We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the poor reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lardos Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lardos Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lardos Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lardos Beach, Lardos 85109, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Lardos
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't believe all the poor reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days in July 2012. The hotel is run by a couple (Angelo & Samantha) who are
originally Greek but have spent a fair bit of their life in Canada so both speak excellent English and were willing to let me join them for a drink most evenings. I had a slight problem about getting the all inclusive alcoholic drinks in the restaurant on my first night but this was very quickly sorted. The hotel does cater mainly for Italians but also Russians. Angelo is quite open about this and told me that some of the poor reviews from the Brits are due to a foul up with a British Travel Agent during 2011. I made my booking through Expedia (who made the mistake about what's included in the price) and was the only Brit staying there. The room I stayed in was adequate for the price I paid & cleaned daily. The restaurant provides a good selection of food and the freshly cooked pasta is a real bonus and very tasty. The staff at the hotel are a mixture of various nationalities, some Italian, some Eastern Europeans but I cannot fault how friendly & helpful everyone was and if they couldn't understand my English accent, they found someone who could. The animation staff were really good and whilst it might not appeal to everyone's taste it is well geared up for family entertainment. The bar prices are competitive e.g 3 euro for a beer, 2.50 each for brandy & ouzo. Coffee is between 1 & 3 euro but the soft drinks are all free.There is a disco bar that stays open until 00.30.
Lardos village is well worth a visit 1.60 by bus but walking there in 38 degrees is tough. I can recommend Yammas bar in the village for their friendliness and good hospitality.
I would like to thank all the management and staff at Lardos Bay Hotel for making my stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try booking directly with the hotel and ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    103
    52
    27
    21
See reviews for
59
115
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and i plus 2 16 year old girls stayed here July 2011 for 7 nights, Our room wasnt too bad, however my daughters and her friend had a room next door but one to us. What a mess no toilet seat, a number of cockroaches i had to kill before they would go in the room, not a good start to a 7 day holiday.

Talking of not a good start, whilst checking in we were told that our all inc stay only happened at meal times??? never heard of this before, anyway didnt complain too much,wish i had though, like my title states! Cost us a fortune.

Meal times were upstairs in the restaurant nice and clean but very basic food, the majority of people who were staying were Italian and they seemed to be happy with all the meals.Maybe we were just being fussy, Enjoying a drink with our meal is one thing but having to stay in the restaurant for the duration of the meal time to have a drink is another.Therefore we started to eat and drink elsewhere.

The town of Lardos is a good steep walk from the hotel,we found a great bar called yammas greek for cheers, very friendly people who all spoke good english, what a nice sound as we didnt hear anything but Italian the whole week, not that we have a problem with Italians, the so called entertainment team didnt help as we didnt understand anything.

The beach is very close 2 min walk, nice and clean with water sports going on the girls loved that, about the only thing they did. little shop which was a lot cheaper than the hotel.

The next nearest town if memory serves me right was Pefkos, much livelier place went here a few times plenty of bars/restaurants.

All in all would we go back? NO

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I recently stayed at Lardos Bay, the hotel itself was nice but all the reps were all Italian, no one could be bothered to speak to us because we were English, i found them very rude. All the entertainment was in Italian so did not understand a word of it, was only about 6 English people in the whole hotel. it is not near anything, nearest village is Lardos which is about a 15 min walk, if you want to get a bus, only 1.60 Euro, but last bus back from Lardos Village is about 21:35. if you are to walk back, make sure thereis a group of you as the road you have to walk down is very dark, no lights at all untill you come on the main road. The food was horrible in my opinion, the only thing i ate was pasta, basically the same every night. This place has a very low standard of "All Inclusive" No Alcohlic Drinks, only soft drinks from Dispensers which was disgusting, the coke takes like Cola Ice polls with a tad of fizz, not nice at all :-(
The beach was literally 2 mins down the road from the back enterance of the hotel which was good, pebble beach so a bit painful when going in and out the sea. This hotel is only in Italian brochures apparantly hence all Italian Reps and Italian guests. Avoid at all costs!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Lardos Bay has excellent really friendly staff that make you feel really welcome. If you are on a diet you are in trouble as the restaurant provides a varied choice of tasty food, which should suit most people. The pasta bar also gives 2 different choices at each sitting.
The majority of holiday makers are Italian, as are the reception and bar staff, and in the 2 weeks of my stay found myself invited to join in pool activities by other guests.
Some previous reviews have said the rooms were tired, but the hotel is going through a gradual refurbishment and the newly decorated rooms are a very good standard for a 3*
Location wise you are minutes from a gently sloping mostly sandy beach, but are at one end of the bay. There are bus stops in both directions outside the hotel if you don't wish to hire a car, but one advantage of being that end of the bay is the village is only a 20 minute walk away, or short taxi ride, with a collection of bars and restaurants around a square. There is also traditional Greek dancing in the square once a fortnight during the season which is a great night out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

