We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but a work in progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilyssion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ilyssion to your Saves list
Hotel Ilyssion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefki Rhodes, Lardos 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location but a work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week from 22nd August 2012. Good things about the Hotel are the staff, very friendly and helpful, the location is great and has amazing views so try and get a sea view room if you can.

Food left a lot to be desired in particular breakfast which lacked variety especially the juices.
Evening meals could be improved. The hotels hands were tied due to variety of different nationalities so I can allow for this for example there was a lack of entertainment in the evenings at the hotel due to past grievances from some eastern european clientele stating that there was a biase towards UK holidaymakers.

However we would consider coming here again but on a self catering basis, the stunning views and friendly staff.

Chester Residents

Room Tip: Higher floors with a sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    56
    37
    31
    39
See reviews for
54
117
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a disapointment, we never saw any staff although we never needed them as we were self catering and chose to clear off in our hire car most of the time, hotel was basic and not very busy but it was end of season. We enjoyed our holiday on Rhodes but wouldn't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Ilyssion from 4-11th Aug, yes I agree with other members that some comments on the food is valid, breakfast is simple and not to our taste, evening meals we thought were much better given the hotels 3star rating. There were fresh vegetables every night grown by Kristos the hotel owner. Most of the guests are eastern european and the British are a minority but don't be put off as our experience was a positive one. The bedrooms are adequate in size and there was plenty of storage space and the air con was pretty good, yes some of the furniture looked a little dated but this was ,more down to the style than perhaps the age. The hotel is a good 20 mins walk into Pefkos and given the heat at this time of year it could be a struggle for some people so a taxi would be advisable and you do have to walk on the road as there are no paths. There is a beach nearby but not directly in front of the hotel and sunbeds and parasol are 4 euros each on that beach but the sunbeds at the hotel are 3 euros each with no charge for the parasols. The swimming pool is good but be careful as it does slope very steeply to nearly 3mtrs and there is another smaller pool nearby. The price of a beer is 3.30 euros in comparison to 2.50-3 euros in town which for a hotel is a pretty fair price. The best part of this hotel is the lovely family and friendly staff which made our stay more than just a holiday, from when we booked in at 01.00in the morning with Kriss to when we checked out with Kristina (hope I spelt their names right). I would certainly recommend this hotel and not have a second thought about returning, as maybe we will one day.

Room Tip: We had room 233 which is on the same floor as the lobby and had a good sea view with a balcony and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked this holiday just 3 weeks before leaving and then read the mixed reviews on trip advisor? We were two adults with our daughters aged 16 and14. Flight with Thomas Cook was great? Transfer was tedious and took two hours due to going north to Rhodes Town befor heading south? Should have been planned better especially as it was 3 in the morning. Rep got off coach before our hotel leaving us with non English speaking coach driver. Reception guy was great as they were all week. Location is beautiful but a little isolated. We ate one evening meal and that was enough! Dried up pasta or rice and chicken or beef (guessing that's what it was) not sure served up school canteen style and smelt of boiled vegetables. Breakfast dry bread (if they don't run out) jam yoghurt tinned fruit one type of ham or cheese. Definitely geared toward East European market. Mini market reasonable. Rooms really dated with shower curtains and cracked tiles. Would definitely visit the area again but not this hotel. Walked every night to Corallis bar for fab food or taxi into Pefkos. With a little effort this could be a great hotel but it definitely needs some tlc. Will never book Olympic holidays again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Been in Ilyssion for 6 nights. Room was clean, furniture is old and simple. Beach is fantastic for snorkeling, water cristal clean. But food and drinks... Food is really cheap, wine is mixed with water. Not good at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Been there for 3 nights!! Everything was perfect! By the time we arrived we had the most wonderful service! The room was beautiful. Very friendly atmosphere with Ms Katerina in the reception being very helpful! Went right away to the snack bar located next to the main pool where Chris and the other guys were very warm!
Food was perfect and spotless in every area... from the snack until the main restaurant with the buffet menu!
Mr Kostas and Kyra also is a part of that team who are trying to provide top service facilities!
Anyway... to sum up... As I said there is nothing wrong I could say about this hotel!
Definitely recommended and waiting to visit it again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Having read previous reviews we were concerned our holiday would be dissappointing, but we had nothing to worry about. This family run hotel was situated right on the sea front with fantastic views from all angles, the three pools were crystal clear and warm, outside areas were spotless with lawns and a small childrens play area.
Family and staff were very obliging, we had a toddler with us, occasionally asleep at meal times, this wasn't a problem as the staff plated up meals for when she woke,
Buffet consisted of three hot dishes with veg, pasta etc. complete with a salad, dessert and fresh fruit - not a la carte !
Our room was a good size with clean towels and sheets daily, the shower was the best power shower I have ever experienced. We eventually mastered the air conditioning (extra) for a comfortable nights sleep.
Overall the hotel was near perfect, friendly, quiet, clean and comfortable, access to the sea was not easy due to the rocky, shingle coastline, no sandy beach available.
I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ilyssion and would recommend it to all easy going holiday makers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ilyssion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilyssion

Address: Pefki Rhodes, Lardos 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilyssion 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Ilyssion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilyssion Hotel Lindos
Hotel Ilyssion Rhodes/Lardos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilyssion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.