosmos Maris Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Hotel Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Rhodes/Lardos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmos Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.