i had recently returned from this hotel, It was booked for myself and my husband as our honeymoon as a gift, it was rated as 3 star all inclusive. when we arrived at half past five in the morning there was nobody on reception to meet us, we had to wait 15 minutes for someone to arrive, and when he did he was rude. The room was very basic, tv did not work and there was no air conditioning! Within two hours of arriving we had 3 cockroaches in our room, and due to the rather large gap under the door there was no way of keeping them out. After a further 8 we went to reception to enquire about moving room, and although the hotel had plenty of empty rooms they refused to move us, saying that if we weren't happy with our room then we should sleep by the pool. When we did return to our room to sleep, we caught the hotel security man peering through our patio windows! Meals were good though very repetative,The evening entertainment was all italian, so not very entertaining at all! ONLY SOFT DRINKS ARE ALL INCLUSIVE!! No hot drinks or alcoholic drinks are included in the price even though they class this place as all inclusive! And if you want air conditioning it will cost you! after battling through 22 encounters with cockroaches, several complaints with staff we decided to contact our travel agent due to the fact that the reception staff had told us we could not get an outside line from our room, we had to use the one phone that the hotel has at the reception desk, we tried several tiimes to make a connection with the uk, and each time our call was transfered to someone who spoke italian( suspious considering the hotel is ran by italians) so after having no way of contacting the uk we decided to leave after 3 days! This place really is only suitable for backpackers who dont expect much!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Good hotel, clean and staff nice. Pool was basic but clean with lots of sun beds to relax. Food was good but not Greek as Italian run and was slightly repetitive although could not complain for the price. Breakfast was basic, the same every day and not much choice. We were all inclusive however you were only allowed a drink of wine or beer with your meal. The only drinks you could have free at any other time were water or squash. Tea or coffee had to be paid for. The hotel is right next to the beach and there is a bus stop right outside which is good for getting around. It is a 20 minute walk from any shop, bar or restaurant therefore the location wasn't great for my nan who is nearly 80. Overall good hotel, food could have been better but there are many good restaurants in the main town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

booked as all inclusive you can go bnb and get same deal. shower in bathroom is very bad with shower curtain at shoulder height so room floods every shower.meals ok if you like pork , pasta, or cheese and tomato pizza.entertainment is in itailian we had 8 english people there. extras at hotel 1beer 3 euros 1 barcardi and coke 5 euros air con 7 euros per day . the hotel is in the middle of nowhere with the nearest bars and shops 25 minutes wailk away. if you want to do more than sit by the pool book somewhere else, if you do stay here take plenty of money they even charge for tea and coffee

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lardos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lardos Bay Hotel

Address: Lardos Beach, Lardos 85109, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lardos Bay Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POSITION> 1.5 Km from Lardos village, 60 km from the airport and just 8 km from the picturesque village of Lindos, reachable by bus. The bus stop is in front of the hotel. BEACH> 200 m from the beautiful sand and pebble beach of Lardos, equipped with umbrellas and sunbeds on payment. SERVICES> Wireless, TV area, 2 swimming pools including one for children with umbrellas and sunbeds (for free), kids play area, parking space, beach volley, beach tennis, and ping pong. On payment: internet point, laundry, mini-market, disco bar and pool-snacks bar, wifi area, bike and car rental, poll-table, videogames. Languages ​​spoken at reception: English, Italian, French, Russian, Greek, German. FOOD> restaurant with Greek, Italian and international cuisine, all at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Every wednesday Greek night whit ouzo. ACCOMODATION> 110 simple and comfortable rooms with private facilities, telephone, satellite TV, refrigerator, individually controlled air-conditioning, wifi (on payment), balcony or garden. In some rooms a third and fourth bed can be added. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Lardos Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lardos Bay Hotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lardos Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.